Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
25 Reviews
1234.965
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 25, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was first referred to Operation Freedoms Paws in late 2012 by my doctor as one of our last efforts to get my PTSD and panic disorder under control. I met with Mary Cortani in October and was instantly swept away in her vision for veterans who suffer from their wounds of service and for the civilians with their own challenges. I can say without a doubt that this organization has not only changed my life but the service dog I have because of Mary has actually saved my life. I cannot imagine finding a more warm open caring group of individuals who are truly in this organization to better the lives of those around them and to even give shelter dogs a second chance at a heroic new life, serving their disabled people.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

There are so many great things that have already been said about Mary and her organization Operation Freedom Paws and how much she helps wounded veterans and all of those things are absolutely true. I also want to point out another great reason to support this incredibly worthy cause - helping animals. Most of the dogs Mary pairs with the Vets are rescues. I am incredibly proud to have met Mary and she helped us turn our bully breed rescue puppy into a loyal and much loved companion. Since we attended the same classes as the Vets we were able to witness first hand the incredible progress they are making thanks to Mary's tireless work.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am blessed and honored to call Mary Cortani a close personal friend. I can say it is just as special to see Mary build a dream into a reality in the likeness of OFP. Utilizing her military training and her expertise as a canine trainer, Mary has built a foundation to surpass all expectations of service animals. Watching Mary transform a canine and handler into a team, a unit, a partnership is magical. Not only does she give our veterans a second chance to be part of communities, she allows them to break barriers that may have seemed impossible. PTSD, Food Allergies, Anxiety, and Diabetic Levels are just a few conditions off of a long list that Mary trains her Service Dogs to be aware of to protect thier handlers. Mary has selected a strong support team to help provide the services to Veterans in need. Giving new life and hope is also given to the canines she chooses from shelters and rescues. Though the demand is high and the hours are long, Mary is determined to continue the journey with passion and devotion. It is with great pleasure I am able to share this information of OFP and Mary Cortani!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Mary Cortani and Operation Freedoms Paws offer an invaluable service to both veterans and the general public. Mary has a thorough understanding of dogs and their handlers and shares this knowledge in a supportive and effective manner. As a volunteer with a German Shepherd Rescue group I wholeheartedly recommend OFP to all GSD adopters.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I've been fortunate enough to be involved with OFP from the very first pairing of Veteran and Shelter Dog, what a life altering journey this has been for me. I love volunteering and giving my time to this amazing organization. My father is a Marine and I grew up surrounded by military personnel and i understand first hand what those families go through. It brings great joy to me to see the difference this organization and Mary Cortani can make in the lives of our Veterans and their families. As a dog owner and lover the fact that OFP uses dogs from Shelters and local rescue groups is another great reason to support this organization. If you are in need or our services, want to volunteer or donate to our cause you can find more information on our Website, www.operationfreedompaws.org

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I love Operation Freedoms Paws, while living in California I was fortunate enough to meet Mary Cortani , she is a incredible trainer with a natural sense on matching teams together and strengthening them. For the most part I worked with Mary on Sundays during her hobby as a Search and Rescue Dog trainer for MCSARD :-) But I was always welcome to join her classes in Gilroy. I enjoyed every class, watching the veterans learning to trust in their dogs was just amazing. On days where new veterans came without a dog yet, Mary would give them one of my dogs, Sean to see how the vets would do with him and I could coach them a bit. Sean always loved it, since that just meant more treats for him :-) I will always support Operation Freedoms Paws and their amazing cause!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Operation Freedom Paws is great to work with. I've helped with their social media and video and their people, work, and mission is top-notch. They help improve the lives of animals and veterans. Does it get better than that???!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I am a disabled veteran with PTSD, and hearing loss. I was recommended to get a service dog by my Dr. Soon after I found Operation Freedoms Paws and they changed my life. Mary Cortani as well as the mentor trainers provided amazing instruction. Not only did they teach me to train my own dog, but the classes and relationships I have made have been wonder therapy for me as well. I am blessed to have an amazing service dog. He helps me negotiate the world and provide be with a more normal life.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I spent over a decade essentially housebound, afraid to go out and face the world. I was referred to Operation Freedoms Paws and Mary Cortani through the VA, and it has changed my life. I was paired with Shadow, and am now able to not only do daily activities such as shopping, walking around the block, etc., but I am starting to be able to do much more. Just recently I attended a family baby shower - and it had been over 12 years since I have been able to go to a family event. There are not enough good things to say about this organization. They have truly changed my life for the better.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 13, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

more

September 13, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

Mary Cortani, the founder of Operation Freedoms Paws, helped my son when no one else would. My 14 year old son has cerebral palsy and wanted a service dog to help him with physical tasks, as well as be his companion. While there are many organizations that train service dogs, there are none locally that will certify anyone under 18 years of age or help you train your own dog. Both my son and I are working through the certification process with his dog, Enzo. During the past 8 months, Mary has spent over 64 hours training with us and has never asked for anything in return. She donates her time, for classes held just about every day of the week where veterans, and those with physical disabilities, train their own service dogs. Besides giving her time, she gives her heart to all those around her. She is truly amazing. There are others who volunteer their time too, as a way to give back to Mary and Operation Freedoms Paws. It's hard to understand how special this organization is until you've been to classes with Operation Freedoms Paws - if you can imagine an extremely supportive environment for those leading difficult lives, where training your dog is a joyful and healing experience, that's Operation Freedoms Paws.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers