Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
9 Reviews
1234.666675
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 20, 2013

more

January 20, 2013

Arts and creative groups are necessary in assisting Pittsburgh to maintain its economic strength. It is the collaboration of all of the cultural arts in technology, healthcare, education that inspire and lead Pittsburghers in a more positive lifestyle.
Opera Theater of Pittsburgh/OTSummerFest
has shown itself to step up to such a challenge and give totally its heart and soul to providing opera performances of stellar quality for adults and children in all of Pittsburgh’s diversified neighborhoods and ethnic backgrounds. Whether one is on stage or in the audience, we are all united as beautiful and caring participants of humanity.
I am honored to be a member of the board of directors of Opera Theater of Pittsburgh.
It was Jonathan Eaton, esteemed OT director, with his world class staging of Wagner’s “The Ring of the Nibelungs” with the four operas in three consecutive days that permanently transported me in to the magical world of opera in July 2006. This performance solidified my desire to support the cultural arts and with that to accept being on the board. Subsequently, every year has been a continuation of enlightenment, fulfillment and enjoyment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 16, 2013

more

January 16, 2013

I had a wonderful time at Opera Theater SummerFest last year. Not only did they offer exciting operas, they also had extra entertainment such a storyteller or sword demonstration that fit with the theme of the show. Even if you are not normally an opera fan, you should check them out. The shows in the small theater make you feel like you are actually a part of the show.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Some

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 16, 2013

more

January 16, 2013

It has been a joy to be a board member, donor and volunteer for Opera Theater of Pittsburgh. Jonathan Eaton, artistic director, has been a genius at presenting unique
productions throughout the city, in unusual environments. SummerFest 2012 was a huge success. I'm looking forward to
SummerFest 2013 for more original Night Caps which kept the audience laughing throughout the production. Since most operas are sung in English they can be enjoyed by people of all ages.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 16, 2013

more

January 16, 2013

I am a volunteer, board member and donor. And, I enjoy all the aspects associated with my relationship to Opera Theater. The performances are creative, to the point, and just plain wonderful.
This year I have been "behind the scenes" during the preparations for Summerfest, our response to
all those who have wanted more opera than just those 4 - 5 performances presented by the large opera company in our area.

Our smaller size is a plus, as an organization we can turn on a dime, make $$$ go further, and can relate and respond to the general public. It was wonderful to have sold-out performances. Our patrons appreciate the creativity and uniqueness of our offerings. This coming year is going to be even better!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 13, 2013

more

January 13, 2013

As a performer and teacher, one tries to find a way to give back to the greater community, Opera Theater has been the perfect venue with which to do so.
The vision to showcase the best of our local and emerging talent on stage with nationally and internationally recognized artists has been a
revelation in every production, Gospel at Colonus and The Ring, to name two, but there are many, many more!
For African American classical musicians, Jonathan Eaton and Opera Theater have been groundbreaking in offering professional opportunities for chorus, small roles, supporting roles, lead roles, directing, conducting, choreography, costuming, and teaching. Opera Theater with it's amazing staff, volunteers and board continues to stay relevant by keeping the arts in the community so it can keep the community in the arts!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 9, 2013

more

January 9, 2013

I have been a member of the Board of Opera Theater of Pittsburgh for the last decade. I joined on not only because I admire OTP's repertory which is more varied than the standard fare we are accustomed to see here in Pittsburgh, but also because I have a voice in the operation of the organization. This is not true of the other major musical organizations in the city where a board member as a rule has only the opportunity to vote ÿes."

Moreover the recently instituted Operafest offers Pittsburghers (and mee, of course) an opportunity to enjoy such diversified repertory in the summer when good music is in short supply.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 9, 2013

more

January 9, 2013

Good shows. The cabaret performances were innovative.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 8, 2013

more

January 8, 2013

The SummerFest was spectacular. The adaptations of the Magic Flute, Carmin and Candide were each amazing. Creative use of space, talent and the music was above anything I have seen in a similar setting. The short NightCap productions were so creative and well done. I really don't know how a small company produced a program of such high quality.

I have seen a number of other productions they have done including an amazing Ring, which I enjoyed more than I did the full versions at the Met and LA.

Also the did a production of a View of the Bridge at the Pittsburgh Playhouse, a few years ago, which was pared with the play. Seeing the opera on one night and the play the next night was a terrific experience.

Truely outstanding company.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 8, 2013

more

January 8, 2013

I've seen several productions, and the cast / artistic direction always impresses

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers