Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 17, 2012

more

June 17, 2012

Since my first year at Open Doors in 2002, I have seen how the program has influenced all of its students and how it has expanded to better benefit its clients. As a sixth-grader, I was very shy and introverted, but throughout my middle school years ODA helped me to cultivate my leadership skills and learn how to make my thoughts heard and respected by my peers. I continued to profit from ODA programming during high school as we travelled to Harlan, KY to build homes each summer, and I took advantage of each opportunity to reunite with my middle school friends and the ODA staff. I am now entering my senior year of college, and I am beginning my second summer in a row working for ODA as a summer program assistant. Because of my continuous involvement with this program, I can personally vouch for the good it brings to the Greater Cleveland community. ODA has helped me in several areas of my life, and I honestly believe that I have benefitted academically, professionally, and personally from my engagement with the program. ODA provides such wonderful opportunities to all of its students, and I can only hope that it will continue to expand and reach an even wider portion of the Greater Cleveland community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

Open Doors Academy has been an absolutely wonderful program for my daughter. We transferred from a Private School and had some apprehensions about public school. Open Doors was the bridge that brought us across the "river". The staff's willingness to help students and parents has been phenomenal and the many activities that include the family as a whole and in parts has definitely strengthened my relationship with my daughter and family. Thank you Open Doors for providing such a wonderful lifelong experience that I know we will cherish for years to come. You are the BEST!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

As one of Open Doors first "clients" I have had the great pleasure of watching the organization grow into one of the most important programs in the Greater Cleveland Area. Not only is it important in this locale, but it sets the precedent for successful educational activities and personal development initiatives in communities nationwide. During middle school I'll admit I wasn't the greatest student. However, I stayed engaged in Open Doors, which I know helped me from veering to far away from my education. In high school I continued to stay engaged with the Open Doors program by participating in service trips, and now, as I am working my way through my final years in college, I continue to stay in touch with old friends and staff members of my Open Doors community. Furthermore I routinely hear of the wonderful progress and outreach the Open Doors community continues to make in the Greater Cleveland Area. Not only is Open Doors a successful program, it is essential to the maintaining a upstanding social atmosphere for those who wouldn't have the opportunity otherwise. I loved my time at OD and wish only the best for those currently in the community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

My daughter is an Open Doors student and has been provided with experiences that she will remember for a life time. Zip lining in the woods, going to Cleveland's International Film Festival, volunteering for local organizations and going to local theater productions have all been a part of this program. For many middle schoolers it is a time where they question everything that is going on around them. Open Doors staff was there to help me answer the many questions my daughter had about growing up and about life. The staff provides all of the students with extra support academically and helps develop the students understanding that these middle school years create the foundation that is needed to be successful in high school. All middle schools would benefit from an Open Doors Academy program in their school.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Lead a parent education class, art class or character development lesson with our middle school youth, or share career exploration paths with our high school students. Volunteer