Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
June 17, 2012

more

June 17, 2012

Since my first year at Open Doors in 2002, I have seen how the program has influenced all of its students and how it has expanded to better benefit its clients. As a sixth-grader, I was very shy and introverted, but throughout my middle school years ODA helped me to cultivate my leadership skills and learn how to make my thoughts heard and respected by my peers. I continued to profit from ODA programming during high school as we travelled to Harlan, KY to build homes each summer, and I took advantage of each opportunity to reunite with my middle school friends and the ODA staff. I am now entering my senior year of college, and I am beginning my second summer in a row working for ODA as a summer program assistant. Because of my continuous involvement with this program, I can personally vouch for the good it brings to the Greater Cleveland community. ODA has helped me in several areas of my life, and I honestly believe that I have benefitted academically, professionally, and personally from my engagement with the program. ODA provides such wonderful opportunities to all of its students, and I can only hope that it will continue to expand and reach an even wider portion of the Greater Cleveland community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 14, 2012

more

June 14, 2012

Open Doors Academy has been an absolutely wonderful program for my daughter. We transferred from a Private School and had some apprehensions about public school. Open Doors was the bridge that brought us across the "river". The staff's willingness to help students and parents has been phenomenal and the many activities that include the family as a whole and in parts has definitely strengthened my relationship with my daughter and family. Thank you Open Doors for providing such a wonderful lifelong experience that I know we will cherish for years to come. You are the BEST!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

The experience that The Open Doors Academy Program has given me is priceless. The relationship that I have built with other students and staff members is so strong. Open Doors is truly a family. I know for any situation, I can easliy talk to any of the stafff members and they will do there absolute best to help me. Over the years I have watched the sites go from two sites into five. As well as adding Alumni sites at the three different high school, which I am currently invovled in. Overall Open Doors is an Inspiration on my everyday life.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 12, 2012

more

June 12, 2012

As one of Open Doors first "clients" I have had the great pleasure of watching the organization grow into one of the most important programs in the Greater Cleveland Area. Not only is it important in this locale, but it sets the precedent for successful educational activities and personal development initiatives in communities nationwide. During middle school I'll admit I wasn't the greatest student. However, I stayed engaged in Open Doors, which I know helped me from veering to far away from my education. In high school I continued to stay engaged with the Open Doors program by participating in service trips, and now, as I am working my way through my final years in college, I continue to stay in touch with old friends and staff members of my Open Doors community. Furthermore I routinely hear of the wonderful progress and outreach the Open Doors community continues to make in the Greater Cleveland Area. Not only is Open Doors a successful program, it is essential to the maintaining a upstanding social atmosphere for those who wouldn't have the opportunity otherwise. I loved my time at OD and wish only the best for those currently in the community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

Open Doors is one organization that has truly provided me a wonderful experience beyond belief. Flashback to year 2001. This was the very first year that Open Doors started, and I am proud to say that I was a student in the program that year and throughout my entire middle school years. Open Doors taught me so many valuable lessons that I remembered and utilized throughout high school, but also preparing me to continuously better myself after completing this program. Now flash forward to today, 2012. This past May, I have completed my Bachelors of Business Administration from Northwood University in Midland, MI. Every time I was home, I would make it a priority to visit and volunteer at Open Doors or at least catch up with Annemarie, the Director. Open Doors has been a big influence on my life and my success, so I am so proud to say that I am Alumni from this program. Open Doors has played a positive role on my life that my younger brother also attended while he was in middle school. Now that he is in high school, he is a volunteer and is continuously involved with Open Doors to this day. Although, I am a little jealous of the continued experience that younger students now have with the program as they move up each year in high school. When we attended our program only lasted for three years. But I am glad to see these opportunities arise for students today, to continue on the right path that Open Doors provides. This organization is constantly finding new ways to not only improve themselves but continuously finding ways to help future generations be leaders and have much success. I can only imagine what the future will hold for Open Doors as it continues to expand. I truly believe that this organization positively impacts lives and does their best to make sure that we as students know that we are believed in and that anything we dream is definitely possible. And I believe it is with every students' start here at this program, where those dreams start to come true.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 11, 2012

more

June 11, 2012

Never have I met a group of individuals who have genuine love in their hearts for the people they serve. ODA staff goes far beyond what is asked of them to ensure the well being of every family in our community. From holiday gift donations, and parent workshops to various field trips and regular everyday programming, ODA staff is committed to making sure that families needs are met.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

From the moment i met ODA staff I immediately knew this organization was different than others i had seen. I can say with all sincerity that i look forward to coming in every day and spending time with the kids. It is a blessing to have the opportunity to be a positive influence in their lives. I love what i do.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

We are a local foundation that has supported Open Doors Academy for the past four years. We love the comprehensive, personalized nature of the after school model that Annemarie Grassi, the founder, designed and are consistently impressed with ODA's success rates. Annemarie is an exceptional young leader and, along with ODA's engaged, committed Board of Trustees, the sky is the limit as to what they can achieve. We are grateful for their nurturing and development of our community's youth.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I've been working at ODA for a little over a year now, and it has been truly amazing to see the time, energy, love, passion, and dedication to excellence that our staff membmers exhibit on a daily basis. This can be seen in talking with students and parents who have been impacted by ODA in powerful ways: ODA makes a difference by helping improve students academic achievement levels, self-confidence and leadership skills. It provides a safe place for our kids to enjoy healthy relationships with adults and with their peers. ODA helps parents to expand their support base and their practical toolsets to make sure that they have what they need to raise emotionally, socially, and physically healthy children. ODA staff members work tirelessly to ensure that our kids have the chance to succeed! I'm proud of ODA, our staff, and our kids!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 6, 2012

more

June 6, 2012

I've been working at ODA for a little over a year now, and it has been truly amazing to see the time, energy, love, passion, and dedication to excellence that our staff membmers exhibit on a daily basis. This can be seen in talking with students and parents who have been impacted by ODA in powerful ways: ODA makes a difference by helping improve students academic achievement levels, self-confidence and leadership skills. It provides a safe place for our kids to enjoy healthy relationships with adults and with their peers. ODA helps parents to expand their support base and their practical toolsets to make sure that they have what they need to raise emotionally, socially, and physically healthy children. ODA staff members work tirelessly to ensure that our kids have the chance to succeed! I'm proud of ODA, our staff, and our kids!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Lead a parent education class, art class or character development lesson with our middle school youth, or share career exploration paths with our high school students. Volunteer