Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
26 Reviews
1234.538465
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 3, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
October 26, 2011

Dr. William Boegel, co-founder of Opal House was found in contempt of court on SIX counts in the Superior Court of California, Napa County, on October 11, 2011. Sentencing for Dr. William Boegel is s... more

January 3, 2014

To those of you who were NOT solicited to write reviews of Opal House, please disregard the following.
For those of you who may have been solicited to write reviews, there is a reason you have been asked to do so. A legal case is ongoing, and William Boegel remains in contempt of court on six
counts. He has been sentenced to thirty days in jail. Bail has been set in the amount of twenty thousand dollars. He is a fugitive of the law of the State of California and the United States. He is currently up for thirty more counts of contempt in the Superior Court of California. This information is true, correct and verifiable.
Yes, what he is doing at Opal House is commendable. No one can deny this. He is, however, making Opal House HIS OWN refuge. In his own words, he is "under the radar" and in hiding. The current arrearage amounts to over $150,000. People hide out and skip the country for far less than that, and William Boegel hides behind a very cleverly masterminded fa├žade indeed.
If you wrote the review of your own volition, bravo to you! If you have been asked or coerced, you are part of his diabolical plan. No one knows this situation the way the courts and I do. For further information, contact the Superior Court of California. Thank you. opalhousebehindthefacade.com
Patricia Fletcher

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 26, 2011

Dr. William Boegel, co-founder of Opal House was found in contempt of court on SIX counts in the Superior Court of California, Napa County, on October 11, 2011.

Sentencing for Dr. William Boegel is scheduled on November 4, 2011 at 8:30 AM in the Superior Court of California, Napa
County.

This information is true and correct, and can be verified on the website of the Superior Court of California, Napa County, California, 825 Brown St. Napa, CA 94558. Phone: 707.299.1100. Case # 26-22481.

Update: On November 4, 2011, William Boegel was sentenced to thirty (30) days in jail; a bench warrant is issued for his arrest; bail is set at $20,000. This information is true and correct, and can be verified at the Superior Court of California, Napa, CA 94559.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Research

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Research

December 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 27, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have known Dr. Will and Diane Boegel for many years, but only recently had the opportunity to visit their mission site in Guatemala. I was only able to stay for two days at the end of a business trip to the area, but it was a great opportunity to see the fruits of their labor with my own eyes. I visited the hospital where Will volunteers regularly and saw the operating room that was fitted with modern equipment and supplies through the Boegels' efforts. Will and Diane sponsor medical missions on a regular basis that bring highly trained surgeons to Guatemala to treat children with severe injuries and birth defects. I was able to tour the chapel and schoolhouse that they have constructed on the property over the last five years and use to educate local children. And, I walked the property to see the improvements in organic farming that have been implemented to improve their avocado and coffee crops. The proceeds from the farming activities are all churned back into the mission programs and building projects.

Will and Diane live a simple, yet busy life of service to the local people. They have extremely low overhead and their actions have a real and lasting impact on the children in the area. I am glad to have donated to Opal House in the past and will continue to make donations in the future.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers