Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.904765
Write A Review
October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I have been a volunteer with one village for about 7 years and have proudly watched them grow and acheive their mission. It is wonderful to work with this organization and see how they are helping shools and villages in Africa recover from the devestation caused by Aids, extreme poverty, and other challenges. I would highly recommend others to join the cuase and help Susan Gross and her team.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

I have been a volunteer with one Village for 3 years. It as AMAZING organization! Susan Gross is an wonderful women who puts her life on the line every time she goes to Kenya and she is always happy and excited to get there and do the great mission of One Village at a Time. Can't say enough good things about this organization!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 1, 2012

more

October 1, 2012

I have been a volunteer grant writer with One Village At A Time for the past several years. A friend had told me that the organization was looking for grant writers and even though i was fairly new to grant writing, I was welcomed with open arms. (That's the way this group is ... everyone is embraced and appreciated.) I was able to "learn on the job" and it's been such an amazing experience. This year we were accepted onto the Global Giving website, which has allowed us to raise funds for and awareness of the work we do in Kenya. Executive Director Susan Gross is a tireless advocate, a spirited leader, and a joy to work with. She has brought together a dynamic group of volunteers that works hard to make life better in the poorest part of Kenya. We may be small, but our impact is huge. We change lives, we empower girls and women, we help villages become self-sustaining, we offer hope. We do this all one village at a time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

One Village at a Time is an example of what a difference one person can make in the life of another. Working with One Village I was able to make a difference in the lives of orphans in Western Kenya (one of the poorest sections of the country.) One Village is different than other organizations because One Village is about self-sustainability and empowering people the skills and faith to manage their lives without continuous help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I started volunteering with One Village during the Spring of 2011. The organization was gearing up for its fourth annual Harambee fundraiser and I volunteered to help with last minute tasks before and during the event. I had never met any of the members, so I was a bit nervous going into my first meeting with them. Within only minutes of meeting them, I was overwhelmed by the passion and excitement that each volunteer had about the cause. These women and men are truly amazing. Their dedication toward this non-profit is infectious, and they will go to the ends of the earth to raise even a few extra dollars, knowing how many children that money can help in Kenya. After my first Harambee, there was no question that I'd be returning for the next one. I have not stopped volunteering since and can guarantee that there will never be a time in my life that I am not involved with this incredibly unique organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I volunteer with One Village at a Time to help write grants and brainstorm new initiatives. Working with this group of people has been an honor and a privilege. It is amazing the things that we have accomplished in such a short amount of time. Susan's commitment to this cause is unparalleled, and I'm sure the story of this organization has only just begun!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 11, 2012

more

September 11, 2012

For the past three years I've volunteered with One Village at a Time and the experience has been personally rewarding and eye-opening. I have seen and learned a great deal about the struggles of our people in Kenya and been excited and proud of the work that has been done. I look forward to continued work with OVAT and hope to some day travel to Kenya so I can see the tremendous efforts of OVAT in action. Please support this beautiful and necessary organization. A little effort and love go a long way!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 11, 2012

more

September 11, 2012

I joined the team in 2010 and I'm happy to say that One Village at a Time is one of the best experiences I've ever been part of. The idea is so simple and beautiful, be the raindrop not the rainfall as the founder told me once. When you are looking to make a difference in the developing world sometimes you get bogged down by the complexity of npo's and at times wonder where your efforts are going. OVAAT is a grass roots organization and the money goes straight to Kenya. Its nice to know that OVAAT sees the big picture, but takes small steps towards it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2012

more

September 9, 2012

One Village at a Time is truly unique. As a smaller organization One Village is free from the rigidity inherent in larger non-profits and has the ability to track every dollar that is donated and subsequently put to work in Kenya. Additionally, One Village, has pursued a strategy of partnering with existing Kenya-based NGOs; leveraging their experience and relationships to improve the effectiveness of its program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers