Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.904765
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

One Village at a Time is an example of what a difference one person can make in the life of another. Working with One Village I was able to make a difference in the lives of orphans in Western Kenya (one of the poorest sections of the country.) One Village is different than other organizations because One Village is about self-sustainability and empowering people the skills and faith to manage their lives without continuous help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I started volunteering with One Village during the Spring of 2011. The organization was gearing up for its fourth annual Harambee fundraiser and I volunteered to help with last minute tasks before and during the event. I had never met any of the members, so I was a bit nervous going into my first meeting with them. Within only minutes of meeting them, I was overwhelmed by the passion and excitement that each volunteer had about the cause. These women and men are truly amazing. Their dedication toward this non-profit is infectious, and they will go to the ends of the earth to raise even a few extra dollars, knowing how many children that money can help in Kenya. After my first Harambee, there was no question that I'd be returning for the next one. I have not stopped volunteering since and can guarantee that there will never be a time in my life that I am not involved with this incredibly unique organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 27, 2012

more

September 27, 2012

I volunteer with One Village at a Time to help write grants and brainstorm new initiatives. Working with this group of people has been an honor and a privilege. It is amazing the things that we have accomplished in such a short amount of time. Susan's commitment to this cause is unparalleled, and I'm sure the story of this organization has only just begun!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 11, 2012

more

September 11, 2012

I started volunteering for One Village at a Time back in 2007. At the time I was struck by how much they could with such a small budget. Only a few dollars made a life-changing difference to a child in rural Kenya. One Village does what most non-profits don't dare. They go into the poorest, most remote villages and take a holistic approach to improving lives. Villagers are empowered to be part of the solution (and eventually the entire solution) so that they are not just providing handouts. The Director truly understands the issues facing these villages: cultural differences, tribal conflicts, parent/child relationships, and more. All things that are crucial to success and easily misunderstood by "Westerners". In 2011 I was asked to be on the Board of Directors. There I had additional insights into how far each dollar donated is stretched. The money is used incredibly effectively. The passion and heart of everyone involved in the organization is inspiring. I see big things for the future of One Village at a Time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 11, 2012

more

September 11, 2012

For the past three years I've volunteered with One Village at a Time and the experience has been personally rewarding and eye-opening. I have seen and learned a great deal about the struggles of our people in Kenya and been excited and proud of the work that has been done. I look forward to continued work with OVAT and hope to some day travel to Kenya so I can see the tremendous efforts of OVAT in action. Please support this beautiful and necessary organization. A little effort and love go a long way!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 11, 2012

more

September 11, 2012

I joined the team in 2010 and I'm happy to say that One Village at a Time is one of the best experiences I've ever been part of. The idea is so simple and beautiful, be the raindrop not the rainfall as the founder told me once. When you are looking to make a difference in the developing world sometimes you get bogged down by the complexity of npo's and at times wonder where your efforts are going. OVAAT is a grass roots organization and the money goes straight to Kenya. Its nice to know that OVAAT sees the big picture, but takes small steps towards it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2012

more

September 10, 2012

I first started working with One Village At A Time earlier this year on their Harambee committee. This past May I was honored to be asked to be on their Board. The first thing that struck me about the organization was the passion of the Director, Board members and everyone else who volunteers their time and effort. The needs we try to help meet are broad in scope, from supporting a feeding program to health education to seed money in a microfinance capacity. We support villages so rural that they have been passed over by many other international organizations. I am also passionate about the fact that our aim is to not just throw money at a problem, but to create an environment where these projects become self-sustaining in an incredibly short period of time. One of the ways we accomplish this is by creating an environment where all stake holders are vested in the project and held accountable (the schools, the students as well as their families). With the entire organization being made up of volunteers I am also very proud to say that 100% of the money we raise goes directly to the goals of the organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 10, 2012

more

September 10, 2012

I have been participating in the wonderful things One Village does since 2009. First I was on the Harambee committee and joined the board in 2010. I was able to travel to Kenya and see first hand the amazing impact we have on the villages. We invest in the villages to help them become self sustainable on their own. We know it's not just about providing them money but the resources to empower the entire town to grow and prosper more independently. With a commitment from the parents, students, and teachers it truly is a village-wide partnership. And from microfinance loans, feminine education and pads, feeding program, books, and health education we know it's a holistic process. I am proud to be a member of this amazing organization, look forward to the future successes I know we'll have, and hopefully another trip to Kenya to see these successes first hand.

Photos

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 9, 2012

more

September 9, 2012

One Village at a Time is truly unique. As a smaller organization One Village is free from the rigidity inherent in larger non-profits and has the ability to track every dollar that is donated and subsequently put to work in Kenya. Additionally, One Village, has pursued a strategy of partnering with existing Kenya-based NGOs; leveraging their experience and relationships to improve the effectiveness of its program.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 6, 2012

more

September 6, 2012

I have been a board member since 2009 and am extremely proud to be part of an amazing organization. I have traveled to Kenya to witness firsthand the incredible work and progress One Village has made. The micro finance and feeding programs coupled with reproductive health education has empowered the children and their parents in the communities we have worked with. Something as simple as donating a reusable pad to a young female in school will prevent her from staying home for a week during her menstrual cycle or using cow dung as a substitute. Lending $100 to buy a cow or start a soap making business has enabled parents to take over the feeding programs in their children's school so they do not go hungry. One Village is different from other organizations because we are ALL volunteers and have other jobs. Every penny we raise goes directly to the cause and makes a huge difference in someone’s life who desperately needs it.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers