Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.955565
Write A Review
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

South Dakota reservations have the highest poverty level in the United States. It's shameful and unnecessary. I believe all people have the right to human dignity that includes a roof over your head and food on your table. One Spirit helps give dignity to the most impoverished yet honorable and proud deserving people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a higher profile

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I've talked to Jena Baker several times, always a pleasant conversation and to the point. What great honesty and pride I hear in her voice when she speaks of One Spirit mission to help her people. I help out personally a couple times a year with donations. But all throughout the year I help by posting their site information and start food drives and such. This is a very good organization with nothing but 100% commitment to help the people of Pine Ridge.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to get enough donations so they can build more than one greenhouse and more than three food banks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 6, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
July 30, 2011

I learned about One Spirit froma group that does evaluations of non-profits serving Native Americans in South Dakota. They give One Spirit a stamp of approval for the same reasons I support it: they ... more

April 6, 2014

I have been donating to One Spirit for five years. I have chose One Spirit as one of my primary donations, a monthly bank withdrawal contribution due to the value of the work and the reliability of the commitment. thank you, One Spirit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2011
4 people found this review helpful

I learned about One Spirit froma group that does evaluations of non-profits serving Native Americans in South Dakota. They give One Spirit a stamp of approval for the same reasons I support it: they are local,so they know who it is they are helping. They provide assistance in the form of food deliveries, wood for fuel, and sponsorship coordination for the most vulnerable individuals and families on the Pine Ridge rez,elders, diabetics, children. They work with a lot of volunteers and their overhead is very low. They provide some employment for Natives on Pine Ridge to cut and deliver wood, load and unload food. They work closely with others on the rez who are helping in other ways, a safe house and a youth program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Connecting me with kids who need my help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no idea how i would change this organization.

July 14, 2013

more

July 14, 2013

This is the group that keeps the broken promises for the people of Pine Ridge. They make human connections between volunteers/donors and families in need. They live their beliefs every day in every way. Nutrition, heat, basic supplies, and caring are delivered from one to another.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to Rosebud.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

They are on the front lines doing the hard work. They are making changes that are sustainable and improving the quality of life (mentally, physically, geographically) for the people they help. They truly reach across borders with compassion and kindness, and inspire me to be a better person.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became a sponsor about a year ago with One Spirit. And, I can tell you that the day I made contact with my sponsor family was a pivotal moment in my life. Everything about their nature, position, and ways displayed courage, beauty, and a presence that offers lesson. There is a stillness within their words that can teach us all regardless of race, gender, or status about the power of worth, belonging, and existence. It is the understanding of the past, the knowledge of the present, and the wisdom of the future that instructs us all to respect our surroundings, give to our brothers, and love unconditionally. One spirit offers the perfect environment to do exactly this. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this organization and the people who work for it. This organization not only provides support and care for the great Lakota people, but it offers the opportunity for people of all nations to give and learn while giving. Sponsorship for me has been one of the biggest blessings in my life. It has granted me a friendship with two beautiful girls and their family and has allowed me to grow as a person through the act of sharing, giving, and caring. I am now about to begin my 3rd sponsorship, an elder, whom I am eager to get to know and learn from. I may not drive the fanciest car or own a million dollar home, but what makes me human is my heart, my spirit, and my love for others. And, this is what I share with my sponsorees and in turn they share with me. I believe our greatest acts as humans are in the moments we share our humanity with others. Thank you One Spirit for allowing me to share that with the beautiful Lakota people!

~ Mary K. - Jacksonville, FL ~

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I think One Spirit is an organization who can help people to get together and build a better future. I hope people can learn and understand with the people and work together as a teambuilder. I hope it continues and that they are working for new ideas to help the people to see new oporturneties and always look for new ways to create jobs, youth camps, elders care and to build a good community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 7, 2013

more

July 7, 2013

After a lot of research, and a big push in this direction, I'm happy to say I'm proud to be sponsoring folks through One Spirit. It does my heart good on many levels knowing I can be of service to people that truly need help and I know where my money is going. I am not rich by any means, but have plenty for myself and know that helping when I can is the right thing to do. Growing up, my family never did without food, but have done my share of living paycheck to paycheck. It feels great to know someone can reach in their pantry with maybe a little more or something than they had before, because of me. It seems small but my heart is filled with much thinking about what I can do. I hope someday to meet some of these great folks....One Spirit in my opinion is doing an outstanding job putting it all together. Thanks -Debra

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 16, 2012

There are many truly great things about One Spirit and the diversity of programs for the Lakota people on the Pine Ridge Reservation. One of my favorite programs is the "Sponsorship" program for child... more

July 5, 2013

ONE Spirit is the only service organization on the Pine Ridge Reservation, recognized and endorsed by the Oglala Lakota Tribal Council!!! If that doesn't say it all, then know that they feed the hungry, provide heat and home repair for elders, and support many youth programs for Lakota children. Service to the Lakota people is what they do and they do it well!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012

There are many truly great things about One Spirit and the diversity of programs for the Lakota people on the Pine Ridge Reservation. One of my favorite programs is the "Sponsorship" program for children, elders and families and the way it is implemented . The donors are in direct contact with the sponsored family, so instead of sending money to some place? and hope it goes where it's intended, the sponsors send the items that are needed directly to the family- clothes, food, school supplies...you name it! It is absolutely the best method I've seen of getting the needed goods to the people in need. One Spirit is an all volunteer organization so there are no big salaries being paid out of the donations made- it's really the most efficient organization for direct help that I've ever seen. There are numerous ways/programs that One Spirit has set up to help this "third world" economy in our heartland, so it's very easy to find a good "fit" for every donor: Okini program for families in immediate crisis, Sponsorships for elders, children and families, Manderson Safe House for children 18 and under, Crazy Horse Ride sponsorships, New Warrior Youth Camps sponsorships, the Allen Youth Center, Wood program for home heat, Food program that feeds about 1,500 monthly, and the Home Repair program to name a few. One Spirit also sponsored 5 runners from Pine Ridge to compete in the NYC marathon and the runners raised donations for the upcoming Allen Youth Center. Though the marathon was cancelled, the runners all stayed in New York to selflessly help with the hurricane clean up, and will get another chance to compete in the marathon next year! One Spirit has made enormous strides in raising the awareness of the desperate living conditions on Pine Ridge and I think that has been instrumental in raising funds for the many programs offered. I think most of us feel morally obligated to help when we become aware of the circumstances and are able to- One Spirit is the best option for directly helping the Lakota people on the Pine Ridge Reservation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2013

more

July 5, 2013

A few years ago I wanted to help Native Americans. After doing some research on the internet, I found One Spirit to have the best reputation as a trust-worthy organization for doing that. I became a donor and later a volunteer for them. I still hold this organization in highest regards. The organization is comprised of very caring people with an interest in serving.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

organize online fundraisers