Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.955565
| 1 ... 5 6 7...9 |
Write A Review
November 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

i am now the editor of our non profit news letter tnais, our north london group was originally a part of the native american indian association back in 1992, we then went onto form tnais in 1994, and became affiliated with the umbrella group, friends of native nations, who attend the rally for leonard peltier every year in june outside the usa embassy in the uk, as well as holding a charity stall at our uk veterans' pow wow, raising funds for one spirit, after meeting with jeri baker at one of our meetings. we liked the sound of all their programmes to help the lakota oyate, we also send out free copies of our news letter to native american prisoners, and try to promote native artists where and when we can. various members of our groups have had the privilege to get over to usa/canada and physically spend time with native communities.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Some

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Team One Spirit Helped New York Hurricane Victims. I think this people is very courageous people. I love them and I hope to meet them in future soon as possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We were made aware of the desperate conditions affecting the Lakota People of the Pine Ridge Reservation by Diane Sawyer's ABC Documentary "Children of the Plains" which aired in the fall of 2011. After doing some on-line research to identify a worthy organization that assists the Lakota, we settled on One Spirit. We became sponsors of a Lakota Elder in October of 2011 and have been deeply grateful for this opportunity. One Spirit is an intimate, caring group of volunteers, donors and staff that literally spans the globe. The very personal connection that is formed between sponsors and those being sponsored is unlike that of any other non-profit organization we have been involved with. It is more than just making a monetary donation each month, although that option is also available. Sponsorship means being able to talk with the family or individual being sponsored and learning about them and their lives. It is the chance to connect with people whose lives are so different from most of ours, yet whose dreams are the same. Without the basic necessities of food, shelter, warmth and clothing it is very difficult to dream. One Spirit helps make reality a little better for people so they can have the luxury of dreaming and reaching their dreams. We really can't say enough great things about One Spirit. Please consider One Spirit if you are looking for a meaningful way to work with the Lakota People of Pine Ridge and the surrounding area.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When the One Spirit marathon team went to New York to raise funds for their cause, ended up helping those who suffered from hurricane Sandy, I was deeply moved by the generous spirit of the Lakota Souix people. I came across One Spirit through a Facebook page belonging to a local church we occasionally attend. The church itself had made me aware of the challenges the Lakota people face out on Pine Ridge, but when I discovered One Spirit, read the webpage and saw all the excellent things that this organisation does to help their people, I was moved. When donating the system is very efficient, but I always receive a thank you email afterwards too, not an automated one, a personal one. That to me makes One Spirit an amazing nonprofit organisation. I know where and who are benefiting from any donations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

It is my pleasure to be a donor to such a worthy group,many Elders are caring for Grand-children,with little or no resources. Proud to help where ever I can,knowing the money goes to feed & clothe & warm those most deserving.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We learned about Pineridge Indian Reservation while researching places to move. I had never even heard of it before. As we kept reading more and watching shows on it we were horrified by the condition of life for the Indians. We began to search for ways to help and came across One Spirit. We were matched with a family on the reservation and have since been able to give direct support to them. We have one on one contact with them which is great! The program has been very helpful in answering our questions and guiding us! They also have an amazing program called Okini to look at a list of people with specific needs. And a wood and food program. I love the programs they have and think they really meet needs specifically not just a place you donate money to and never know where it goes!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My husband & I wanted to donate to a charity but I wanted our contributions to directly help someone in need. I researched on-line and found nativeprogress.org / One Spirit. We became sponsors and as such are allowed direct contact with our sponsored family. I know of no other organization that does this. I help them with food, clothing and household items to make their lives better. We have come to care deeply for our family and have developed a friendship with them. This is a wonderful organization and it helps people in some of the poorest locations in this country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012

more

November 17, 2012

I've donated to One Spirit because I believe in the work they do: helping to strengthen and support the underserved Lakota community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

One Spirit is perhaps the most well-run charity I've ever worked with. The Okini program is a fantastic way for donors to connect directly with those needing help with critical needs like winter clothing, hygiene items, coats, shoes, etc. With the Okini program, your donations go directly to those who need them the most; no warehouses for things to sit around in for weeks. One Spirit also provides monthly food deliveries and wood deliveries in the winter months, programs that employ people on the reservation to help them earn a living for themselves. I am very grateful to have found One Spirit, knowing that my contributions have a direct and immediate effect.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

I have been involved with ONE Spirit in several ways: providing food to Lakota families, providing wood to heat the homes of Lakota families and jobs to people to harvest the wood and deliver it to people's homes, providing resources to build a youth center, and sponsoring a family through relationship building, cultural exchange and helping to ensure basic needs are met. ONE Spirit is a wonderful organization that takes the time to match your abilities and interests with the needs of the community they serve, giving you opportunities to get involved or simply provide resources where they are critical. I have enjoyed being part of ONE Spirit and believe my time, resources and abilities have been put to good use. In addition, ONE Spirit has made sure I have the help I need to be most effective in my volunteer work. Contributing to ONE Spirit is an enriching experience. Thank you.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 5 6 7...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

organize online fundraisers