Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.955565
Write A Review
July 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Food, heat, school supplies...it's just the basics to most folks. Working with One Spirit makes me rethink my own priorities because those basics that so many take for granted are a blessing for some during hard times. For several years, I have sponsored a boy just younger than my own son; now, I also send food to a grandmother who is taking care of a household of youngsters. Right here, right now, in our own country, there is opportunity to help. One Spirit is a path to help me do that.

This organization provides good, decent food to those who need it most. They feed children who haven't eaten for days. They feed families that have special dietary needs, such as diabetes. And the food isn't commodity junk. Today's list of food for the month of July that we send out include 9 different kinds of fruits and veg, along with fresh proteins.

Overhead is low to non-existent in this organization. There are no CEOs taking huge salaries to do admin work here. Much of the organizing come via long-distance. The on-the-ground delivery of food and wood is done by community members for community members. It is an organization that is based on integrity, honesty, hard work, and dedication to the ideas of strong community and honor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would buy them a truck for delivering even more food.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became a sponsor about a year ago with One Spirit. And, I can tell you that the day I made contact with my sponsor family was a pivotal moment in my life. Everything about their nature, position, and ways displayed courage, beauty, and a presence that offers lesson. There is a stillness within their words that can teach us all regardless of race, gender, or status about the power of worth, belonging, and existence. It is the understanding of the past, the knowledge of the present, and the wisdom of the future that instructs us all to respect our surroundings, give to our brothers, and love unconditionally. One spirit offers the perfect environment to do exactly this. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this organization and the people who work for it. This organization not only provides support and care for the great Lakota people, but it offers the opportunity for people of all nations to give and learn while giving. Sponsorship for me has been one of the biggest blessings in my life. It has granted me a friendship with two beautiful girls and their family and has allowed me to grow as a person through the act of sharing, giving, and caring. I am now about to begin my 3rd sponsorship, an elder, whom I am eager to get to know and learn from. I may not drive the fanciest car or own a million dollar home, but what makes me human is my heart, my spirit, and my love for others. And, this is what I share with my sponsorees and in turn they share with me. I believe our greatest acts as humans are in the moments we share our humanity with others. Thank you One Spirit for allowing me to share that with the beautiful Lakota people!

~ Mary K. - Jacksonville, FL ~

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I think One Spirit is an organization who can help people to get together and build a better future. I hope people can learn and understand with the people and work together as a teambuilder. I hope it continues and that they are working for new ideas to help the people to see new oporturneties and always look for new ways to create jobs, youth camps, elders care and to build a good community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

After some investigation I began donating to One Spirit in January 2013. They have lived up to all expectations and beyond. An excellent organization full of caring people that gets practical help to those in need swiftly and efficiently. I thank them for making it possible for me to confidently donate funds to a cause very near to my heart.

Graham M

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 7, 2013

more

July 7, 2013

After a lot of research, and a big push in this direction, I'm happy to say I'm proud to be sponsoring folks through One Spirit. It does my heart good on many levels knowing I can be of service to people that truly need help and I know where my money is going. I am not rich by any means, but have plenty for myself and know that helping when I can is the right thing to do. Growing up, my family never did without food, but have done my share of living paycheck to paycheck. It feels great to know someone can reach in their pantry with maybe a little more or something than they had before, because of me. It seems small but my heart is filled with much thinking about what I can do. I hope someday to meet some of these great folks....One Spirit in my opinion is doing an outstanding job putting it all together. Thanks -Debra

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I wanted to provide help with an organization that I could trust. After research, I concluded this was the one for me. After dealing with them for over a year, I found the volunteers to be wonderful and I truly feel my donations are helping people in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been donating to One Spirit for years as they are a remarkable organization who do everything possible such as bringing food, wood and all sorts of help to the people who so desperately need it. The people of this organization are always accessible and will answer any and all questions you have regarding any subject. The people who are being helped are so grateful and appreciative and it is just an overall amazing experience to know that you can actually change someone's life by giving them just a little help. This organization helps a wide variety of people from young children to the very old. All are treated with respect and kindness. There are no words to tell you how much this organization has meant to me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes. They constantly give you reports on what is going on with the people on the reservation, all the activities planned, and what the most critical needs are.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 16, 2012

There are many truly great things about One Spirit and the diversity of programs for the Lakota people on the Pine Ridge Reservation. One of my favorite programs is the "Sponsorship" program for child... more

July 5, 2013

ONE Spirit is the only service organization on the Pine Ridge Reservation, recognized and endorsed by the Oglala Lakota Tribal Council!!! If that doesn't say it all, then know that they feed the hungry, provide heat and home repair for elders, and support many youth programs for Lakota children. Service to the Lakota people is what they do and they do it well!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 16, 2012

There are many truly great things about One Spirit and the diversity of programs for the Lakota people on the Pine Ridge Reservation. One of my favorite programs is the "Sponsorship" program for children, elders and families and the way it is implemented . The donors are in direct contact with the sponsored family, so instead of sending money to some place? and hope it goes where it's intended, the sponsors send the items that are needed directly to the family- clothes, food, school supplies...you name it! It is absolutely the best method I've seen of getting the needed goods to the people in need. One Spirit is an all volunteer organization so there are no big salaries being paid out of the donations made- it's really the most efficient organization for direct help that I've ever seen. There are numerous ways/programs that One Spirit has set up to help this "third world" economy in our heartland, so it's very easy to find a good "fit" for every donor: Okini program for families in immediate crisis, Sponsorships for elders, children and families, Manderson Safe House for children 18 and under, Crazy Horse Ride sponsorships, New Warrior Youth Camps sponsorships, the Allen Youth Center, Wood program for home heat, Food program that feeds about 1,500 monthly, and the Home Repair program to name a few. One Spirit also sponsored 5 runners from Pine Ridge to compete in the NYC marathon and the runners raised donations for the upcoming Allen Youth Center. Though the marathon was cancelled, the runners all stayed in New York to selflessly help with the hurricane clean up, and will get another chance to compete in the marathon next year! One Spirit has made enormous strides in raising the awareness of the desperate living conditions on Pine Ridge and I think that has been instrumental in raising funds for the many programs offered. I think most of us feel morally obligated to help when we become aware of the circumstances and are able to- One Spirit is the best option for directly helping the Lakota people on the Pine Ridge Reservation.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 5, 2013

more

July 5, 2013

A few years ago I wanted to help Native Americans. After doing some research on the internet, I found One Spirit to have the best reputation as a trust-worthy organization for doing that. I became a donor and later a volunteer for them. I still hold this organization in highest regards. The organization is comprised of very caring people with an interest in serving.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 5, 2013

more

July 5, 2013

I was not gifted with the good fortune of growing up with a family. I worked very hard in my life to make my own. I am now retired and joined One Spirit seeking people that I could give to as I no longer have any people of my own to give to. I do not know my DNA but I know that the Standing Nation and the Rock Spirits saved my life as a child, giving me solace in the space of the real things on this earth walk. I was a Social Worker before retirement and did not want any thing to do with bureaucratic agencies, grant seeking, or not knowing where my money was actually going. Ed Chandler shared his experience of One Spirit with me at a Northeastern Powwow and gave me contact information and I reached a wonderful man from One Spirit who believed me when I said "I have no money to give but I do have the joy of giving ". To me that is much more valuable. So I collected money from 2008 until I was housebound in 2011 and sent packages to "my" One Spirit family. I am out and about again and my "family" still wants me and I am honored to be part of the One Spirit family. It is a great honor and I am grateful. We are all related (Sophia) Julianne Hainline (Black Crow)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I do not know of anything that I would change.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

organize online fundraisers