Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
83 Reviews
1234.951815
| 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
July 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a proud Sponsor of the One Spirit program, I am pleased dot help out such a worthwhile organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more communication between sponsors and those being helped.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have sponsored a few children through One Spirit. I know where every dime I spend is sent because I send it directly to my sponsored child. I know that she gets clothing, food, diapers, wipes, and toys because I pick them out for her. The staff at One Spirit are so professional, understanding, and lovely. I have never encountered a charity that allows you to personally do so much for the person or people you want to help.

I have had such a wonderful time helping out my sponsored kids and their families. My children and I all pulled together to get them really nice things, even though they never ask for much. Often times they only need clothing, some diapers, shampoo, a box of food, or hair ties. I have never seen such humble requests before from a charity. If you want to make a huge impact and know you are doing something for someone else, if you want to know your money is being used the way you would like it used for your sponsored child, One Spirit is the only child sponsorship program I would ever recommend.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization is doing everything it can to help the people that they serve. I would change nothing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a One Spirit sponsor for over 2 years now. My partner and I sponsor a family which is headed by a woman who has taken in several grandchildren and foster grandchildren. There are between 12 to 13 people living together in a small house outside of Pine Ridge Reservation. I forgot - as of April there are 13 - 14 since a new granddaughter was added to the family. My partner and I participate in the food program each month and pay for fresh food to be delivered to our family through One Spirit. It feels wonderful to be able to make this small contribution. I only wish I were wealthy and could provide so much more. still it is such a great feeling to work through ONE SPIRIT and to give to people who have so little. Through this group I actually KNOW where my donation is going. I talk with my family and have received notes and pictures and perhaps one day will be able to visit. My money is NOT put into a big pot of donations, it actually is used for MY family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have ability to connect the individual donors together by way of support groups.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Food, heat, school supplies...it's just the basics to most folks. Working with One Spirit makes me rethink my own priorities because those basics that so many take for granted are a blessing for some during hard times. For several years, I have sponsored a boy just younger than my own son; now, I also send food to a grandmother who is taking care of a household of youngsters. Right here, right now, in our own country, there is opportunity to help. One Spirit is a path to help me do that.

This organization provides good, decent food to those who need it most. They feed children who haven't eaten for days. They feed families that have special dietary needs, such as diabetes. And the food isn't commodity junk. Today's list of food for the month of July that we send out include 9 different kinds of fruits and veg, along with fresh proteins.

Overhead is low to non-existent in this organization. There are no CEOs taking huge salaries to do admin work here. Much of the organizing come via long-distance. The on-the-ground delivery of food and wood is done by community members for community members. It is an organization that is based on integrity, honesty, hard work, and dedication to the ideas of strong community and honor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would buy them a truck for delivering even more food.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became a sponsor about a year ago with One Spirit. And, I can tell you that the day I made contact with my sponsor family was a pivotal moment in my life. Everything about their nature, position, and ways displayed courage, beauty, and a presence that offers lesson. There is a stillness within their words that can teach us all regardless of race, gender, or status about the power of worth, belonging, and existence. It is the understanding of the past, the knowledge of the present, and the wisdom of the future that instructs us all to respect our surroundings, give to our brothers, and love unconditionally. One spirit offers the perfect environment to do exactly this. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this organization and the people who work for it. This organization not only provides support and care for the great Lakota people, but it offers the opportunity for people of all nations to give and learn while giving. Sponsorship for me has been one of the biggest blessings in my life. It has granted me a friendship with two beautiful girls and their family and has allowed me to grow as a person through the act of sharing, giving, and caring. I am now about to begin my 3rd sponsorship, an elder, whom I am eager to get to know and learn from. I may not drive the fanciest car or own a million dollar home, but what makes me human is my heart, my spirit, and my love for others. And, this is what I share with my sponsorees and in turn they share with me. I believe our greatest acts as humans are in the moments we share our humanity with others. Thank you One Spirit for allowing me to share that with the beautiful Lakota people!

~ Mary K. - Jacksonville, FL ~

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I think One Spirit is an organization who can help people to get together and build a better future. I hope people can learn and understand with the people and work together as a teambuilder. I hope it continues and that they are working for new ideas to help the people to see new oporturneties and always look for new ways to create jobs, youth camps, elders care and to build a good community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

July 9, 2013

more

July 9, 2013

After some investigation I began donating to One Spirit in January 2013. They have lived up to all expectations and beyond. An excellent organization full of caring people that gets practical help to those in need swiftly and efficiently. I thank them for making it possible for me to confidently donate funds to a cause very near to my heart.

Graham M

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 7, 2013

more

July 7, 2013

After a lot of research, and a big push in this direction, I'm happy to say I'm proud to be sponsoring folks through One Spirit. It does my heart good on many levels knowing I can be of service to people that truly need help and I know where my money is going. I am not rich by any means, but have plenty for myself and know that helping when I can is the right thing to do. Growing up, my family never did without food, but have done my share of living paycheck to paycheck. It feels great to know someone can reach in their pantry with maybe a little more or something than they had before, because of me. It seems small but my heart is filled with much thinking about what I can do. I hope someday to meet some of these great folks....One Spirit in my opinion is doing an outstanding job putting it all together. Thanks -Debra

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I wanted to provide help with an organization that I could trust. After research, I concluded this was the one for me. After dealing with them for over a year, I found the volunteers to be wonderful and I truly feel my donations are helping people in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been donating to One Spirit for years as they are a remarkable organization who do everything possible such as bringing food, wood and all sorts of help to the people who so desperately need it. The people of this organization are always accessible and will answer any and all questions you have regarding any subject. The people who are being helped are so grateful and appreciative and it is just an overall amazing experience to know that you can actually change someone's life by giving them just a little help. This organization helps a wide variety of people from young children to the very old. All are treated with respect and kindness. There are no words to tell you how much this organization has meant to me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes. They constantly give you reports on what is going on with the people on the reservation, all the activities planned, and what the most critical needs are.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

organize online fundraisers