Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
78 Reviews
1234.948725
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 19, 2013

I've volunteered for One Spirit, for over 5 years. I'm a vendor at Native American Powwows, and donate the gross earnings from each powwow that I vend at, in southeastern New England. Not one person a... more

April 15, 2014

I'm a retired Mohawk Metis elder, that attends Powwows in the Northeast as a vendor to raise money for One Spirit. 100% of the money that I generate goes to One Spirit, to purchase food, for the families, at Pine Ridge Reservation, in South Dakota. This organization is very transparent about where the money is spent and is dedicated to making the Lakota self sufficient.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. This is a well oiled Charity/Organization that is well rooted in it's purpose.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've volunteered for One Spirit, for over 5 years. I'm a vendor at Native American Powwows, and donate the gross earnings from each powwow that I vend at, in southeastern New England. Not one person at One Spirit earns a salary. Each and everyone of us volunteer, because we believe in the organization. We can see first hand the victories that we achieve, against the poverty on Pine Ridge Indian Reservation, in South Dakota. I too am Indian (Mohawk) and it feels mighty good to help my brothers and sisters of the Lakota Tribe.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide scholarships to the kids that stay in school, and get a high school diploma.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I do Native American Powwow's in Southeastern New England. As a vendor, 100% of the money I raise from my booth, goes to One Spirit to assist them in meeting their goals, of feeding families, and supplying wood for the winter. Do I need to do this? Heck no, but I need to do this. I'm a Haudenosaunee (Mohawk) Metis Elder and I'm retired. While I'm not rich, I have all the essential things that I need in life. One Spirit supplies me with some merchandise. People donate items for me to resell, and I supply many items to resell, and the proceeds go to One Spirit. This is my fifth year and I'm really gratefull that I still have my health to do this. I also get great enjoyment out of turning people on to One Spirit and the Oglala Lakota Sioux. I couldn't think of a better cause to dedicate myself to. One Spirit is the reason that I get out of bed in the morning. It's certainly better than wasting away in a bar room!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Start a College Tuition Fund!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
July 30, 2011

I learned about One Spirit froma group that does evaluations of non-profits serving Native Americans in South Dakota. They give One Spirit a stamp of approval for the same reasons I support it: they ... more

April 6, 2014

I have been donating to One Spirit for five years. I have chose One Spirit as one of my primary donations, a monthly bank withdrawal contribution due to the value of the work and the reliability of the commitment. thank you, One Spirit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I learned about One Spirit froma group that does evaluations of non-profits serving Native Americans in South Dakota. They give One Spirit a stamp of approval for the same reasons I support it: they are local,so they know who it is they are helping. They provide assistance in the form of food deliveries, wood for fuel, and sponsorship coordination for the most vulnerable individuals and families on the Pine Ridge rez,elders, diabetics, children. They work with a lot of volunteers and their overhead is very low. They provide some employment for Natives on Pine Ridge to cut and deliver wood, load and unload food. They work closely with others on the rez who are helping in other ways, a safe house and a youth program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Connecting me with kids who need my help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no idea how i would change this organization.

July 14, 2013

more

July 14, 2013

This is the group that keeps the broken promises for the people of Pine Ridge. They make human connections between volunteers/donors and families in need. They live their beliefs every day in every way. Nutrition, heat, basic supplies, and caring are delivered from one to another.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to Rosebud.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

They are on the front lines doing the hard work. They are making changes that are sustainable and improving the quality of life (mentally, physically, geographically) for the people they help. They truly reach across borders with compassion and kindness, and inspire me to be a better person.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013

more

July 12, 2013

I have the absolutely highest regard for Jeri Baker and the One Spirit group. They are making a huge difference in life on the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota. They are currently providing fresh food to over 3000 needy people!

Jeri Baker has provided the support for this fine
organization, they survive on donations, donations of all sorts, food, shelter, furniture, clothes, wood for warmth and support of the culture just to name a few.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a proud Sponsor of the One Spirit program, I am pleased dot help out such a worthwhile organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more communication between sponsors and those being helped.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have sponsored a few children through One Spirit. I know where every dime I spend is sent because I send it directly to my sponsored child. I know that she gets clothing, food, diapers, wipes, and toys because I pick them out for her. The staff at One Spirit are so professional, understanding, and lovely. I have never encountered a charity that allows you to personally do so much for the person or people you want to help.

I have had such a wonderful time helping out my sponsored kids and their families. My children and I all pulled together to get them really nice things, even though they never ask for much. Often times they only need clothing, some diapers, shampoo, a box of food, or hair ties. I have never seen such humble requests before from a charity. If you want to make a huge impact and know you are doing something for someone else, if you want to know your money is being used the way you would like it used for your sponsored child, One Spirit is the only child sponsorship program I would ever recommend.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The organization is doing everything it can to help the people that they serve. I would change nothing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a One Spirit sponsor for over 2 years now. My partner and I sponsor a family which is headed by a woman who has taken in several grandchildren and foster grandchildren. There are between 12 to 13 people living together in a small house outside of Pine Ridge Reservation. I forgot - as of April there are 13 - 14 since a new granddaughter was added to the family. My partner and I participate in the food program each month and pay for fresh food to be delivered to our family through One Spirit. It feels wonderful to be able to make this small contribution. I only wish I were wealthy and could provide so much more. still it is such a great feeling to work through ONE SPIRIT and to give to people who have so little. Through this group I actually KNOW where my donation is going. I talk with my family and have received notes and pictures and perhaps one day will be able to visit. My money is NOT put into a big pot of donations, it actually is used for MY family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have ability to connect the individual donors together by way of support groups.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Food, heat, school supplies...it's just the basics to most folks. Working with One Spirit makes me rethink my own priorities because those basics that so many take for granted are a blessing for some during hard times. For several years, I have sponsored a boy just younger than my own son; now, I also send food to a grandmother who is taking care of a household of youngsters. Right here, right now, in our own country, there is opportunity to help. One Spirit is a path to help me do that.

This organization provides good, decent food to those who need it most. They feed children who haven't eaten for days. They feed families that have special dietary needs, such as diabetes. And the food isn't commodity junk. Today's list of food for the month of July that we send out include 9 different kinds of fruits and veg, along with fresh proteins.

Overhead is low to non-existent in this organization. There are no CEOs taking huge salaries to do admin work here. Much of the organizing come via long-distance. The on-the-ground delivery of food and wood is done by community members for community members. It is an organization that is based on integrity, honesty, hard work, and dedication to the ideas of strong community and honor.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would buy them a truck for delivering even more food.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 11, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I became a sponsor about a year ago with One Spirit. And, I can tell you that the day I made contact with my sponsor family was a pivotal moment in my life. Everything about their nature, position, and ways displayed courage, beauty, and a presence that offers lesson. There is a stillness within their words that can teach us all regardless of race, gender, or status about the power of worth, belonging, and existence. It is the understanding of the past, the knowledge of the present, and the wisdom of the future that instructs us all to respect our surroundings, give to our brothers, and love unconditionally. One spirit offers the perfect environment to do exactly this. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this organization and the people who work for it. This organization not only provides support and care for the great Lakota people, but it offers the opportunity for people of all nations to give and learn while giving. Sponsorship for me has been one of the biggest blessings in my life. It has granted me a friendship with two beautiful girls and their family and has allowed me to grow as a person through the act of sharing, giving, and caring. I am now about to begin my 3rd sponsorship, an elder, whom I am eager to get to know and learn from. I may not drive the fanciest car or own a million dollar home, but what makes me human is my heart, my spirit, and my love for others. And, this is what I share with my sponsorees and in turn they share with me. I believe our greatest acts as humans are in the moments we share our humanity with others. Thank you One Spirit for allowing me to share that with the beautiful Lakota people!

~ Mary K. - Jacksonville, FL ~

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

organize online fundraisers