Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
83 Reviews
1234.951815
Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review
July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

This group helps people so much and i'm happy to be a small part in it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

I was in a sad place when I first learned of One Spirit. My parents had died and cleaning out their house, I had a great deal of extra sewing supplies. Then I read that One Spirit needed sewing supply donations for the Grandmothers on the reservation to make quilts. It seemed like fate! I had studied the legendary Lakota because my degrees are in Anthropology and always loved our Native cultures, but One Spirit has shown me the living people. Since then I have donated several times to the Food program and I am always wondering how else I can help. One Spirit keeps us up to date with the activities of the Lakota and I love seeing the beauty and charm of the children, the activism of the women and the power of the Marathon Runners. The USA has sacrificed our First People in the name of progress but I see the Lakota taking charge of their own power and working hard to make things right for themselves. I support One Spirit because through this organization, the Lakota give as much to me as I can to them, maybe more, because always they inspire me to strive to be a better person. They're great Americans and we should all support them! Thank you for this opportunity to review their excellent efforts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to see them earn some Federal grants to further improve things on the Reservation, so the kids can have computers and playgrounds and the adults can have current technology and opportunities for career advancement. Also money for additional infrastructure on the reservation like solar on people's homes, especially solar heating for those awful winters. this could also be a training opportunity for the men.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

My family works closely with jeri baker and Bamm brewer on the wood program to heat homes smd the crazy horse ride.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them reach more audiences to help them attract more funding.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

ONE Spirit is the most uplifting organization I've encountered. The work they do is such a blessing to those they do it for and directly benefits those in need not just physically, but spiritually/emotionally/mentally. ONE Spirit took the time to establish a relationship with our family and continues to take the time to maintain it. ONE Spirit will always hold a special place in our hearts, as will the wonderful People they care for in so very many ways.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

I am new to One Spirit but all the people have been wonderful. I sponsor and I make monetary donations when able. I have told many friends about the organization and many have begun to work with them as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 15, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 19, 2013

I've volunteered for One Spirit, for over 5 years. I'm a vendor at Native American Powwows, and donate the gross earnings from each powwow that I vend at, in southeastern New England. Not one person a... more

April 15, 2014

I'm a retired Mohawk Metis elder, that attends Powwows in the Northeast as a vendor to raise money for One Spirit. 100% of the money that I generate goes to One Spirit, to purchase food, for the families, at Pine Ridge Reservation, in South Dakota. This organization is very transparent about where the money is spent and is dedicated to making the Lakota self sufficient.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing. This is a well oiled Charity/Organization that is well rooted in it's purpose.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I've volunteered for One Spirit, for over 5 years. I'm a vendor at Native American Powwows, and donate the gross earnings from each powwow that I vend at, in southeastern New England. Not one person at One Spirit earns a salary. Each and everyone of us volunteer, because we believe in the organization. We can see first hand the victories that we achieve, against the poverty on Pine Ridge Indian Reservation, in South Dakota. I too am Indian (Mohawk) and it feels mighty good to help my brothers and sisters of the Lakota Tribe.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide scholarships to the kids that stay in school, and get a high school diploma.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 4, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I do Native American Powwow's in Southeastern New England. As a vendor, 100% of the money I raise from my booth, goes to One Spirit to assist them in meeting their goals, of feeding families, and supplying wood for the winter. Do I need to do this? Heck no, but I need to do this. I'm a Haudenosaunee (Mohawk) Metis Elder and I'm retired. While I'm not rich, I have all the essential things that I need in life. One Spirit supplies me with some merchandise. People donate items for me to resell, and I supply many items to resell, and the proceeds go to One Spirit. This is my fifth year and I'm really gratefull that I still have my health to do this. I also get great enjoyment out of turning people on to One Spirit and the Oglala Lakota Sioux. I couldn't think of a better cause to dedicate myself to. One Spirit is the reason that I get out of bed in the morning. It's certainly better than wasting away in a bar room!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Start a College Tuition Fund!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
1 previous review
July 30, 2011

I learned about One Spirit froma group that does evaluations of non-profits serving Native Americans in South Dakota. They give One Spirit a stamp of approval for the same reasons I support it: they ... more

April 6, 2014

I have been donating to One Spirit for five years. I have chose One Spirit as one of my primary donations, a monthly bank withdrawal contribution due to the value of the work and the reliability of the commitment. thank you, One Spirit.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 30, 2011
3 people found this review helpful

I learned about One Spirit froma group that does evaluations of non-profits serving Native Americans in South Dakota. They give One Spirit a stamp of approval for the same reasons I support it: they are local,so they know who it is they are helping. They provide assistance in the form of food deliveries, wood for fuel, and sponsorship coordination for the most vulnerable individuals and families on the Pine Ridge rez,elders, diabetics, children. They work with a lot of volunteers and their overhead is very low. They provide some employment for Natives on Pine Ridge to cut and deliver wood, load and unload food. They work closely with others on the rez who are helping in other ways, a safe house and a youth program.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Connecting me with kids who need my help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no idea how i would change this organization.

July 14, 2013

more

July 14, 2013

This is the group that keeps the broken promises for the people of Pine Ridge. They make human connections between volunteers/donors and families in need. They live their beliefs every day in every way. Nutrition, heat, basic supplies, and caring are delivered from one to another.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand it to Rosebud.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 13, 2013

more

July 13, 2013

They are on the front lines doing the hard work. They are making changes that are sustainable and improving the quality of life (mentally, physically, geographically) for the people they help. They truly reach across borders with compassion and kindness, and inspire me to be a better person.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 12, 2013

more

July 12, 2013

I have the absolutely highest regard for Jeri Baker and the One Spirit group. They are making a huge difference in life on the Pine Ridge Reservation in South Dakota. They are currently providing fresh food to over 3000 needy people!

Jeri Baker has provided the support for this fine
organization, they survive on donations, donations of all sorts, food, shelter, furniture, clothes, wood for warmth and support of the culture just to name a few.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NONE!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

organize online fundraisers