Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
90 Reviews
1234.955565
Write A Review
August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

One Spirit was brought to my attention through a blog I read, written by a young Lakota man. He recommended One Spirit as an upstanding organization that actually does what it says and impacts the lives of the people on the reservation. As I researched One Spirit myself and visited their website I was impressed with all of the various ways they provide to make donations - direct sponsorship, monthly or one-time donations through paypal, and the okini list. I was also impressed with the fact that money and contributions go directly to the people who need it and not into an administrator's wallet.

I have donated several times through pay pal and the raffles/contests that pop up and will continue to support them any way I can. It's a cause and an organization I feel good about supporting.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None that I've come across so far.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

South Dakota reservations have the highest poverty level in the United States. It's shameful and unnecessary. I believe all people have the right to human dignity that includes a roof over your head and food on your table. One Spirit helps give dignity to the most impoverished yet honorable and proud deserving people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have a higher profile

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 16, 2012

I started supporting this group several years ago by sponsoring a family. The amazing thing was they didn't want money, they just wanted me to supply basics to three young boys. I now support the gr... more

August 11, 2014

I have supported this group over the years because I know all of the contributions go to help the people. The volunteers are very dedicated people.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

There are no changes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started supporting this group several years ago by sponsoring a family. The amazing thing was they didn't want money, they just wanted me to supply basics to three young boys. I now support the group with donations for food and/or wood for heat. They give you a list of exactly what will be delivered to these needy families. They are well organized and have only the welfare of the Lakota people in their hearts. This is the one group I would not hesitate to help or recommend.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I haven't donated much, but what I have donated was acknowledged and thanks were sent promptly by e-mail. I feel appreciated and I know my contributions make a positive difference. I'm so glad this organization exists because I know there is a big need for their services.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Move myself to South Dakota so I could volunteer

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

We love sponsoring children through One Spirit! It has been very rewarding and a positive experience for the whole family. We feel like we are making a difference in one families life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I have been a donor to One Spirit as well as contributing through their Okini program. I know that my contributions make a difference in part because of their transparency in their emails, postings on social networks and such. If there was every a non-profit making a difference, One Spirit is it!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

I've talked to Jena Baker several times, always a pleasant conversation and to the point. What great honesty and pride I hear in her voice when she speaks of One Spirit mission to help her people. I help out personally a couple times a year with donations. But all throughout the year I help by posting their site information and start food drives and such. This is a very good organization with nothing but 100% commitment to help the people of Pine Ridge.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to get enough donations so they can build more than one greenhouse and more than three food banks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

This group helps people so much and i'm happy to be a small part in it!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 11, 2014

more

July 11, 2014

I was in a sad place when I first learned of One Spirit. My parents had died and cleaning out their house, I had a great deal of extra sewing supplies. Then I read that One Spirit needed sewing supply donations for the Grandmothers on the reservation to make quilts. It seemed like fate! I had studied the legendary Lakota because my degrees are in Anthropology and always loved our Native cultures, but One Spirit has shown me the living people. Since then I have donated several times to the Food program and I am always wondering how else I can help. One Spirit keeps us up to date with the activities of the Lakota and I love seeing the beauty and charm of the children, the activism of the women and the power of the Marathon Runners. The USA has sacrificed our First People in the name of progress but I see the Lakota taking charge of their own power and working hard to make things right for themselves. I support One Spirit because through this organization, the Lakota give as much to me as I can to them, maybe more, because always they inspire me to strive to be a better person. They're great Americans and we should all support them! Thank you for this opportunity to review their excellent efforts.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Like to see them earn some Federal grants to further improve things on the Reservation, so the kids can have computers and playgrounds and the adults can have current technology and opportunities for career advancement. Also money for additional infrastructure on the reservation like solar on people's homes, especially solar heating for those awful winters. this could also be a training opportunity for the men.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

My family works closely with jeri baker and Bamm brewer on the wood program to heat homes smd the crazy horse ride.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them reach more audiences to help them attract more funding.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

organize online fundraisers