Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We work with children in North Carolina who are in the foster care system. One Simple Wish and its donors are to be commended for their generosity toward these children. It is one thing to go to a sponsored event or get a random gift from an unknown source but for a child to receive something he WISHED for is wonderful. The faces of our volunteers light up almost as brightly as the children who receive the gift.

What a great way to make a difference in the life of child. A recent recipient put it best: "I didn't think I would get something this nice!"

Our volunteers and program staff thank One Simple Wish and the wonderful people who give through this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 12, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2012

I first learned of this organization by discovering it online and becoming a volunteer a few years ago. I was initially truly impressed by the uniqueness of it's purpose -- allowing anyone to make a ... more

September 12, 2013

One Simple Wish allows anyone to make a difference in the life of a foster child, by showing children who have suffered from abuse and neglect that there are people out there who care about them, and who want to help provide for them, even if they cannot become foster parents. At any time by simply browsing onesimplewish.org, one can find an affordable "wish" to grant, and by reading about the recipient, feel connected to that child. This is truly a unique nonprofit, in that donors can choose exactly what their donation is going towards. And from my personal experience with the organization, the staff at One Simple Wish are a truly dedicated team of people who are passionate advocates for foster kids -- making every penny received work hard to help these kids. Amazing organization!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create more awareness so that everyone would understand how easy and affordable it is to make a small miracle happen for a foster child!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first learned of this organization by discovering it online and becoming a volunteer a few years ago. I was initially truly impressed by the uniqueness of it's purpose -- allowing anyone to make a difference in the life of a child in need, and being able to view and then grant their wishes with a click or two on a website. I really loved the idea that someone choosing to make a donation could do more than just write a check; they could see to whom their donation was going, and feel more of a personal connection. Particularly as many of us care about the plight of foster children, but don't know how to help. Now, as time has gone by, I see how impactful these small wishes really are, by the thank you notes received from the caseworkers and the children themselves, and in seeing how these gifts can really give a child hope that there are people out there who care. Beyond that, I see the tremendous passion that the founder and the dedicated staff at One Simple Wish have for this cause; and their resolve to make the lives of foster children better in every way they can has enabled so much awareness and so many positive initiatives for these kids. I am truly honored to serve as part of this board; my only wish is that I had more time and more to give.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Everyone wants to know that they matter. Every child should feel special and worthy. For as little as $5 to as much as a person / organization would like to give, One Simple Wish makes it possible for the larger community to let foster children know that they are important and special. From a new box of crayons, to a personal care package, to helping a teenager gain the knowledge and experiences that will help them to find employment, One Simple Wish Makes it possible for the community to have a direct and important impact on the lives of a group of children who are often abused and ignored.


I am honored to be a board member and supporter of this wonderful organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Donate generously and encourage others to join me so that all foster children know that we care about them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

When I came across this organization I had been looking for someplace to volunteer for a long time. Upon learning more about them I was so grateful that I had found a place making such a great impact on children. The support that this organization provides is so simple but in most cases so important to a child’s growth, development and happiness. I feel so thankful that I can be part of something so important for children in foster care and vulnerable youth.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

One Simple Wish is an amazing organization that supports children and youth in foster care. They do not age out in this program. The organization is always there as a support for these kids to know that there are people who love and support them and want them to succeed. They truly believe in their cause and are dedicated to their mission of brightening the lives of vulnerable children and families in need one simple wish at a time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 6, 2012

One Simple Wish is an awesome non-profit organization that focuses on granting simple wishes to children in foster care. But this organization does more than that. The Founder, Danielle Gletow, is a... more

September 11, 2013

One Simple Wish is an organization that not only grants simple wishes, but always has a program called Wish to Work that provides support to young teens aging out of foster care. In 2013, we provided two seminars for students ages 16-23 that focused on financial literacy and physical & mental wellness. About 33 students participated in these workshops and rated these workshops as very practical and resourceful. The Wish to Work Program also provides four interns with internship and externship opportunities specifically focusing on the areas these students need in order to be employed and self sufficient. We hope to continue offering internship opportunities and seminars with grant money yet to be secured.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to find additional grant money so that these seminars and internships can continue year after year. These young teens aging out of foster care need critical skills like budgeting, establishing credit, interviewing skills, nutritional information, conflict resolution, computer skills, organizational skills, etc.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 6, 2012

One Simple Wish is an awesome non-profit organization that focuses on granting simple wishes to children in foster care. But this organization does more than that. The Founder, Danielle Gletow, is an advocate for children's rights. She is creative, passionate and dynamic and addresses needs as they arise. The Ohana project was created to address the needs of children who are pulled out of their homes very quickly. Personal care items are being donated and are ready to be dispersed to those children in need. Right after Hurricane Sandy, Danielle set up a webpage to donate items and money so that diapers and food can get to the families in need. Danielle and her staff spent days collecting the items, organized the volunteers and made deliveries all week long to those in need. There is also a program to help young adults aging out of foster care or who have already aged out in preparing for and obtaining professional, sustainable employment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 14, 2011

One Simple Wish is such a wonderful organization that is doing tremendous things for foster and impoverished children. It is made up of passionate volunteers and Board members who truly want to make a difference in the lives of children. There are many ways in which people can get involved. You can become a volunteer, help with programs or events or grant wishes from our website. Our first annual celebration called "A Night of 1000 Wishes" will be at the Trenton War Memorial on Saturday, September 24th at 6:00 p.m. We will be celebrating the 1500 wishes that have already been granted and the next 1000 wishes that will be granted. Come join us for that celebration. Also, May is Foster Care Awareness Month, so join in and purchase our blue arm bracelets that are available at our website: OneSimpleWish.org.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Chairing the Events Committee, attending Board Meetings and meeting such great and passionate volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Win the lottery and donate $1 million dollars so all of the wishes can be granted.

September 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2012

I started as a wish granter almost two years ago, added volunteering to the list and just recently became a board member. One Simple Wish is an amazing organization. It provides not only the opportuni... more

September 10, 2013

People always look for an organization to help that will do exactly what they say. One Simple Wish is just that. It does exactly as the name implies. For as little as $5 and going as high as you choose to donate your gift makes a direct impact on the life of a foster child. Your contribution enables these children to feel that someone truly cares about them.

Danielle Gletow is not only the founder and executive director of One Simple Wish but is also recognized nationally for all of her work on behalf of foster children. This unknown group of children has such an amazing advocate.

I am thrilled to be a board member and a donor for this incredible organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I started as a wish granter almost two years ago, added volunteering to the list and just recently became a board member. One Simple Wish is an amazing organization. It provides not only the opportunities but the easy avenue to support foster children nationwide. No amount of money is too little to grant a wish and there are always wishes to fit any budget. Knowing that the money you are giving is going specifically to your choice of wish is a big plus.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

The "trend" in fundraising these days is direct impact. One Simple Wish has always been ahead of the curve on this. With your monies, you decide the lives you touch and the difference you make. It's easy. It's profound. It's vital. One Simple Wish lets anyone touch and maybe? even transform? the life of someone in need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would wish for more (and more) direct support for the organization. It's so simple and so fulfilling to grant a wish - but I would ask all to also make a gift to OSW the organization. The more we can help the organization -- the more lives we can touch.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

When working at a nonprofit serving victims of domestic and sexual violence they often flee their homes with nothing but the clothes on their back. One Simple Wish' wish granting program enabled those in need to request wishes that can bring a bit of joy and normalcy into their lives. The wish is posted on their website, www.onesimplewish.org, and the general public can respond to wishes that speak to both their heart and their budget.

Wishes granted have included an indoor skate park membership, a membership to an aquarium for a mother and her kids, a bicycle, a Portuguese translation device, a child's comforter set, a scooter and more. None of these wishes break the bank and when granted makes everyone happy. One Simple Wish is a great clearinghouse of goodwill for those in need, those who serve those in need and for those who give.

They also have programs that serve youth who are aging out of foster care called Wish To Work and the Ohana Project that allows social service providers to come get personal care items and toys for vulnerable families.

Many think that One Simple Wish is this big organization, but it operates on less than 5 staff members and lots of volunteers all with big hearts all while supporting vulnerable youth in over 40 states. Thank you OSW for making a difference in the lives of so many!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to increase awareness to both those in need and those who can give.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

New baby clothes, a trip to the movies, money for an school exam, dental x rays - these are some of the wishes my family and I have granted this past year through One Simple Wish. Since granting a wish is so personal, we feel connected to the recipient and like the idea that they know a specific person really cares for them. We have made it a family tradition to grant a wish in honor of my mom or for a friend's birthday. It is reassuring to know that the team at One Simple Wish is making sure that kids out there know someone thinks they are special.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Write thank you notes to our donors, work in our Wish Shop in Ewing, NJ, promote us through social media, post wishes online, shop for wishes and ship them to recipients Volunteer