Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
51 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
August 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

As an alumni of the foster care system, I entered the system at the age of 4 and spent time in four or five foster homes until I aged out. I can tell you that as I child, I always felt that I had to be good, be quiet, don't cry, maybe not be noticed, that way no one would hurt me, leave me or send me away again. The feeling that whoever you're living with at the time, you aren't there because you're wanted and loved, hey, you don't know what is happening, you just wonder what will happen next and where you'll be at any moment?
Because of my childhood, I can understand the impact that One Simple Wish can have on the children they serve. I have no doubt that what this organization is doing, is changing lives and therefore changing the future for untold numbers of people. Having a wish granted does not just give a child something they want/need, for some it can show them that someone really does care, someone is listening, someone knows that they are there and that they matter, and this can make a tremendous difference in the life of a child and the path his or her life will take.
I am honored to be an ongoing volunteer and donor to this amazing organization and to have had the pleasure of meeting and interacting with its founder Danielle, and a few of the other wonderful people who help run this organization.
This is an organization that is literally changing and shaping the future!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

My family and I have been wish granters for over 3 years. I absolutely love this organization! They have found a nich that works so well for both the children and those that want to help but feel they can't do much.

We have always had a soft spot for children but where hesitant to just
give to big organizations not really knowing where our dollars where going. Here we know! I love being able to look at the list and so often some child's need pops and we know that's the one we need to Grant right now. ( of course we would love to grant them all but...)

So if your looking for an organization you can trust and know it is doing good things for these children this is the one. Not only do they Grant Wish's but they bring awareness to foster children and so much more!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Bring them to the midwest!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 15, 2014

more

August 15, 2014

One Simple wish has fulfilled over 50 wishes for kids in our programs! It is always exciting when we can partner with them to provide a youth in foster care something they otherwise would not have or experience. OSW has provided winter coats, sporting equipment, assistance with prom costs, graduation gifts, birthday gifts and so much more!

The team has the biggest hearts, and I am sure the donors do too. We were blessed to meet the OSW team when they visited Ohio and did a special party for our kids and families. They are inclusive to the whole foster family, and at the end of the day they provide a lot of smiles to kids.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

One Simple Wish is an amazing organization that helps to grant wishes children in foster care. Children who are in foster care deserve to have what other children have, yet have no one to help finance things as such. Imagine your own child wanting something special for their birthday or Christmas.... But they never got it.... Or if your child has a special sports icon and would do anything to go see a game or have a jersey...... Children in foster care have the same dreams and deserve to have dreams come true. From the simplest of needs to the biggest of wants.. Danielle Gletow and her team at One Simple Wish are there to make it happen! They gather donations and sponsors to help these children. They have a great website where foster child wishes are posted as "in the wind" and then anyone can go on and grant the wish for the child by making the equivalent dollar match.... One Simple Wish then facilitates the process.


I simply love these ladies! They help so many of our children at The Bair Foundation. May God Bless You!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

Review from JustGive
August 13, 2014

I absolutely LOVE this organization! I have a soft spot in my heart for foster children around the world. They did not choose to come into this world to be left looking for a family to love and support them. Luckily, One Simple Wish has been created to help those children and young adults get the love, recognition and life they so deserve!

I also home more people contribute to this organization to help it grow and reach as many children as possible. These children are our future!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not a single thing...

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We work with children in North Carolina who are in the foster care system. One Simple Wish and its donors are to be commended for their generosity toward these children. It is one thing to go to a sponsored event or get a random gift from an unknown source but for a child to receive something he WISHED for is wonderful. The faces of our volunteers light up almost as brightly as the children who receive the gift.

What a great way to make a difference in the life of child. A recent recipient put it best: "I didn't think I would get something this nice!"

Our volunteers and program staff thank One Simple Wish and the wonderful people who give through this organization.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 12, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 23, 2012

I first learned of this organization by discovering it online and becoming a volunteer a few years ago. I was initially truly impressed by the uniqueness of it's purpose -- allowing anyone to make a ... more

September 12, 2013

One Simple Wish allows anyone to make a difference in the life of a foster child, by showing children who have suffered from abuse and neglect that there are people out there who care about them, and who want to help provide for them, even if they cannot become foster parents. At any time by simply browsing onesimplewish.org, one can find an affordable "wish" to grant, and by reading about the recipient, feel connected to that child. This is truly a unique nonprofit, in that donors can choose exactly what their donation is going towards. And from my personal experience with the organization, the staff at One Simple Wish are a truly dedicated team of people who are passionate advocates for foster kids -- making every penny received work hard to help these kids. Amazing organization!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Create more awareness so that everyone would understand how easy and affordable it is to make a small miracle happen for a foster child!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 23, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I first learned of this organization by discovering it online and becoming a volunteer a few years ago. I was initially truly impressed by the uniqueness of it's purpose -- allowing anyone to make a difference in the life of a child in need, and being able to view and then grant their wishes with a click or two on a website. I really loved the idea that someone choosing to make a donation could do more than just write a check; they could see to whom their donation was going, and feel more of a personal connection. Particularly as many of us care about the plight of foster children, but don't know how to help. Now, as time has gone by, I see how impactful these small wishes really are, by the thank you notes received from the caseworkers and the children themselves, and in seeing how these gifts can really give a child hope that there are people out there who care. Beyond that, I see the tremendous passion that the founder and the dedicated staff at One Simple Wish have for this cause; and their resolve to make the lives of foster children better in every way they can has enabled so much awareness and so many positive initiatives for these kids. I am truly honored to serve as part of this board; my only wish is that I had more time and more to give.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Everyone wants to know that they matter. Every child should feel special and worthy. For as little as $5 to as much as a person / organization would like to give, One Simple Wish makes it possible for the larger community to let foster children know that they are important and special. From a new box of crayons, to a personal care package, to helping a teenager gain the knowledge and experiences that will help them to find employment, One Simple Wish Makes it possible for the community to have a direct and important impact on the lives of a group of children who are often abused and ignored.


I am honored to be a board member and supporter of this wonderful organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Donate generously and encourage others to join me so that all foster children know that we care about them.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

When I came across this organization I had been looking for someplace to volunteer for a long time. Upon learning more about them I was so grateful that I had found a place making such a great impact on children. The support that this organization provides is so simple but in most cases so important to a child’s growth, development and happiness. I feel so thankful that I can be part of something so important for children in foster care and vulnerable youth.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

One Simple Wish is an amazing organization that supports children and youth in foster care. They do not age out in this program. The organization is always there as a support for these kids to know that there are people who love and support them and want them to succeed. They truly believe in their cause and are dedicated to their mission of brightening the lives of vulnerable children and families in need one simple wish at a time.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Write thank you notes to our donors, work in our Wish Shop in Ewing, NJ, promote us through social media, post wishes online, shop for wishes and ship them to recipients Volunteer