Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.583335
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

My time in Zanzibar this summer was an experience of a lifetime. Being able to teach in the local school of Ghana was the most challenging but rewarding experience I have ever had. The advances these students made in the time we were there was amazing and I have never met children so eager to learn. I will always remember my walk to school in the morning with all of my students following behind me talking to me in Swahili. While learning the language was an incredible part of the experience, we were able to communicate through hand motions and simple words even in the beginning. These people are some of the most amazing people i have ever met and I think about them everyday. My host family had such an amazing effect on me and I will never forget them. Biwema, my host mom, was one of the most empowering women I have met. Her perseverance to learn about our culture while also being so proud to show me hers was incredible to watch. My dadas and kakas were so excited to have two volunteers in their home and made me feel welcome and loved the entire time. The confidence of these people coupled with their hard work and positive energy, made such an impact on me. I have never been surrounded by such positive, grateful human beings and can't wait to return. I know this experience will stay with me forever and am so glad I decided to volunteer with One Heart Source

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

My time in Cape Town this past summer was the most challenging, yet the most beautiful experience I have ever had. Walking through the cracked streets of Imizamo Yethu, I felt a sense of community, for there was heart and beauty in every face I saw. While each day was a an absolute challenge, I looked forward to seeing the students of Moravian Primary School, because they are filled with love, vivacity, attitude, and strength. Each day, they were on their toes, hungry for knowledge and attention. They were ready to learn and perhaps even more, ready to teach, for they taught me more about life in these past four weeks than I have learned in my entire life time. They are positive, enduring, and capable of great things, and I wish to be more like them every day. During the summer I spent as a One Heart Source volunteer, I realized the power of education, but even more so, I realized the power of genuine human interaction, whether big or small. I fell in love with the idea of being the best that I can be, if not for my sake, then for the children’s sake. I have learned to be better and do better and for that reason I thank the children of Imizamo Yethu dearly. I hold my experiences with my fellow volunteer and coordinators, students of Moravian Primary School, and the sweet faces of Imizamo Yethu forever in my heart.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My daughter volunteered in Zanzibar this summer and had an incredible time. I contributed to her fundraising even though I was quite worried about her going to Africa. While at first I was nervous about her traveling so far by herself, I was quickly relieved by the thorough, professional, and helpful staff and organization. I emailed the staff multiple times with my questions. We received prompt and comprehensive responses that clearly revealed that One Heart Source was taking all the necessary safety measures.

Upon returning, my daughter has shared her amazing stories with us. She taught kids and adults in a village, and then did art club in the evening with other students. Every time she talks about her experience she lights up with happiness. I am so proud of her. She is already talking about wanting to return. I hope one day I can go back with her.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

Volunteering this summer in Capetown has made a massive impact on my life. I learned an awful lot from both the students and volunteers and it was so hard to leave both after the 4 week program! All the kids we taught were incredible and so strong despite the hardships they face each day. It is clear that One Heart Source are 100% dedicated to the welfare of the students they teach and getting them to achieve their full potential. The coordinators were mostly very open and supportive to the volunteers so it was easy to speak about any problems faced with them. I would definitely recommend volunteering in Capetown either in a school or a community project in one of the townships over there as there is such a great need for talented, hard working and willing people to help in any way possible. One Heart Source is a great way to supply this help!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Spend a bit more time on the teacher training and DRA testing before launching into the teaching and testing. Also some one to one time spent with a coordinator to discuss individual students in detail in the middle of the program. I think this would make a big difference for both the students and teachers for the better!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 26, 2013

more

August 26, 2013

I volunteered with One Heart Source in Zanzibar in summer 2013. It was the best summer of my entire life. I made lifelong friends, now have an amazing second family, and was able to engage with the passionate One Heart Source staff. The homestay family I lived with was so welcoming. I felt like I was part of the family after just a few days of being there. My homestay mother taught me to cook, took me to her farm, and I tutored the children every evening.

One of my favorite experiences was teaching a small group of students every day after school. I was able to connect with the same 3 students for the entire 4 weeks. I helped teach them English and Math. They were always so excited to learn and play together. They taught me so much about the importance of human connection, patience, and perseverance.

I could not have asked for a more positive volunteer experience. I hope to continue volunteering with One Heart Source in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered with One Heart Source for a month this summer in Cape Town. It gives me goose bumps to reflect on this experience because it truly was incredible. During the short 4 weeks, I was exposed to so much of the South African culture in Hout Bay. From teaching the kids, touring the townships, visiting the International school, and exploring the local area, just being in that environment and not only seeing its struggles but actively making a difference is such a powerful and meaningful feeling. What I taught to those kids from Imizamo Yethu will stay with them forever; I have learned that there is no greater joy than watching a student learn and progress because I was able to teach. I think that lasting impact is part of what makes this experience so special. The entire time I learned more and more about myself and how I find meaning in life, while forming relationships with a group of unique individuals who share the same passion. That alone was very humbling to have so many different perspectives collaborating towards the same goal. Every conversation was enriching and inspirational, and I learned so much from documentaries, TED talks, and discussions with my group and the managers. I couldn’t have asked to be led by a better staff, who was wholeheartedly devoted to this organizations movement and every volunteers journey throughout the experience. I am blessed to have worked with One Heart Source, and I would recommend it to anyone I know. It is such a beautiful organization because it is constantly evolving, always dedicated to education. This opportunity has empowered me way beyond my expectations, and I look forward to continuing that fire.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more

August 13, 2013

I volunteered with One Heart Source for a month in Zanzibar this summer. It was by far the most amazing, rewarding experience of my life! One Heart Source does an amazing job reaching out to the local communities and providing volunteers with a wonderful way to make connections and make a difference. One Heart Source also gives volunteers a lot of freedom to teach what they are personally passionate about, and what they think will have the most impact. Finally, the staff of One Heart Source consists of the most genuine, sincere, caring people that I have ever met. They all live One Heart Source's mission and take the time out of their extremely busy schedules to discuss world issues with volunteers such as education, the environment, and what it means to be a good person. The whole experience was mentally, emotionally, and spiritually stimulating in the best way possible and I could not recommend One Heart Source more highly.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Improve pre-trip communication. I felt a little bit in the dark before the trip, but once I got there it was outstanding!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 11, 2013

more

August 11, 2013

There is no doubt in my mind that this program changed my life. For the better. I spent a month teaching in a township Imizamo Yethu about 20 minutes outside of Cape Town and fell in love with my students, the community, and my fellow volunteers. The program does a great job at making sure all volunteers understand the system we are working in, not just understanding how to teach the ABCs. We watched many documentaries and videos to generate discussion and ideas about possible solutions for the issues we've been faced with; we took various tours of townships, clinics, etc. to help give the volunteers background knowledge as well as a contextual setting for these issues; and the directors were always open and honest with their views, just as they were genuinely interested in our ideas and questions. I felt that my voice was heard and that my actions had an impact.

It is very easy to feel that the work you do in such a situation is pointless. I struggled with a severe sense of hopelessness for the first half of the program and I went to sleep crying more nights than I can count. But after a while you realize that there's only so much any human can do and that this program is an amazing vessel that allows individuals to DO what they can do. I have returned to the US with a fire in my belly to make tangible changes in the way I interact with people on a daily basis so that I can further raise awareness of the injustices still happening in the world. I feel passionate, ready, and supported by this program and I'm ready to continue my journey with One Heart Source in my work as an educator in the States.

The directors and staff of this program all live in Africa and are invested in the program with every ounce of their beings. There is no higher administration making decisions for the volunteers and the program unless the administration has experienced it first-hand themselves. I felt so good supporting a program filled with people who aren't content to simply lay back and enjoy watching other people work; these directors work harder than anyone I've ever met.

The only con I have about this program is the lack of prior communication. It seemed quite obvious to me that the organizers and directors of the program knew very well what was expected of us and them and were great at keeping everything organized.... however, they simply didn't communicate those plans and purposes to the volunteers in a timely manner. This left the volunteers feeling frustrated because we weren't able to most effectively/efficiently utilize our down time.

This program is a very young program, so NATURALLY they don't have all the kinks worked out yet. And having this small frustration made me realize that I have a talent for organized communication and prior training... so I feel incredibly motivated and empowered to join One Heart Source specifically to add my talents and passions to a team of already talented and passionate people. No program will be perfect. Obviously. But you won't find a more genuinely invested staff in any other program, and - to me - that's worth much more frustration than I was ever given.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Prior training and better communication of expectations and responsibilities

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2013

more

August 9, 2013

Where is the COMMUNICATION?????? Have contributed money to a volunteer "My Daughter" who is planning on traveling to Zanzibar next week. When I asked her about the recent security matters and her concerns she had not heard anything from the organization.
If you expect people to contribute to
a great cause you need to be a great communicator.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

COMMUNICATION!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

No

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Unlikely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2013

more

August 8, 2013

I volunteered with One Heart Source for a month this summer, and it was one of the best month's of my life. It was interactive, empowering and extremely rewarding. I'm definitely signing up next year, and telling all of my friends at home to do the same!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers