Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.583335
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 24, 2014

more

July 24, 2014

As a student in my college's African Studies program I had been hoping to travel to Africa for some time. I had been presented with a variety of opportunities to make spending time in East Africa a reality and I found that One Heart Source stood out amongst other study abroad and volunteer opportunities. The combination of living in a homestay and teaching in a local school in Zanzibar made my time volunteering with One Heart Source beyond meaningful. The joy I felt after classes where my students were able to confidently respond in recently taught English phrases or subtract with borrowing correctly was immense. The close relationships I developed with my Zanzibari teaching partner, my mentorship students and my fellow volunteers are relationships I will cherish for the rest of my life. My time spent in Zanzibar with One Heart Source presented an honest depiction of the warmth of Swahili culture and the progress that can be made when you're willing to step outside of your comfort zone. It was exciting to see the progress my mentorship students made in being able to read over the course of the month. I learned a great deal being immersed in a culture different from my own and I was struck by the elements of humanity that do not change even when you are thousands of miles from home. The kindness, warmth and joy the community we lived in expressed without the material wealth many of us have in the US was incredible. The children of Pongwe find joy in simple things such as singing, dancing or playing on the beach. They were truly inspiring and I miss them greatly. They motivate me each day to work towards a career that will enable me to improve the healthcare of underserved populations both in the US and abroad.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

update the packing list

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 15, 2014

more

July 15, 2014

I found this program through a student of a teacher and I am certainly glad I did. One Heart Source was perfect in letting me help the community but also give me time to explore the greatness of Cape Town. I was given one of the hardest students in the program to deal with but when she was learning I felt.......... truly alive. The program has been life changing. It is not because it is a new place, I have lived all over the world, it is because the people are truly real and willing to give all for these students. I am just glad to have had my chance.


Stephen J Castro

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 13, 2014

more

July 13, 2014

The random click on a mass email from my faculty brought me to Cape Town, South Africa. I spent 4 weeks there, doing a lot of education work at a primary school in a township outside Cape Town. We were mentoring and teaching 3rd graders and 4th graders in English and Maths. Seeing my 3rd grader’s smile and my 4th graders’ eagerness to learn simply lighted up my world. The experience was AMAZING!!! I've learnt literally A LOT from the trip and my future directions became clearer.

Most importantly, people there are all welcoming, kind to everyone regardless where you came from. I was spreading love to kids there, but also receiving a lot of support and love from the One Heart Source family. I just can't wait to go back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 29, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 29, 2014

Spending a month in South Africa as a One Heart Source volunteer was by far the most eye-opening, powerful, love-filled and inspiring experience I have ever had. From the very beginning of the application process onward, the OHS staff was incredibly helpful, supportive, and approachable. OHS has a wonderful relationship with the community in Hout Bay we serve, and the primary school we worked with was so full of potential and promise. The students brought me endless joy, laughter, and hope for the future of South Africa. I would go back in a heartbeat if I could. I loved my experience so much that I joined the UCLA OHS team of ambassadors to help with the recruitment of future volunteers and to spread the word about OHS and its amazing mission and work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would only want it to grow and have more funding so that anyone who wants to have this volunteer experience can, without worrying about the financial logistics.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 2, 2014

more

March 2, 2014

I volunteered with OHS last summer and spent 4 weeks in Cape Town. It was an eye opening experience. I had always heard about apartheid in school, but I had never had the opportunity to witness the lasting effects. Apartheid tore South Africa apart. Even though it has been over for more than 20 years, the country is still very unequal.

OHS started its work in Tanzania, but expanded to South Africa in 2012. The main reason being that many African countries look to South Africa as a model for their own education systems. However, the system in South Africa is not one that should be replicated. It is broken and needs to be fixed.

The work that OHS has done in South Africa is already outstanding even though their presence has not been there for very long. The students that the organization works with have made very large improvements in both their math and english skills.

As a volunteer, I especially loved this program because not only did I spend my days working with the kids, but at night I would learn so much more when we talked about the history of education in Africa, the flawed education systems around the world, and the individual experiences each of us had growing up.

OHS has opened my eyes to the inequalities occurring around the world. It is a really great nonprofit that I look forward to working with more in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

offer more programs in Tanzania because now that I have experienced South Africa I would love to see the work OHS has done in Tanzania. However, there is only one program being offered next year and it is while I am still in school.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 24, 2013

more

November 24, 2013

oh, well, how do i start? I have being with many volunteering program before, and One Heart Source is like the best i have been to, i consider it the more professional and contributing organisation. 4 weeks in Cape Town i am not expecting to change the world or change Africa kid, which trust me NO ONE can do it, however, i personally experience and learned way more than the lovely kids. Cherish the opportunity you have , use One Heard Source- the best platform for you to demonstrate your love to Africa Children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 23, 2013

more

November 23, 2013

This summer I spent 2 weeks in Cape Town, South Africa with One Heart Source. The experience was very challenging, but this is a challenge I enjoyed. We ere not just teaching in school or donating. Our goal was to get to know a disadvantaged township in depth, and understand there real problems and come up with some ideas and create something sustainable so that the people from the township can continue what we created without us. We became friends with people from the township ,we heard their heart touching stories. I was amazed by how much I learnt in 2 weeks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

This summer I spent 4 weeks in Pongwe Pwani with One Heart Source. I have to say that I don't think I could have been more nervous to embark on this trip, but it turned out to be the most amazing experience I've ever had. Working with One Heart Source was incredible, all of the staff were very helpful with the volunteers and were extremely supportive during the program. Our group of volunteers (in my opinion) really became a family, I made friendships that will last a lifetime. This was an experience that I will never forget and has forever changed my outlook and my life overall. Thank you One Heart Source for letting me be a part of your organization!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

This summer I spent four amazing weeks in Zanzibar, Tanzania. Before setting off it has to be said that there is a lot left to the imagination in terms of what you're going to be doing and where you are going to believing but as soon as we arrived it became clear that it wasn't possible to know. The great thing about OHS is that they mould each program specifically to their location. Even though they had run the program in Zanzibar before, it was the first time in Pongwe and they took their time to make sure they knew what the community needed and how we could help. Each day we taught in school ( as in we planned the lessons and taught them, no professional teachers involved) so be prepared to be creative and energetic! We each mentored a group of kids and in the evening we stared clubs, a first for OHS! A lot of the time we were exhausted but each day we would be reminded of why it was all worth it. OHS introduced me to the most welcoming community I have ever been a part of. To have so little but be so happy and so eager to learn was incredibly refreshing. And to be able to live with a local family and have such a real experience was all down to OHS. An experience I will never forget and will cherish forever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I spent 4 beautiful weeks in Zanzibar, Tanzania this past summer and the experience I had was remarkable!

I'm sure each volunteer and each program has their own personal story to share but the mission and goals of One Heart Source are quite clear to me. Educating and inspiring
self-sustained learning and connection is what we worked towards.

In addition to formal class each morning and an evening extracurricular club/ workshop at night, I was assigned 4 little girls ages 9-12 for after school tutoring called Mentorship. The work I did with these girls were the highlight of my whole experience. They were full of joy, excitement, light and love. We laughed, played, danced and learned from one another. I taught traditional academics like Math and English but also chose to focus our time together on building and maintaining positive relationships through compliments and attention, mental clarity with breathing excercises and meditation, and lastly just having fun and being silly with one another. With their help, I, in turn learned more about generosity, vulnerability, patience, respect, affection, the Swahili language and innocence.

I couldn't be more happy with the One Heart Source organization. All the coordinators I've worked with share a similar perspective on humanity and connection. The OHS mission is very much aligned with my own ideas and feelings about awareness and education so being involved with these ideas put-to-action has been an incredible blessing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers