Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
33 Reviews
1234.545455
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
April 29, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
April 29, 2014

Spending a month in South Africa as a One Heart Source volunteer was by far the most eye-opening, powerful, love-filled and inspiring experience I have ever had. From the very beginning of the application process onward, the OHS staff was incredibly helpful, supportive, and approachable. OHS has a wonderful relationship with the community in Hout Bay we serve, and the primary school we worked with was so full of potential and promise. The students brought me endless joy, laughter, and hope for the future of South Africa. I would go back in a heartbeat if I could. I loved my experience so much that I joined the UCLA OHS team of ambassadors to help with the recruitment of future volunteers and to spread the word about OHS and its amazing mission and work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would only want it to grow and have more funding so that anyone who wants to have this volunteer experience can, without worrying about the financial logistics.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 2, 2014

more

March 2, 2014

I volunteered with OHS last summer and spent 4 weeks in Cape Town. It was an eye opening experience. I had always heard about apartheid in school, but I had never had the opportunity to witness the lasting effects. Apartheid tore South Africa apart. Even though it has been over for more than 20 years, the country is still very unequal.

OHS started its work in Tanzania, but expanded to South Africa in 2012. The main reason being that many African countries look to South Africa as a model for their own education systems. However, the system in South Africa is not one that should be replicated. It is broken and needs to be fixed.

The work that OHS has done in South Africa is already outstanding even though their presence has not been there for very long. The students that the organization works with have made very large improvements in both their math and english skills.

As a volunteer, I especially loved this program because not only did I spend my days working with the kids, but at night I would learn so much more when we talked about the history of education in Africa, the flawed education systems around the world, and the individual experiences each of us had growing up.

OHS has opened my eyes to the inequalities occurring around the world. It is a really great nonprofit that I look forward to working with more in the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

offer more programs in Tanzania because now that I have experienced South Africa I would love to see the work OHS has done in Tanzania. However, there is only one program being offered next year and it is while I am still in school.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 24, 2013

more

November 24, 2013

oh, well, how do i start? I have being with many volunteering program before, and One Heart Source is like the best i have been to, i consider it the more professional and contributing organisation. 4 weeks in Cape Town i am not expecting to change the world or change Africa kid, which trust me NO ONE can do it, however, i personally experience and learned way more than the lovely kids. Cherish the opportunity you have , use One Heard Source- the best platform for you to demonstrate your love to Africa Children.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 23, 2013

more

November 23, 2013

This summer I spent 2 weeks in Cape Town, South Africa with One Heart Source. The experience was very challenging, but this is a challenge I enjoyed. We ere not just teaching in school or donating. Our goal was to get to know a disadvantaged township in depth, and understand there real problems and come up with some ideas and create something sustainable so that the people from the township can continue what we created without us. We became friends with people from the township ,we heard their heart touching stories. I was amazed by how much I learnt in 2 weeks.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

This summer I spent 4 weeks in Pongwe Pwani with One Heart Source. I have to say that I don't think I could have been more nervous to embark on this trip, but it turned out to be the most amazing experience I've ever had. Working with One Heart Source was incredible, all of the staff were very helpful with the volunteers and were extremely supportive during the program. Our group of volunteers (in my opinion) really became a family, I made friendships that will last a lifetime. This was an experience that I will never forget and has forever changed my outlook and my life overall. Thank you One Heart Source for letting me be a part of your organization!!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

This summer I spent four amazing weeks in Zanzibar, Tanzania. Before setting off it has to be said that there is a lot left to the imagination in terms of what you're going to be doing and where you are going to believing but as soon as we arrived it became clear that it wasn't possible to know. The great thing about OHS is that they mould each program specifically to their location. Even though they had run the program in Zanzibar before, it was the first time in Pongwe and they took their time to make sure they knew what the community needed and how we could help. Each day we taught in school ( as in we planned the lessons and taught them, no professional teachers involved) so be prepared to be creative and energetic! We each mentored a group of kids and in the evening we stared clubs, a first for OHS! A lot of the time we were exhausted but each day we would be reminded of why it was all worth it. OHS introduced me to the most welcoming community I have ever been a part of. To have so little but be so happy and so eager to learn was incredibly refreshing. And to be able to live with a local family and have such a real experience was all down to OHS. An experience I will never forget and will cherish forever.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 11, 2013

more

October 11, 2013

I spent 4 beautiful weeks in Zanzibar, Tanzania this past summer and the experience I had was remarkable!

I'm sure each volunteer and each program has their own personal story to share but the mission and goals of One Heart Source are quite clear to me. Educating and inspiring
self-sustained learning and connection is what we worked towards.

In addition to formal class each morning and an evening extracurricular club/ workshop at night, I was assigned 4 little girls ages 9-12 for after school tutoring called Mentorship. The work I did with these girls were the highlight of my whole experience. They were full of joy, excitement, light and love. We laughed, played, danced and learned from one another. I taught traditional academics like Math and English but also chose to focus our time together on building and maintaining positive relationships through compliments and attention, mental clarity with breathing excercises and meditation, and lastly just having fun and being silly with one another. With their help, I, in turn learned more about generosity, vulnerability, patience, respect, affection, the Swahili language and innocence.

I couldn't be more happy with the One Heart Source organization. All the coordinators I've worked with share a similar perspective on humanity and connection. The OHS mission is very much aligned with my own ideas and feelings about awareness and education so being involved with these ideas put-to-action has been an incredible blessing.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

My time in Zanzibar this summer was an experience of a lifetime. Being able to teach in the local school of Ghana was the most challenging but rewarding experience I have ever had. The advances these students made in the time we were there was amazing and I have never met children so eager to learn. I will always remember my walk to school in the morning with all of my students following behind me talking to me in Swahili. While learning the language was an incredible part of the experience, we were able to communicate through hand motions and simple words even in the beginning. These people are some of the most amazing people i have ever met and I think about them everyday. My host family had such an amazing effect on me and I will never forget them. Biwema, my host mom, was one of the most empowering women I have met. Her perseverance to learn about our culture while also being so proud to show me hers was incredible to watch. My dadas and kakas were so excited to have two volunteers in their home and made me feel welcome and loved the entire time. The confidence of these people coupled with their hard work and positive energy, made such an impact on me. I have never been surrounded by such positive, grateful human beings and can't wait to return. I know this experience will stay with me forever and am so glad I decided to volunteer with One Heart Source

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

My time in Cape Town this past summer was the most challenging, yet the most beautiful experience I have ever had. Walking through the cracked streets of Imizamo Yethu, I felt a sense of community, for there was heart and beauty in every face I saw. While each day was a an absolute challenge, I looked forward to seeing the students of Moravian Primary School, because they are filled with love, vivacity, attitude, and strength. Each day, they were on their toes, hungry for knowledge and attention. They were ready to learn and perhaps even more, ready to teach, for they taught me more about life in these past four weeks than I have learned in my entire life time. They are positive, enduring, and capable of great things, and I wish to be more like them every day. During the summer I spent as a One Heart Source volunteer, I realized the power of education, but even more so, I realized the power of genuine human interaction, whether big or small. I fell in love with the idea of being the best that I can be, if not for my sake, then for the children’s sake. I have learned to be better and do better and for that reason I thank the children of Imizamo Yethu dearly. I hold my experiences with my fellow volunteer and coordinators, students of Moravian Primary School, and the sweet faces of Imizamo Yethu forever in my heart.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

My daughter volunteered in Zanzibar this summer and had an incredible time. I contributed to her fundraising even though I was quite worried about her going to Africa. While at first I was nervous about her traveling so far by herself, I was quickly relieved by the thorough, professional, and helpful staff and organization. I emailed the staff multiple times with my questions. We received prompt and comprehensive responses that clearly revealed that One Heart Source was taking all the necessary safety measures.

Upon returning, my daughter has shared her amazing stories with us. She taught kids and adults in a village, and then did art club in the evening with other students. Every time she talks about her experience she lights up with happiness. I am so proud of her. She is already talking about wanting to return. I hope one day I can go back with her.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers