Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
66 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 4...6 |
Write A Review
March 7, 2014

more

March 7, 2014

When I learned of Mike Gifford and the goals, methods, and work of Onbehalf.org I could not wait to compose this review of this unique and incredibly effective group. As the founder and President of my own veterans service non-profit, I understand acutely how the approach employed by Onbehalf.org - providing direct and immediate financial and material assistance - is precisely what the veterans community needs so badly. Too much of veterans assistance consists of a waiting game that expends time that a veteran simply does not have to spare. They are in immediate need, and immediate help is often the only thing that will save a veteran from a crisis from which he or she may not recover. Because I know both the crisis among veterans and the nature of veterans service structures in our nation, I can eagerly and proudly endorse Mike and the incredible efforts of Onbehlaf.org. Any individual interested in helping a veteran should donate to this organization - your money will go directly to helping a veteran in desperate need. Margaret "Peggy" Matthews President, Veterans Advocacy Services, Inc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 16, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I am a veteran with a service-connected spinal cord injury who was pending to be discharged from the U.S. Army National Guard. Because of my Physical Evaluation Board, whether to be placed on orders, this kept me from seeking permanent employment. Also, it kept me from attending annual training 2013 so I had fallen behind on my monthly obligations. Director Mike Gifford not only has helped a soldier who was running out of options, but a soldier who situation was out of his control. I am very thankful to the Onbehalf organization and will support what they do because every veteran requires assistance in that outgoing process from military to civilian life! Alejandro Granado U.S. Army National Guard San Diego, California

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Seek volunteers to help process request much faster if needed and provide vouchers for them and their families.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

December 19, 2013

more

December 19, 2013

I met Mike one beautiful Fall day trapshooting south of Boston. We struck up a conversation and I immediately sensed he was a special guy. He is kind, easy and fun to talk to, interesting and interested. Oh, and let me add....charming. I asked him about the shirt he was wearing and he told me about Onbehalf.org. SOLD!! I'd been looking for a way to get involved in a charity that helps our brave troops. I am so looking forward to organizing a fundraiser in my area. I also hope to find other ways to be involved. All donations I make in the future I will do with much pleasure and gratitude for the guys who make the most they can with every single dollar. The world needs many more people as patriotic, competent and sweet as Mike.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My fiance (now husband), Jessie, was injured in Afghanistan in Oct. 2011. We reached out to Onbehalf.org to see if they could be of assistance in getting his grandmother and 3 siblings to NC from upstate NY so they would be able to attend our wedding that took place in Nov. 2013. They provided a grant for their hotel stay for the weekend of the wedding, which was a huge help. We dealt directly with Mike, who is super nice and a great guy. Looking forward to working with them again. :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 12, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am an O.I.F. Combat Veteran and I reached out to onbehalf to get financial assistance through my rough time. I have nothing but outstanding and excellent things to say about onbehalf. They helped me out in such short notice and I am truly thankful for what they did.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Where to begin? I've known Mike since we were freshmen in college. Even then he always was committed and involved in the community. Even at our apathetic college, he always genuinely cared about the well being of others and the world at large. His service to his country and continued service to his fellow veterans of this country is consistent with the Mike I knew even as a college kid. I was so impressed [but not surprised in the least] when I found out about OnBehalf.

Fast forward to today. I have been a Marine wife for nearly ten years. I have seen a lot of struggling from families in our Marine Corps community with these wars. Some of the families I know have been through eight, nine, or even ten deployments. We've lost friends to combat. We've had friends injured in combat. We have many friends who have not come back emotionally whole.

One of these emotionally ruined friends was the husband of one of the very first Marine wives to welcome me into the community. This woman gave selflessly to hold me up when my husband was attached to another regiment and deployed with two weeks notice. She has done this for countless others.

A few weeks ago, after retiring honorably this spring with 20 years of service and four tours of duty in Iraq, her husband took his own life in their garage. He left her alone with their three children without insurance or spousal benefits. She didn't even have the money to cover his cremation. In a panic, fellow Marine wives and I began contacting organizations and trying to spread the word to raise money. On a whim of desperation, I contacted Michael at OnBehalf.

Within days, they had a check out to my friend and had contacted local civic organizations to help. My heart is so full and I'm choked up just recounting this story. I had donated to this organization in the past, but usually donated to the Semper Fi Fund. Because of the quick and personalized response to a military family in need, I will now be donating to OnBehalf instead.

Thank you so much.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 21, 2012

I worked as an Iraqi Interpreter with the United States Army in Iraq. And I am familiar with OnBehalf.org work. Keep up the good work guys. more

September 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Mike saved my life in Iraq, and when I say saved my life, I mean he literally did! I believe that there is no better person to take action in such a great cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 21, 2012

I worked as an Iraqi Interpreter with the United States Army in Iraq. And I am familiar with OnBehalf.org work. Keep up the good work guys.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Giff has and continues to serve this great nation. His charity OnBehalf supports our fellow troops and their families when they need us most.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Mike and the team organized a group to run the New Hampshire Tough Mudder in June 2013. Had the best day out and raised a bunch of money. The effort and commitment they put in is second to none. I'll be supporting them again in 2014 with other fundraising efforts!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I met Mike when he lived in Chicago and was thinking to start this organization - in 2005!
The message of this organization is very powerful only because it comes from people who have lived experiences that many of us may never understand!

Mike was very passionate about creating an
organization that can help and support veterans - these veterans are heros who have the courage to fight for their country and also for their families at home!

i can't believe that many of them are forgotten once they return - and moreover, many of them are not shown the love and respect they deserve for the rest of their lives!

These men and women deserve our support and OnBehalf.org is providing the opportunity for us to give them this support!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2005

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help locate eligible injured vets in their area, seek out companies that might want to give an item/service, and even organize a simple fundraiser. Volunteer