Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
21 Reviews
1234.952385
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
March 25, 2014

more

March 25, 2014

I had the pleasure of working for On-the-Move before I had to say goodbye to return to school. My time spent working for this wonderful organization was, to say the least, inspiring, and will not soon be forgotten. The staff, participants, and families involved are all unforgettable people who share a common goal of a world where diversity is celebrated and embraced by all.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2013

more

October 22, 2013

On the Move is simply an incredible organization. The staff and volunteers strive to enrich the lives of participants through community immersion activities; while also increasing community awareness around issues that impact people diagnosed with developmental disabilities. As a volunteer I am inspired consistently by On the Move. In a society that often responds with judgement and cruelty to those that are impacted by a developmental disability diagnosis, On the Move serves as a safe haven that not only acknowledges the value of each participant, but also fights for their right to be respected and treated with dignity in all areas of their lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

It has been an absolute pleasure working with On-The-Move and seeing the program grow and thrive. They have gone out of their way to provide us with updates on their programs and acknowledge our contribution to the project.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 1, 2013

more

August 1, 2013

My experience with On-the-Move has been the most rewarding experience of my life. It is like a family to me. I consider On-the-Move a "home" for participants and myself, it is an environment that welcomes and embraces different cultures, humor, talents, interests, and abilities. I cannot speak more highly about the staff and volunteers at On-the-Move; they are compassionate, competent, supportive and extremely fun.

On-the-Move is an incredible program where adults with developmental disabilities have the space and support to participate in activities that enhance their lives and the community. The Director of On-the-Move, Molly Mayo, envisioned a program that went beyond typical services offered to adults with developmental disabilities. On-the-Move was an innovative idea and social movement agency that has set the standard for many other day programs that have followed suit. On-the-Move is a place where adults can go and spend time socializing, navigate the community and enjoy community activities while educating all parties involved.

Molly hired me as one of her first employees over six years ago, I then served on the board of directors, and now am an advisor to the organization. I feel privileged to continue working with On-the-Move.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 28, 2013

more

May 28, 2013

I have lived in Portland over 10 years and I've never found an organization quite like On-the-Move Community Integration. It is a relief to finally find a place that has an outlook about integration of people with disabilities of any kind as a important part of our community with gifts to give and receive by taking part of everyday activities everywhere - no limitations. I grew up in Maine in a family with a brother with developmental disabilities who gave equally to my world as much or more than he received from it. I worked for years in agencies that provided housing and activity programs for folks like my brother. I was fortunate to work under directors with very progressive and inclusive visions. Then I moved to Portland, Oregon and I worked in the bike industry and I found myself surrounded by a strange cross-section of community that didn't feel complete for me though I loved the bike world. It didn't feel real to me. It didn't feel complete.

My world is not complete when I don't see people with disabilities daily - it starts to feel segregated and odd. When I finally connected with On-the-Move Community Integration to volunteer as a reading tutor, I was so relieved to finally get a sense of the community around me being a real and complete community. I notice this acutely because this is something I was aware of from my birth; however, I think about people who don't realize what is missing in their world. When we don't see people with Down's Syndrome, with mental retardation, with whatever disability, we don't realize that it makes our own world smaller and along with that, the possibilities less. I love to know that I might come across someone I know from On-the-Move volunteering anywhere - planting trees, making waffles, packing food boxes at the Food Bank. Or I might come across a group of folks on a hike, at the zoo, at a concert, or at a sporting event.
On-the-Move is aptly named as the idea is that integration is fluid and entails integrating - being a part of what is going on all around us. I know that I get ideas for activities that would be fun to do by seeing what On-the-Move is up to in Facebook photos, I think I may very well not be unique in that. On-the-Move is a trendsetting, forward-thinking organization and it's fortunate for Portland that we have this organization in our midst. I am grateful and appreciate being involved in this organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

On the Move is the best program my daughter has been involved in as an adult. No sitting around with On The Move.Participants are always going and doing out in the community. She loves it and so do I. I volunteered in the reading class and will again.It was great fun. The staff has also allowed me to use my limited sewing skills to assist the participants with projects a few times .Every person there is terrific. I don't know what we would do without On The Move.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

I started with On-the-Move a long time ago. I think that On-the-Move helped me a lot for the reading class. It taught us how to make friends. I have a lot of memories with On-the-Move. The staff are great. We come together as a family. I feel safe in the community because of On-the-Move. We had a great year!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think it is important to keep On-the-Move open. I don't want the budget cuts to hurt us.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

This is my first experience with On The Move. I love how they are working on integrating adults with disabilities into the community. They are doing a wonderful job with limited resources. The clients and volunteers I have met have all been wonderful. The leadership of the organization seems to have a great rapport with the clients and has their best interests at heart. I look forward to working with this growing organization in the future.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

I have volunteered as a reading tutor at On-The-Move's free reading class for adults with developmental disabilities for two sessions, and I have a lot of respect and appreciation for the work that this non-profit does. Literacy is extremely valuable, and my experience as a tutor has given me a first hand example of how improved literacy can give individuals more confidence and independence, as well as improve self esteem. I hope that On-The-Move can continue the work they do for Portland's diverse community.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

This was my first time volunteering as a reading tutor at On the Move, and I must say the experience was an unforegettable one. It was not only a learning experience for the students in the class, but me as well. I got to know many of the students and volunteers even outside the one on one reading group I was in and the enviornment of this community is so warm and welcoming! I would reccomend this experience to students and volunteers alike!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the reading groups more often!:)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

assist in a special event such as a dance workshop; offer guidance about our community garden plot; tutor a student in our free reading class; be a guest instructor leading a small group activity; help in the office. Volunteer