Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

On Point for College is an organization which literally started out of the trunk of the director's car as she helped her daughter and then her daughter's friends, and then friends of friends to navigate all the problems of getting into and then succeeding in college. I have spent many hours for a number of years now driving students to colleges throughout New York for On Point. I have been to New York City, Albany, Plattsburg, Potsdam, Rochester, Buffalo, Jamestown, Oneonta, and many other places, and each trip has been a joy. I highly recommend this organization as a place to volunteer especially is you enjoy driving and I also recommend it as a place to give supplies for college students. On Point helps students prepare for college, get into college, obtain the clothing and bedding they'll need at college, travel back and forth to school, and even to obtain a good job after graduating. This is an organization which cares for each person it helps by visiting them at school to be sure things are going well and by having 'angels' at many of the schools throughout New York who can address a students needs on the spot when an emergency occurs.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

On Point for College is one of the most caring and effective college access programs in the country! The founder and CEO, Ginny Donohue, has the gift and skills to find the right people to work with the students. The staff are a professional, knowledgeable, loving group that works tirelessly to encourage high school students to consider college, helps them with their applications, finds financial support, provides school and dorm essentials, visits, mentors and counsels them along the way, and helps them find summer jobs and jobs after graduation. Moreover, On Point helps these young people increase undertanding of the incredibly precious people they are! I have had the privilege of being an enthusiastic volunteer driver and donor for nearly three years and have met over 75 On Point students. I see them developing a strong sense of personal responsibility (instead of dependency), an attitude of gratitude (instead of entitlement), and a heart to give back by working with younger students! On Point serves the students, the community and the country! It has been an indescribable privilege, joy and blessing to get to know and serve these students! Paul

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

This organization shines in our community of Syracuse, N.Y.The vision seems to include doing anything necessary, to assist these young people to realize their potential. Whether the need is high school outreach,college visits,application process,tutoring, summer jobs placement or transportation- On Point encompasses the whole picture. Staff have a can-do attitude, and they will do whatever it takes to assist youth in the program. I feel honored to volunteer to drive these young people back and forth from local colleges. Just think- many of these youth are the first in their families to attend college. They are our future, and their willingness to strive to reach their full potential- is something that I admire personally, and benefits our entire community

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

I've had the good fortune of being involved with this community changing organization for almost 12 years. Ginny Donohue the founder and current CEO has built a non profit operation that has changed the lives of over 1200 inner city children. I have personally mentored, driven, and assisted many young people so that they could go to college and achieve their dreams. The number of involved children grows every year. Grants and recognition have come from all over the country. This is one outstanding outfit! Marty L.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

It has been so inspiring to see this organization grow to reach and impact so many youth since its inception. Ginny Donohue's passion and vision have fueled this growth, and now this organization is being viewed as a model in other other parts of the country. Ginny has the ability to attract professionals to OPFC who are talented and who share her passion for the mission. Sam Rowser and the rest of the team are dedicated and hard-working. I have observed their caring and sacrifice to serve their students and prospects, frequently going above and beyond. As a donor and volunteer, I am proud to support the work of this amazing organization, and invite you to do the same. Leslie Rose McDonald

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

On Point for college has assisted hundreds of students in Central New York to fulfill the dream of attending, and more importantly, graduating from college. Their unique program structure not only assists students in getting into college, but getting to a college campus and then providing consistent support while the student is there. 98% of OnPoint students carry several characteristics that in many cases would cause them to either not even attempt college, but many times unable to complete. Ginny Donahue's relentless pursuit of justice and fair treatment and attention to artificial barriers that higher educational institutions unintentionally place on students is what makes this non-profit shine. I am proud to be associated and support the tremendous work of her dedicated staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I have been involved with On Point for College for more than 8 years. I was also a member of their board for 6 years. OPFC never turns students away when they are in need. Their focus is the 18-25 yr old student but I have tutored a student who was even in her 30's. I am of the belief that education is the path out of these student's environment. Also education is the path to a better America, a better community, and a better world. On Point for College gives hope to those students/adults who never saw hope or a light at the end of their tunnel. The staff at On Point of College is amazing by being supportive throughout these students' college life. I could go on and on about this organization but I do not have time. It has been my pleasure to be a mentor, tutor, board member and transportation driver for these deserving students. I have learned so much from them. Thank you On Point.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I have been a volunteer for On Point for College for a number of years. I drive inner city students to and from their colleges as many have no means of transportation. I have met some of the neatest young people you would ever want to know in the course of my work. One young man was so excited about arriving at college that he couldn't stop dancing a jig. No one in his family had even been able to go to college before. Some students who arrived in Syracuse under refugee status have told me their stories of a journey with no hope to one of great opportunity. On Point for College is an organization that makes a great positive difference in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

Ginny or someone in her group goes to every graduation, sometimes 3 or 4 on a weekend. They travel all over the state to cheer on the graduates, sometimes when no family members are there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

It takes a village to raise a child...... This city helps to raise educated and productive adults by tutoring and providing supplies and rides to their schools. I am a volunteer who provides rides to our shining stars and help them realize their dreams.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers