Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
October 30, 2012

more

October 30, 2012

On Point for college has assisted hundreds of students in Central New York to fulfill the dream of attending, and more importantly, graduating from college. Their unique program structure not only assists students in getting into college, but getting to a college campus and then providing consistent support while the student is there. 98% of OnPoint students carry several characteristics that in many cases would cause them to either not even attempt college, but many times unable to complete. Ginny Donahue's relentless pursuit of justice and fair treatment and attention to artificial barriers that higher educational institutions unintentionally place on students is what makes this non-profit shine. I am proud to be associated and support the tremendous work of her dedicated staff.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

As a professional educator I am in a position to recognize On Point for College as one of the most successful community-based college access programs in the nation. Ginny, Sam and their staff encourage and enable high school students--frequently with tremendous financial and social need-- an opportunity to pursue postsecondary education. They provide students critical information, support, and unending encouragement through what is often a daunting process for students and their families-- particularly for first-generation prospective college students or refugees. They equip students with all the tools they need to stay in school once they are enrolled including "last dollar" awards for books, supplies, food, and rent. On Point for College truly exhausts every option available to find, enroll, retain, and graduate students from college. I am proud to serve this organization because through their work they serve our community so well.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I have been involved with On Point for College for more than 8 years. I was also a member of their board for 6 years. OPFC never turns students away when they are in need. Their focus is the 18-25 yr old student but I have tutored a student who was even in her 30's. I am of the belief that education is the path out of these student's environment. Also education is the path to a better America, a better community, and a better world. On Point for College gives hope to those students/adults who never saw hope or a light at the end of their tunnel. The staff at On Point of College is amazing by being supportive throughout these students' college life. I could go on and on about this organization but I do not have time. It has been my pleasure to be a mentor, tutor, board member and transportation driver for these deserving students. I have learned so much from them. Thank you On Point.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I have been a volunteer for On Point for College for a number of years. I drive inner city students to and from their colleges as many have no means of transportation. I have met some of the neatest young people you would ever want to know in the course of my work. One young man was so excited about arriving at college that he couldn't stop dancing a jig. No one in his family had even been able to go to college before. Some students who arrived in Syracuse under refugee status have told me their stories of a journey with no hope to one of great opportunity. On Point for College is an organization that makes a great positive difference in the world.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

Ginny or someone in her group goes to every graduation, sometimes 3 or 4 on a weekend. They travel all over the state to cheer on the graduates, sometimes when no family members are there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

It takes a village to raise a child...... This city helps to raise educated and productive adults by tutoring and providing supplies and rides to their schools. I am a volunteer who provides rides to our shining stars and help them realize their dreams.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

On Point for College has helped me in many different ways. It is a place that I can go whenever I'm in need or have questions about anything. Coming from such a small urban area, I didn't think that it was possible for me to attend a university but this organization allowed me to know that I could. Through On point for College I was able to obtain financial aid and was supported through every decision that I made. I am a first hand witness of the amazing things that this organization is capable of and I know that they will continue with their success.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

On Point for College, Inc. has helped me to overcome many personal obstacles on my path to becoming a professional woman. As a recent grad from SUNY Plattsburgh and alumni of the program, I feel I owe the staff and advisers much gratitude for encouraging me to utilize the interpersonal skills I have to advance personally and into career-oriented growth. The members of this organization have supported me by providing funding, transportation, housing, mentoring, and whatever else I have needed in order to become a more well-rounded student with a diverse background. The motivation they have instilled in me has captivated my interest in public relations. This organization as a whole works very efficiently and I believe that On Point for College, Inc. plays an integral role into shaping young people into the leaders they are destined to be.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I am a volunteer driver for On Point for College students. I have delivered first generation students to college for the first time, seeing them arrive on campus with fear...and hope. I have picked those same students up for winter break and heard their stories of accomplishment and pride. I have seen their parents' gratitude for helping their child realize their dreams of a college education. So many students from inner city homes just need a little support and encouragement, and that's what On Point for College does for them. This is an outstanding organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I have witnessed On Point for College change the lives of thousands of students from Syracuse inner city. To date, On Point has helped 3,600 young people go to 216 colleges and universities, including homeless youths and refugees. Despite tremendous challenges in their lives, On Point for College students earn degrees at higher rates than the national average for college students. In addition to college visits, help with financial aid, and school supplies, more than 100 On Point volunteers provide transportation to and from college for anyone who needs it. This program removes barriers to higher education and changes lives like no other.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers