Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.978265
Write A Review
May 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 20, 2012

I started fostering for OBG after my beloved geriatric mutt passed away. I fostered several special needs and geriatric dogs, dogs that most organizations would turn away. Two of them turned out to ... more

May 31, 2014

I moved away from the D.C. area in 2008 and I still miss OBG and its wonderful volunteers. They are tireless fundraisers and very creative about coming up with fun adoption and fundraising events. They use some of the money to board new dogs before a foster home opens up, which means they can just say "yes" to a needy dog and get vet care for it even if there isn't a foster spot. The need is so huge they do have to say "no" if there are not enough boarding spaces though, so I really encourage people to make cash donations to this group. This group is willing to take in older or sick dogs, and I had the honor of helping nurse some of these dogs back to health. Many other groups will just let a dog with treatable conditions be put down in the pound. Many cockers have ear or ear problems and OBG has a lot of experience with these things. OBG works with vets who give them a discount, but some dogs arrive very very sick. The money is well used and they don't charge a higher adoption fee for a dog that incurred high vet bills.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wave my magic wand and make more foster homes appear

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 20, 2012

I started fostering for OBG after my beloved geriatric mutt passed away. I fostered several special needs and geriatric dogs, dogs that most organizations would turn away. Two of them turned out to have owners who were desperately looking for them - one had been found 30 miles from home and the second was a Katrina dog (OBG took in 9 from Katrina, not all cockers) whose owner was thought to be deceased. If not for OBG these dogs couldn't have been reunited with their owners. The volunteers are fun, friendly people who are tireless in raising funds for vet bills and getting dogs adopted. Cockers are high maintenance dogs that arrive at shelters in terrible shape. OBG transforms these dogs and you'd never know the dog has seen a bad day. My only "foster failure" was a mess when she arrived and within months people were asking me if she was a show dog. I'm now a firm believer in foster-based breed rescue.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

I give regularly to OBG. I volunteer for them occasionally as well. They are a terrific organization. They stay focused on their mission, they act from the heart, and they have no overhead. All their costs go to getting dogs well and getting dogs in home. If I won the lottery tomorrow, I would give them half. Great organization on every level.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 5, 2013

OBG helps cockers and often other non cockers of all ages. They are an all volunteer group and are tops in my book. more

May 30, 2014

This is a wonderful all volunteer rescue that helps "honorary" cockers too.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

OBG helps cockers and often other non cockers of all ages. They are an all volunteer group and are tops in my book.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get them more money.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

Oldies But Goodies Cockef Spaniel Rescue has a phenomenol
group of people who have done so much over the years to find
loving homes for these dogs. I have know them and supported
when I can for years now. They deserve so much for their loving
dedication.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make none, they are the best.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 30, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 5, 2013

I have, over the years, adopted six cockers from OGB. Each time the volunteers have been honest about the dogs and extremely helpful in getting them settled with me. It is a wonderful organization. more

May 30, 2014

Over the past years, I have adopted six cockers from OBG The volunteers have been wonderful about ensuring that I understand the specific needs of the dogs and been available for questions after the adoptions took place

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

I have, over the years, adopted six cockers from OGB. Each time the volunteers have been honest about the dogs and extremely helpful in getting them settled with me. It is a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 8, 2013

I have had the privilege of adopting three pairs of cocker spaniels from OBG over the last 15 years and have found the volunteers to be just terrific at honestly explaining the quirks of the dogs I have adopted, giving advice on how to help them adjust to new homes and keeping in touch after the adoptions occurred. I never worry about whether my donations to OBG are being used appropriately. It is a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

Time and time again I am amazed by the amazing things OBG does. This organization and its volunteers make miracles happen. So many wonderful dogs are given second chances and get the care they need because of OBG. I am always happy to give when I can to support OBG's efforts, and have also enjoyed OBG events and fundraisers with my own cockers. I tell everyone I know about this great group!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Hold a dog at an adoption show, transport a dog to their new home, write a grant application, or perform data entry. Volunteer