Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.978265
Write A Review
January 22, 2013

more

January 22, 2013

I adopted my first OBG dogs back in 1998, two fabulous dogs who lived out their lives in a home instead of never making it out of a kill shelter. I was told that a kill shelter called to say they had a cocker mix and when the OBG representative showed up, there was this pup that obviously had no cocker blood at all in her. She got taken in anyway and she was definitely a once in a lifetime dog. It is sad to think that she almost didn't make it, because she was a mixed breed puppy. Another of my dogs had gone thru the shelter twice in two years, the first time as a 6 month old puppy. Usually dogs are put down when they are returned to a shelter. His only fault, he was killing the ducks on the family farm, maybe because he was being kept in the barn instead of the house at night. I still have him and he also is a wonderful well behaved and well socialized dog, and he has yet to find any ducks at my house. That is one thing I love about OBG, while we are focused on cockers and cocker mixes, we do not automatically exclude other mixes and breeds of dogs that just happen to need us greatly. I also love that cockers of all ages have a place to go. I started fostering cockers in 2000 and have never stopped, it is just so rewarding to help these dogs on their way to their forever homes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 18, 2013

more

January 18, 2013

I have only been volunteering for OBG for 2 years, but I continue to be amazed by this organization's accomplishments, and especially, by the dedication of the volunteers, who give so much of themselves and their time - who work tirelessly to fundraise, provide foster homes, take our dogs to adoption shows (and so much "behind-the-scenes" work) - with the end result of finding our dogs the perfect forever homes!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 20, 2012

more

November 20, 2012

I've had an 8 year love affair with OBG -- seriously! We lost our first cocker, Ginger, in 2004 and even though we'd always said we wouldn't have another pet because we wanted the freedom to travel after retirement, the hurt wouldn't go away. Several months later when we saw an ad for an OBG adoption show in Springfield VA, off we went from Columbia, MD. It was there we found 4 yr old Missy. She had the most horrible cherry eyes, but my husband saw her and said "look at that gorgeous red-head!" Honestly, I hate to admit that I didn't think she was that gorgeous at that point, but she was a sweet girl and we made her a part of our family. OBG paid to have her cherry eyes fixed . . . for what turned out unbeknownst to us to be the 2nd time it had to be done. From that day on, I "lurked" on the OBG website every single day reading about all the dogs needing homes and crying at their stories. About 8 months later we started volunteering and haven't stopped since then. We had 2 foster failures -- our current cockers, 10 year old Pepper and 14 year old Danny. Sadly we lost Missy 3 years ago but every day we work with OBG we remember Missy and want to see all the homeless pups in OBG's care find their own forever homes. This is an incredible organization -- 100% volunteer that rescues and adopts out around 300 dogs EVERY year. I'm so blessed to be involved with OBG and to have made so many friends with a love of cockers and a common desire to give them a second chance at a good life! At any given time we have 80-100 dogs in our care, which is an extremely expensive undertaking so we are always running fundraisers for their vet bills. That is a big effort and we have the very best volunteers, supporters and adopters around who are always willing to help in any way they can. Once you're a part of the OBG family in any capacity, the joy in your life is multiplied tenfold!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012

more

November 16, 2012

10.5 years ago my family adopted our first dog from OBG, we wanted to add an second dog, I saw OBG on the news and emailed OBG about the dog on TV. Our home is different then most, I run a family childcare business, and had young children of my own at the time. We had to adopt a dog that was perfect with children. OBG found our wonderful dog Duffy, who is now over 11 years old and is perfect. We went on to adopt 2 other dogs, Mitzie was a "foster failure", my daughter also adopted 2 dogs from OBG. OBG has wonderful volunteers, I have met many great people who I have become friends with. I have learned so much about dogs, care of the dogs, training of dogs. I have fostered many dog through OBG, I enjoy taking a dog into my home, and working with OBG to find the perfect home for the foster and the joy seeing him/her going to his/her forever home.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

Twelve years ago my Cocker Spaniel Fred passed leaving my older spaniel lonely. Since I was aware of other breed specific rescues I search the internet and quickly found OBG Cocker Spaniel Rescue. I emailed the organization that I was looking for a middle aged (5-6 year old) spaniel to keep my senior spaniel company. OBG recommended little Leiba to us and we could not have been happier! About one year after adopting, I started fostering for OBG and now volunteer on the Board as well. Fostering dogs in need and placing them in good homes has been a win win not only for the adopted dog but for the happy adopters welcoming a new family pet member. People always wonder how I can give up my fosters and I always say, "I can save more dogs if I don't keep them". I've also been blessed to see how dogs help humans. Not long ago I visited one of my former fosters (Mimi) and her new owner looked wonderful. Since she now has a dog to walk and take care of she had shed some pounds and has a happy glow to her face. When I commented on how good she looked, she said, "It all due to Mimi - I've meant my neighbors and we go out for long walks". So I believe OBG is not only helping the rescue dogs but the new owners too :)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 1, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As the President of OBG (yes, I'm obviously a little biased!), I have an inside look at the selfless volunteers, loving adopters, generous donors and innocent dogs that make up this incredible organization -- and I am often in awe of them! The fact that so many wonderful things are made possible by this all-volunteer organization continues to make me proud and want to work even harder to keep saving dogs' lives. On a personal note, my life wouldn't be the same without my wonderful fur kids, Dasher and Millie, and I have OBG to thank for that!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Hold a dog at an adoption show, transport a dog to their new home, write a grant application, or perform data entry. Volunteer