Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.978265
Write A Review
June 5, 2014

more

June 5, 2014

My husband and I adopted our 2 Cockers from OBG and were so impressed with the organization that we began volunteering and helping out with fund raising for the pups. We've now fostered 4 lucky Cockers who are now placed in wonderful loving homes. We continue to work closely with these amazing dedicated people. We are very proud to be associated with these incredible volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 2, 2014

more

June 2, 2014

My husband and I adopted 2 senior cockers from OBG, each with older dog type medical issues, but true to the founding intent and name of the organization, they sure deserved a good home, and we welcomed two of the sweetest doggies ever into ours, for however briefly it turned out to be. I was so impressed by the volunteers and organization, that we started attending some of the social events, and that led to full-time volunteering with home checks, adoption shows, fostering, adopting more, and transport. Transport has become my special niche - if the doggies don't get from A to B, C to D, etc, they can't be brought in, medically treated as needed which is often massively needed because OBG will take some very challenging dogs, get to fosters, get to adoption shows, get to adopters. I continue to be so impressed with the volunteers and overall organization - the level of dedication, caring, going the extra couple of miles, coordination between humans for the sakes of the dogs, and follow-through in OBG are rare qualities in too much of life. Dog rescuing is also people rescuing - to see the faces of the people adopting a probably imperfect dog who comes to them through a network of volunteers who have shepherded that unwanted, stray, tearfully surrendered, abused, ill, dog to health and joy on that adoption day, is always moving. We have fostered and adopted some of the quirkier doggies, seen them go from illness or behavioral problems to happy loving members of our "pack", and we get to add our joy to theirs daily. I did a dog transport today - a little boy cocker to an ear specialist, and will continue to be their wheels for as long as possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 31, 2014

more

May 31, 2014

Fabulous to work with. Without them we wouldn't have found Riley, Cassie, Lady, Dixie or Katie. Now that I'm retired, I enjoy volunteering my time and car to transport dogs to and from 'doc' appointments.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

All three of my dogs are from OBG. OBG takes in dogs from those who have had horrific backgrounds to dogs that the shelter has and thinks that OBG can help. OBG dogs can be returned to them at any time so that the dog will always have a safe place. This sometimes happens when an adoptee gets old or sick. In intake, dogs are vetted, necessary surgeries, immunizations, and grooming are done and then dogs are tested for temperament. They train their volunteers and carefully screen those who foster and adopt. They have HUGE hearts and give total love and devotion to the dogs in their care. I LOVE OBG and have seen the miracles of love they do each day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

Love the organization. They do so much good for these dogs. Everyone's heart is working for the good of the doggies.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

OBG Cocker Rescue saves so many lives each year and has very committed members and supporters. Although it's called OBG Cocker Rescue, they always have other types of dogs on the site and swoop in to save so many dogs from shelters or other situations, Cockers or not. I am so thrilled I discovered this organization and have met so many amazing people and seen so many great rescue stories. I've fostered for them for over a year and look forward to fostering many years to come!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

I love OBG! I have fostered twice for them. They're an amazing rescue group and have huge hearts. They care so much about every dog, and family adopting them. We live in a world where not everyone has compassion for animals, so their work is endless as people dump their dogs for various reasons. Regardless of age, medical condition, or past, OBG believes every dog deserves a chance at a better life. I'm proud to be part of such an awesome rescue :)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great rescue! The people who are involved are caring and loving animal lovers!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

First of all, our family loves animals - at one time we had 4 dogs, 3 cats, 11 fish and fed the wild birds and deer that come into our yard. So, adopting another animal is crazy, but I feel in love with Emma when I laid eyes on her at the OBG dog show at a local Petsmart. After some contemplation, we decided to become foster parents. One of the topics that impressed us about this group is that their care for the animals goes beyond finding them homes. OBG provides medical, dental and specialty care for the animals during their tenure with OBG so that the adopter receives a healthy and happy dog to bring into their family. We wouldn't foster if we didn't believe in the organization and its mission.

The St. Louis Clan
Silver Spring, Maryland

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more foster parents.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

OBG Cocker Rescue is a great bunch of volunteers who do amazing things to help dogs in need. I adopted a wonderful dog several years ago and admire all the work and love OBG puts into every rescue. I enjoy volunteering for them and seeing what a difference they make in the dogs' lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Hold a dog at an adoption show, transport a dog to their new home, write a grant application, or perform data entry. Volunteer