Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
73 Reviews
1234.97265
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Great rescue! The people who are involved are caring and loving animal lovers!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

June 6, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

First of all, our family loves animals - at one time we had 4 dogs, 3 cats, 11 fish and fed the wild birds and deer that come into our yard. So, adopting another animal is crazy, but I feel in love with Emma when I laid eyes on her at the OBG dog show at a local Petsmart. After some contemplation, we decided to become foster parents. One of the topics that impressed us about this group is that their care for the animals goes beyond finding them homes. OBG provides medical, dental and specialty care for the animals during their tenure with OBG so that the adopter receives a healthy and happy dog to bring into their family. We wouldn't foster if we didn't believe in the organization and its mission.

The St. Louis Clan
Silver Spring, Maryland

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find more foster parents.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

OBG Cocker Rescue is a great bunch of volunteers who do amazing things to help dogs in need. I adopted a wonderful dog several years ago and admire all the work and love OBG puts into every rescue. I enjoy volunteering for them and seeing what a difference they make in the dogs' lives.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

i'm on a trip & luv & believe in OBG SO much, i'm advertising an OBG magnet on my truck :-) in the last month i have helped two families meet, fall in luv, & adopt their fur-ever K9. OBG doesn't just better the lives of each & every dog in our program, OBG opens the doors to happier living. We are able to do this bc our fosters learn everything there is to know about the dog in their care. they luv each one & honestly search for the best adoption placement the first time. i am SO very proud to be a part of OBG's mission--medical care for all + plenty of tennis balls & couches to snuggle with humans.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I have been one of their foster moms to the rescue kids. I took in the "bad boys"- the ones that came to OBG because the prior abuse and mistreatment from owners. I took the time to re-train these great 4-leggers to be adoptable and well-adjusted with manners. Everyone of them had a hidden personality and when they blossomed, they were so happy and full of joy! It made me so happy and sad to find them a home-- sad because I would miss them so much and happy that would get the life they deserved.

Every dog deserves another chance from Senior dogs who just need a home for their last wonderful chapters of their lives to the 2 year olds who want to explore life with you.

OBG is one of the best organizations -- they put the dogs interests first and foremost. OBG foster parents like myself have the opportunity to vet prospective owners to be sure they cockers get good homes. They truly care!

Know that by adopting one of OBG's kids you will get amazing support and love from this large extended family. And if the dog doesn't work out for whatever reason, OBG will graciously take the dog back with no questions asked.

If you can't adopt, then your donation of either time or money will save one more dog as well.

I highly recommend OBG to anyone who wants to adopt a rescue. And I'm partial to the older kids listed who sometimes are harder to adopt. They are trainable, mellowed out and are just happy to hang with you and family with a warm bed. I find they are most grateful!


Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to use social media to promote and educate. Expand adoption locations beyond the DC beltway-- Western Prince William County, Fauquier County-- follow the grow areas of those that have yards and $$ to spend on adoptions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I work with OBG from time to time to photograph some of their harder to place fosters or senior adoptables. Everyone I have met, from volunteer, to Board President, has been wonderful -- they are truly committed to their group and their mission. They participate in many local events promoting their organization and their animals, and their volunteers and booth attendants are smiling and helpful. They are also very active using social media and e-newsletter blasts. I always enjoy my interactions with them (and their dogs)! I work with a number of groups and OBG really is stellar in its performance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

OBG Cocker rescue is a wonderful group of volunteer's that are among the best resue organizations I have come in contact with. They are a group of caring giving individuals who give voice and wheels to our furry friends~

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

I've volunteered with a number of animal rescue groups over the years & OBG is the best I've worked with so far. They do whatever is necessary to make every dog they take into the rescue find a great home. For example, their medical expenses are high because they often end up taking in older dogs who were surrendered due to medical issues. OBG does everything each dog needs - from basic vaccinations to dental care to major surgery. Whatever it takes to make the dog healthy and comfortable. Then they work closely with fosters to help get dogs adopted and even provide special diets if necessary and monthly heartworm & flea/tick treatments. I ended up being a foster failure because I adopted the 2nd dog I fostered for the group. They are real heroes in the world of animal rescue. Thanks for all you do!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

more

June 5, 2013

OBG is one of the best rescue groups I have ever been fortunate enough to be involved with. They are dedicated to finding the perfect match between adopter and pet. All the volunteers sincerely believe in the organization and what they can do for it. I'm proud to say that I volunteer for this group.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage more people to foster or volunteer in any capacity they can.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 26, 2013

more

May 26, 2013

I am a volunteer, adopter, and donator to this rescue. It is a great rescue with very caring people who want the best for the dogs. I highly recommend OBG and encourage others to support them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Hold a dog at an adoption show, transport a dog to their new home, write a grant application, or perform data entry. Volunteer