Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.978265
| 1 ... 4 5 6...9 |
Write A Review
May 26, 2013

more

May 26, 2013

I am a volunteer, adopter, and donator to this rescue. It is a great rescue with very caring people who want the best for the dogs. I highly recommend OBG and encourage others to support them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more

May 23, 2013

I have adopted two dogs. One was about 10 and one was 8 weeks. I adopted the young one when the old one passed and I have two others from other sources. This is a marvelous organization. When I adopted the senior, Sally, she had a major undiagnosed health condition, and OBG reimbursed me all costs to address it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If you want to be an active volunteer, you might find it challenging. The core group does not communicate well with newcomers.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

I have been a big supporter of Oldies But Goodies for many years now. We adopted Buddy from them over a year ago. Oldies is so professional and well organized. They care deeply about each of these dogs and want to find them the best home they can. I am always impressed with their ongoing love and support to puppy mill dogs or dogs that are abused and unwanted. If someone calls them, the will be there and they will provide the best medical attention and love until the dogs are adopted.

I've since left the VA area and will always continue to support them and read up on them weekly.

Thank you, Oldies But Goodies! Your the best.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013

more

April 13, 2013

It's been four year since we adopted Lady Luck (now Lucy), and she has improved our lives in such immeasurable ways. I remember with gratitude the two amazing foster parents she had that took such time and care to find a good home for her. We're glad they chose us, and we're glad that OBG rescued Lucy despite her Lyme's disease and Heartworm. Last year, Lucy had a tumor (happily benign) on her spine which required surgery and rehab for several months, and that process helped us realize even more how important she is to our family. We hope that our dontations help rescue other people...yes, not just dogs, but people like us who are rescued by these wonderful pups in return.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

March 18, 2013

more

March 18, 2013

I have been a fan and a client of OBG cocker rescue for many years, and have had dogs as children join my family more than onece. Each interaction with the vounteers has been beautiful - questions answered, e-mails retuned, knowledge of medical and behavioral problms explained and researched throughly. When I adopted Daisy, the gentelman drove from central Virginia to my home in north Baltimroe COunty to delivery her to me! Each dog is showered with love and affection, and the volunteers work their magic to bring each dog comfort and companionship in tgheir own homes, with their own pets and families. Only when you research adoption of cockers in other states, and across the many on-line platforms, do you really get a sense of how superior the card and caring is. The dedication - morning, n oon, and night- and weekends, especially - is unmatched. These are some lucky dogs. And lucky owners who adopt through OBG.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 12, 2013

more

February 12, 2013

I have adopted two cocker spaniels from OBG Cocker Spaniel Rescue and they have been the joys of my life. OBG is such a wonderful organization and I would highly recommend this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 4, 2013

more

February 4, 2013

I started volunteering for OBG Cocker Spaniel Rescue after seeing volunteers with foster cocker spaniels every month at my local Petsmart. I always made a donation but wanted to do more and started volunteering as a foster mom. Through my many years of volunteering, I have been amazed at the dedication and professional manner in which this 100% volunteer organization is run and the success it has had in getting dogs from every circumstance - many which just tear at your heart - healthy, adjusted and into their loving forever homes. This often means expensive medical bills paid for through the generosity of donations small and a bit larger and never-ending fund raising activities. For some of these dogs that are very senior or that have serious health issues, OBG finds a loving home for them to enjoy whatever time they may have left. Almost 300 wonderful dogs are adopted through the organization every year but so many more need our help so we carry on thsnks to the tireless devotion of the volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 4, 2013

more

February 4, 2013

I had the privilege of fostering two senior cockers for OBG that had several medical problems. I was unfortunately not in a position to adopt them, and they were basically unadoptable because of the seriousness of their illnesses. OBG paid for all food and medical costs, and they were well cared for and very loved in my home. OBG was wonderful about making sure the dogs had the best possible life. I cannot say enough good things about this organization. If all organizations were run as well as this one, the world would be a much better place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 25, 2013

more

January 25, 2013

I was looking for a four legged best friend. I have had a cocker spaniel in the past, and she was my best friend for twelve years. when she passed away I was heart broken and knew I wanted to have a new best friend not to replace my cocker spaniel but to offer another one a good life and to know what us humans have to offer to them, a lot of love and companionship for a special friend. I found Oldies but Goodies on my search and was very impressed with what they had to offer. Imagine rescueing a four legged friend one that has had a hard life and did not trust us humans, with a great staff they led me into what I consider was fate, I found a five year old buff cocker spaniel that needed me as much as I needed her. She was distrusting at first but all you have to do is give them love and boundries and I am so glad I did. She is now my new best friend and loved very much, and will always have a forever home here. Thank you Oldies but Goodies you are very much appreciated and needed. You have a very special orginazation and are doing a truely wounderful job rescueing wounderful dogs and your staff is truely into what is best for thier dogs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 22, 2013

more

January 22, 2013

I adopted my first OBG dogs back in 1998, two fabulous dogs who lived out their lives in a home instead of never making it out of a kill shelter. I was told that a kill shelter called to say they had a cocker mix and when the OBG representative showed up, there was this pup that obviously had no cocker blood at all in her. She got taken in anyway and she was definitely a once in a lifetime dog. It is sad to think that she almost didn't make it, because she was a mixed breed puppy. Another of my dogs had gone thru the shelter twice in two years, the first time as a 6 month old puppy. Usually dogs are put down when they are returned to a shelter. His only fault, he was killing the ducks on the family farm, maybe because he was being kept in the barn instead of the house at night. I still have him and he also is a wonderful well behaved and well socialized dog, and he has yet to find any ducks at my house. That is one thing I love about OBG, while we are focused on cockers and cocker mixes, we do not automatically exclude other mixes and breeds of dogs that just happen to need us greatly. I also love that cockers of all ages have a place to go. I started fostering cockers in 2000 and have never stopped, it is just so rewarding to help these dogs on their way to their forever homes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

| 1 ... 4 5 6...9 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Hold a dog at an adoption show, transport a dog to their new home, write a grant application, or perform data entry. Volunteer