Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
73 Reviews
1234.97265
| 1 ... 3 4 5...8 |
Write A Review
February 4, 2013

more

February 4, 2013

I started volunteering for OBG Cocker Spaniel Rescue after seeing volunteers with foster cocker spaniels every month at my local Petsmart. I always made a donation but wanted to do more and started volunteering as a foster mom. Through my many years of volunteering, I have been amazed at the dedication and professional manner in which this 100% volunteer organization is run and the success it has had in getting dogs from every circumstance - many which just tear at your heart - healthy, adjusted and into their loving forever homes. This often means expensive medical bills paid for through the generosity of donations small and a bit larger and never-ending fund raising activities. For some of these dogs that are very senior or that have serious health issues, OBG finds a loving home for them to enjoy whatever time they may have left. Almost 300 wonderful dogs are adopted through the organization every year but so many more need our help so we carry on thsnks to the tireless devotion of the volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 4, 2013

more

February 4, 2013

I had the privilege of fostering two senior cockers for OBG that had several medical problems. I was unfortunately not in a position to adopt them, and they were basically unadoptable because of the seriousness of their illnesses. OBG paid for all food and medical costs, and they were well cared for and very loved in my home. OBG was wonderful about making sure the dogs had the best possible life. I cannot say enough good things about this organization. If all organizations were run as well as this one, the world would be a much better place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 25, 2013

more

January 25, 2013

I was looking for a four legged best friend. I have had a cocker spaniel in the past, and she was my best friend for twelve years. when she passed away I was heart broken and knew I wanted to have a new best friend not to replace my cocker spaniel but to offer another one a good life and to know what us humans have to offer to them, a lot of love and companionship for a special friend. I found Oldies but Goodies on my search and was very impressed with what they had to offer. Imagine rescueing a four legged friend one that has had a hard life and did not trust us humans, with a great staff they led me into what I consider was fate, I found a five year old buff cocker spaniel that needed me as much as I needed her. She was distrusting at first but all you have to do is give them love and boundries and I am so glad I did. She is now my new best friend and loved very much, and will always have a forever home here. Thank you Oldies but Goodies you are very much appreciated and needed. You have a very special orginazation and are doing a truely wounderful job rescueing wounderful dogs and your staff is truely into what is best for thier dogs.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 22, 2013

more

January 22, 2013

I adopted my first OBG dogs back in 1998, two fabulous dogs who lived out their lives in a home instead of never making it out of a kill shelter. I was told that a kill shelter called to say they had a cocker mix and when the OBG representative showed up, there was this pup that obviously had no cocker blood at all in her. She got taken in anyway and she was definitely a once in a lifetime dog. It is sad to think that she almost didn't make it, because she was a mixed breed puppy. Another of my dogs had gone thru the shelter twice in two years, the first time as a 6 month old puppy. Usually dogs are put down when they are returned to a shelter. His only fault, he was killing the ducks on the family farm, maybe because he was being kept in the barn instead of the house at night. I still have him and he also is a wonderful well behaved and well socialized dog, and he has yet to find any ducks at my house. That is one thing I love about OBG, while we are focused on cockers and cocker mixes, we do not automatically exclude other mixes and breeds of dogs that just happen to need us greatly. I also love that cockers of all ages have a place to go. I started fostering cockers in 2000 and have never stopped, it is just so rewarding to help these dogs on their way to their forever homes.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 18, 2013

more

January 18, 2013

I have only been volunteering for OBG for 2 years, but I continue to be amazed by this organization's accomplishments, and especially, by the dedication of the volunteers, who give so much of themselves and their time - who work tirelessly to fundraise, provide foster homes, take our dogs to adoption shows (and so much "behind-the-scenes" work) - with the end result of finding our dogs the perfect forever homes!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2013

more

January 17, 2013

OBG is a wonderful group! I started out by fostering, and then I adopted my foster. Since he wanted to be an only dog, I couldn't foster any longer, so I found lots of other ways to volunteer. OBG will put your talents to work, in order to rescue, rehabilitate, and re-home dogs in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2013

more

January 17, 2013

OBG is FABULOUS! We have adopted six different times over the years and could not be happier with all of our cockers - young and old. As I type this review my three cocker babies are all nodding in agreement! The OBG volunteers are always so helpful and truly want the best furever home for the dog. I was so inspired by the organization that I became a volunteer with the organization and it has been a wonderful experience. Thank you OBG!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 17, 2013

more

January 17, 2013

I have adopted 3 dogs from this group. My first was a wonderful cocker who sadly passed away at a way too young age/ the whole experience was easy and full of nice people to relate to. When I was ready, we adopted our cocker/retriever mix/ Again a wonderful experience full of knowledgeable, caring volunteers and lovely dogs to choose from. At that point I decided to help them out and became a volunteer, coordinating adoptions in Maryland, Delaware etc. I also fostered and did homechecks for them etc. The whole organization really cares for the dogs in its care. They do whatever the dog needs medically prior to adopting them out to good homes and caring families. Some dogs need major surgery and care. Some are healthier when we get them in. It was that, that led me to start fostering sick dogs, usually with heartworm disease that needs treating, or heart issues etc. And long term, that led me to my third OBG dog! A little girl who had heartworm, but also had glaucoma and was blind in one eye and had Juvenile cateracts in her other eye. This group paid for the best treatments to get this dog comfortable and adoptable. Whatever it takes they will do. Training for those that are in need of professional help. Medical care. Whatever it takes. This group will do what they can for both the dogs (who are rescued for life and can come back at any time if the adoption doesn't work out) and for the adopters to pair up with the right dog for their family. A heartwarming wonderful group of fantastic volunteers!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

I am so thankful for OBG. I learned about OBG from a co-worker about five years ago and was able to adopt two cocker spaniels that are so very special. They were both puppy mill dogs and when they c... more

January 15, 2013

We just adopted our third pup from OBG and we just love her. She is an honorary cocker, aka Shih Tzu, and she is the most precious pup I have ever seen. I am so thankful that OBG had the compassion to help find her a home when she lost her previous family. OBG is a great group of folks that truly care for the dogs in their stewardship.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

I am so thankful for OBG. I learned about OBG from a co-worker about five years ago and was able to adopt two cocker spaniels that are so very special. They were both puppy mill dogs and when they came to OBG they barely knew how to walk and I could tell by the color of their paws that they had never walked outside. OBG saved their lives and I will be eternally grateful for the kind and compassionate volunteers that brought these two dogs in to my life. OBG is a wonderful organization, with some of the hardest working folks I have ever seen. I feel it is an honor to work with OBG.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 14, 2013

more

January 14, 2013

We adopted Ashley, our 7 year old Cocker/Retriever Mix in August of 2011. We had been looking for a Golden Retriever type dog and ended up seeing Ashley's picture on the OBG website. We knew right away that she was the dog for us and would fit well into our family of two other rescue dogs (a third had recently passed away). OBG was quick to respond, answer questions, and figured out a home visit even though our town was not on their regular list. We soon picked up Ashley in NOVA from her foster and it has been a great success story! I admire how tirelessly OBG works to take in and take care of dogs that others have discarded. They will spend as much money as needed to fix a rescued dogs problems to give them a second chance being a healthy dog.someone will find, adopt, and love. I can't give them enough kudos!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

| 1 ... 3 4 5...8 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Hold a dog at an adoption show, transport a dog to their new home, write a grant application, or perform data entry. Volunteer