Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
92 Reviews
1234.978265
Write A Review
June 5, 2014

more

June 5, 2014

My husband and I adopted our 2 Cockers from OBG and were so impressed with the organization that we began volunteering and helping out with fund raising for the pups. We've now fostered 4 lucky Cockers who are now placed in wonderful loving homes. We continue to work closely with these amazing dedicated people. We are very proud to be associated with these incredible volunteers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 2, 2014

more

June 2, 2014

My husband and I adopted 2 senior cockers from OBG, each with older dog type medical issues, but true to the founding intent and name of the organization, they sure deserved a good home, and we welcomed two of the sweetest doggies ever into ours, for however briefly it turned out to be. I was so impressed by the volunteers and organization, that we started attending some of the social events, and that led to full-time volunteering with home checks, adoption shows, fostering, adopting more, and transport. Transport has become my special niche - if the doggies don't get from A to B, C to D, etc, they can't be brought in, medically treated as needed which is often massively needed because OBG will take some very challenging dogs, get to fosters, get to adoption shows, get to adopters. I continue to be so impressed with the volunteers and overall organization - the level of dedication, caring, going the extra couple of miles, coordination between humans for the sakes of the dogs, and follow-through in OBG are rare qualities in too much of life. Dog rescuing is also people rescuing - to see the faces of the people adopting a probably imperfect dog who comes to them through a network of volunteers who have shepherded that unwanted, stray, tearfully surrendered, abused, ill, dog to health and joy on that adoption day, is always moving. We have fostered and adopted some of the quirkier doggies, seen them go from illness or behavioral problems to happy loving members of our "pack", and we get to add our joy to theirs daily. I did a dog transport today - a little boy cocker to an ear specialist, and will continue to be their wheels for as long as possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 31, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 20, 2012

I started fostering for OBG after my beloved geriatric mutt passed away. I fostered several special needs and geriatric dogs, dogs that most organizations would turn away. Two of them turned out to ... more

May 31, 2014

I moved away from the D.C. area in 2008 and I still miss OBG and its wonderful volunteers. They are tireless fundraisers and very creative about coming up with fun adoption and fundraising events. They use some of the money to board new dogs before a foster home opens up, which means they can just say "yes" to a needy dog and get vet care for it even if there isn't a foster spot. The need is so huge they do have to say "no" if there are not enough boarding spaces though, so I really encourage people to make cash donations to this group. This group is willing to take in older or sick dogs, and I had the honor of helping nurse some of these dogs back to health. Many other groups will just let a dog with treatable conditions be put down in the pound. Many cockers have ear or ear problems and OBG has a lot of experience with these things. OBG works with vets who give them a discount, but some dogs arrive very very sick. The money is well used and they don't charge a higher adoption fee for a dog that incurred high vet bills.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

wave my magic wand and make more foster homes appear

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 20, 2012

I started fostering for OBG after my beloved geriatric mutt passed away. I fostered several special needs and geriatric dogs, dogs that most organizations would turn away. Two of them turned out to have owners who were desperately looking for them - one had been found 30 miles from home and the second was a Katrina dog (OBG took in 9 from Katrina, not all cockers) whose owner was thought to be deceased. If not for OBG these dogs couldn't have been reunited with their owners. The volunteers are fun, friendly people who are tireless in raising funds for vet bills and getting dogs adopted. Cockers are high maintenance dogs that arrive at shelters in terrible shape. OBG transforms these dogs and you'd never know the dog has seen a bad day. My only "foster failure" was a mess when she arrived and within months people were asking me if she was a show dog. I'm now a firm believer in foster-based breed rescue.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2008

May 31, 2014

more

May 31, 2014

Fabulous to work with. Without them we wouldn't have found Riley, Cassie, Lady, Dixie or Katie. Now that I'm retired, I enjoy volunteering my time and car to transport dogs to and from 'doc' appointments.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

I give regularly to OBG. I volunteer for them occasionally as well. They are a terrific organization. They stay focused on their mission, they act from the heart, and they have no overhead. All their costs go to getting dogs well and getting dogs in home. If I won the lottery tomorrow, I would give them half. Great organization on every level.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
June 5, 2013

I have, over the years, adopted six cockers from OGB. Each time the volunteers have been honest about the dogs and extremely helpful in getting them settled with me. It is a wonderful organization. more

May 30, 2014

Over the past years, I have adopted six cockers from OBG The volunteers have been wonderful about ensuring that I understand the specific needs of the dogs and been available for questions after the adoptions took place

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 5, 2013

I have, over the years, adopted six cockers from OGB. Each time the volunteers have been honest about the dogs and extremely helpful in getting them settled with me. It is a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 8, 2013

I have had the privilege of adopting three pairs of cocker spaniels from OBG over the last 15 years and have found the volunteers to be just terrific at honestly explaining the quirks of the dogs I have adopted, giving advice on how to help them adjust to new homes and keeping in touch after the adoptions occurred. I never worry about whether my donations to OBG are being used appropriately. It is a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
June 5, 2013

Four years ago I adopted a puppy mill survivor from OBG. I thank them every time I look at my little wiggle butt as she learns about life as a free dog. If it wasn't for OBG, Lily and hundreds of do... more

May 30, 2014

If it wasn't for this wonderful organization, I wouldn't have my Lily. She was one of hundreds that OBG helped rescue from a puppy mill in PA in 2008. OBG goes above and beyond to help these dogs, getting them out of bad situations, getting them the medical care they (sometimes) desperately need, and then making sure they are placed in the perfect home to give these dogs the wonderful loving lives they so richly deserve. I can't thank them enough for what they do for these wonderful fur babies.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 5, 2013

Four years ago I adopted a puppy mill survivor from OBG. I thank them every time I look at my little wiggle butt as she learns about life as a free dog. If it wasn't for OBG, Lily and hundreds of dogs just like her, would still be struggling to survive in horrid conditions, or worse be dead from neglect and/or abuse. Thank you, OBG; thank you for my awesome little girl!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

All three of my dogs are from OBG. OBG takes in dogs from those who have had horrific backgrounds to dogs that the shelter has and thinks that OBG can help. OBG dogs can be returned to them at any time so that the dog will always have a safe place. This sometimes happens when an adoptee gets old or sick. In intake, dogs are vetted, necessary surgeries, immunizations, and grooming are done and then dogs are tested for temperament. They train their volunteers and carefully screen those who foster and adopt. They have HUGE hearts and give total love and devotion to the dogs in their care. I LOVE OBG and have seen the miracles of love they do each day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

This wonderful organization has found homes for literally 100's of dogs that would have been euthanized at shelters had not OBG stepped in and found them homes. Some of the dogs were to old or sick to go to new homes - so OBG finds foster care for them until lifes end. Some come to OBG with serious injuries and illness - OBG raises the funds to have proper medical care. Some take a short time to place in a "forever" home - some take long periods of time - OBG works through it. All in all, this organization works around the clock to help these beautiful animals in a time of real need. Truly a great organization!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Gift them with enough money to take very Cocker Spaniel that needs a home!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 30, 2014

more

May 30, 2014

This is a nonprofit organization that sets the standard for excellence. They are motivated by their love of animals and work tirelessly to find homes and medical care when needed.

I found our Heidi at an adoption show eight years ago. Shortly thereafter, her foster Mom brought her to our
house. Happily, Heidi adjusted quickly to her new home. But I cannot forget the love and care she received from these extraordinary people before she joined our family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

not make any changes.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Hold a dog at an adoption show, transport a dog to their new home, write a grant application, or perform data entry. Volunteer