Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.636365
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 27, 2013

more

September 27, 2013

Oklahoma Baptist Homes for Children is a GREAT nonprofit that really helps children grow in a healthy, safe environment. It's wonderful seeing how the children that live in the cottages are loved and given opportunities to excel. These kids not only learn the importance of good habits, they are able to have fun and enjoy the simple pleasures of childhood. Nonprofits like Oklahoma Baptist Homes for Children are truly how we'll see future generations succeed as more and more children come from difficult home situations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We have been privileged to live on the campus and serve Oklahoma Baptist Homes for Children in various capacities during the nearly thirty-seven years of our marriage. The commitment this organization has to serving the children of Oklahoma, providing opportunities for each child in their care to develop skills and values necessary to be successful productive members of society is genuine. This Christian organization is also committed to helping save the lives of the unborn and providing parenting education. The Christian environment provided a wonderful place for us to raise our two children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the number of children and families served and add additional Hope Pregnancy Center sites.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been involved with the Baptist Children's Home for over 16 years. I have seen first hand the positive difference the ministry is making in the lives of children and young people. Staff are committed to providing a clean, safe, and loving home for children. If a child is able to return home that is what OBHC wants. If not, the ministry is there to provide "hope and homes". The ministry does an exceptional job preparing young people to live out on their own. The OBHC mission is to "help children become capable, caring, Christian adults". Transitional living apartments have been built on all campuses and many OBHC alumni receive scholarship funds to attend a college or technical school if they choose. Also, the Hope Pregnancy Centers in Oklahoma City and Tulsa have ministered to countless families and helped young mom's choose life for their babies. Oklahoma Baptist Homes for Children is an exceptional organization and strives for excellence in ministry.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband and I have been involved with Oklahoma Baptist Homes for Children and Hope Pregnancy Center for many years and have been financial supporters for at least the last five years. The more I know about Oklahoma Baptist Homes for Children and their ministries, the more impressed we are with their integrity and the love, acceptance & opportunities provided to the children in their care. The children often come with tragic backgrounds of neglect and abuse, but at OBHC they are given loving care, encouragement, responsiblity, accountability and hope for a future. I am thankful to be associated with this organization and recommend it to both those looking for help for children and those looking to make an impact in the lives of children in our community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 26, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

For over the last ten years my wife and I have been apart of the ministry of OBHC and their Hope Centers. As a volunteer and contributor I find no place better to give my time and money. They help save the life of the unborn and to teach the born how to become a a Christian Adult and give that child a strong future I urge you to pray for and become a part of this great work.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 25, 2013

more


1 previous review
January 8, 2013

I belive that this ministry is exceptional, they provide homes for at risk chidren and they provide help to young women through the Hope Pregnacy centers . Very impressive ministry. more

September 25, 2013

Oklahoma Baptist Homes for Children is a Christian organization which strives to offer all of the children and clients served the opportunity to accept Christ as their personal savior. This is the number one priority of the organization. This organization meets and exceeds all standards set by the state of Oklahoma and by professional organizations who provide standards and oversight to their programs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase the program.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013

I belive that this ministry is exceptional, they provide homes for at risk chidren and they provide help to young women through the Hope Pregnacy centers . Very impressive ministry.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
August 15, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

There is political and religious indoctrination occurring a when 13 year old boy says he wont get into heaven unless he goes to Baptist church, President Obama is Satan reincarnated, and his spelling of his names Satan in Arabic and Hebrew.

Just very sad that there are staff and clergy
that are that bold to sabotage adoptions that don't fit their narrow minded view of a family. There is also issue with the staff and caseworkers there interfering or sabotaging adoptions that are set up via OKDHS.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Rewrite the mission to include a non-discrimination policy and make permanency for every child there a priority. All intervention would be supportive of private home adoption.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am a volunteer at HOPE Pregnancy Center North, a subdivision of OBHC, but first I was a client. I went through the Forgiven and Set Free Bible Study there, as a part of their Abortion Recovery Mission, and the experience truly changed my life. After 18 years of carrying around guilt and sorrow I am now truly set free in the Lord's forgiveness. Now I am happy to be a volunteer at HOPE. My days at HOPE are my best days of the week. There is nothing like helping a woman think through her options in the midst of a crisis pregnancy. All for the glory of God. I can't believe I get to be a part of it all!!















More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I first became aware of OBHC when friends adopted a child from there. I heard about it occasionally. Then a former student went to work there and I heard more about it. That student wanted to do a fund raiser in our area and I became deeply involved. I am now totally committed to the organization. Other similar organizations, nationwide, use OBHC as their model. OBHC does a fantastic job of ministering to and taking care of the children in their charge. They make sure the children are loved, cared for, clothed, educated, and exposed to the gospel. The amazing thing is that OBHC does not charge anyone for all the services provided. I have spent time with the children involved and am amazed at the way they are cared for. My only problem is that I do not have enough income to donate more. Nancy

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
January 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer for five years at the Hope Pregnancy Center in Oklahoma City. I selected this organziation because I believe in the work they do and it is important that this is a grace gift to the clients who come into the center for services. OBHC does not charge for any services they provide. Every client is handled with confidentiality and in a non-judgemental; non-discriminatory manner. Through my years as a volunteer I have witnessed lives changed in the men and women who come through the doors of Hope Pregnancy Center. For some, it is the first time they can find hope and acceptance in the midst of an unplanned pregnancy. It is wonderful to see joy on the face of a young woman who has just experienced an ultrasound and she sees her baby for the first time. The volunteers are amazing as they walk with their clients through the pregnancy and often the parents will continue with the parenting education program that Hope Pregency Centers offer. By attending parenting classes for the first year of their child's life; parents earn the privilege of shopping for baby supplies in the center's baby boutique. I am honored to be able to serve an organization that desires to encourage, affirm dignity and self-worth to the clients who seek our services every day.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers