Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

I am a SIBS camper at Okizu. This year was my tenth year as a camper. Okizu is an amazing place where no one judges you, you can be yourself, you feel special and important, and everyone there can relate. Okizu to me is my second home ,my peace, my happiness, my world. If i could go anywhere in the world i would go to Okizu; not Paris, not Rome, not anywhere else. Okizu is beautiful, you are surrounded by nature, caring people, and excitement. I LOVE OKIZU!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it a school. Imagine learning like you do in a classroom but surrounded by fun, happiness, nature, etc. But that's just an unrealistic dream. Other than unrealistic dreams Okizu is perfect!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014

more

June 29, 2014

Okizu is a beautiful place for those of us families dealing with childhood cancers. Both of my daughters have used the summer camps (sibs and oncology) and we have been to the family camps for 5 years. This place is perfectly run and they never stray from their mission. Beautiful organization with impeccable taste and caring souls.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more opportunities per year.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014

more

June 29, 2014

Okizu has made such a profound impact on my life. I have been a SIBS camper for six years and a 'bereaved' camper for two of those years. The wonderful, empathetic, loving, huge-hearted, down-to-earth humans who make Okizu happen have helped me relax, heal, understand my family's situation, and feel less alone. Okizu provides a wonderful place AT ABSOLUTLEY NO COST for kids and families affected by childhood cancer when they most desperately need it. While Okizu is surrounded by beautiful nature, it is also clean, comfortable, and handicap accessible. It is the perfect escape. Okizu is so very close to my heart and the hearts of many, many others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them build more cabins/buildings as needed to accommodate more families; get the word out more so nobody eligible misses out on this amazing life opportunity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

As the mother of a Leukemia patient and survivor, I have seen first had what an amazing place Camp Okizu is. We have had the pleasure of attending family camp with other wonderful families that have travelled down similar roads and common journeys. It is really important to have the time to meet other families who have or are currently going through similar situations. My daughter will be going to her last year of oncology camp this year and she is really looking forward to attending. After this year, she hopes to be a counselor to help other kids that are fighting their own battles. Thank You Okizu!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

Camp Okizu is amazing. We have gone to the family camp and it just is nice to have people who understand what childhood cancer dose to a family. The Oncology and Sibs camp not only gave my girls a break from cancer but I think it has changed their life. What they learn and the healing that takes place at camp just can't happen anyplace else for some of these kids. Their is no words to describe how thankful I am for this place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

This is the best experience that my kids have ever had! My four children had lost their sibling from cancer and this camp allowed my kids to connect with other kids with siblings who have lost their sibling or have had siblings who had gone through cancer. This camp allowed my children to have a week of pure fun but to also talk about their feelings and experiences while they suffered their loss. The staff are all so nice! After they get home from camp, I know that they have made life long friends and they already look forward to the following year. I am so thankful for Camp Okizu and appreciate all they have done and given to my children!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our first trip to Okizu was in May for Family Camp...it was the first time since our Daughter's diagnosis of leukemia last year that she was able to really experience being a "normal" kid again. Her brother seemed to laugh more than I've seen in a long time. Who would have thought that someone who mainly was in a wheelchair to get around would be zip-lining?! Absolutely incredible Organization and Volunteers! We'll be back.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

I was a camper and a counselor for Okizu.... When my brother passed away while I was at SIBS camp, I had the most amazing support EVER!
I was then able to return that love and support as a counselor....
Camp Okizu rocks socks and I would, to this day, recommend it to families going through
the battle....

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

Our family has been a part of the Okizu family since 2008. Our son was diagnosed with cancer in November of 2007 as a baby, and our daughter has been going to sibling camp ever since. I can't even begin to say what this place has done for her. Amazing. Love this camp!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NA

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

We went to family camp for the first time in May, and it was such a positive experience that our 7 year old is going back in July for oncology camp! And this after thinking "well, maybe next year, after chemo ends." Everything about the place is healing and loving. The thought that we have Okizu in our lives is so comforting; what a precious place of grace and fellowship. Standout moments: nature hike with Dr. Mike to the farthest western boundary, zip lining, talking with other families around cereal and archery, and feeling like a healthy family in nature again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nametags-i have a hard time with new names.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers