Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

I volunteered as a counselor for Camp Okizu two summers in a row. It is an incredible, life-changing, and inspirational organization. Through volunteering with Camp Okizu, I have met some of the best people I have ever known - people who truly care about making a positive difference in the lives of children and teens coping with cancer. It is wonderful to see the campers simply being kids and having fun (and camp truly is, the MOST FUN place I have ever been). There were moments at camp when I'd pause and think, "This is the best day of my life," so needless to say, each day at camp was a "best day." I cannot express enough how much this organization means to me. I am forever grateful to have served the campers so that they too think, "This is the best day of my life," each day of camp.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

As a volunteer, I saw the good Camp Okizu does for the kids as well as for their parents (siblings too). The children were simply having a wonderful time having fun and being treated as children and not patients. Hard to imagine it could get any better. I've also seen many of the letters and videos the children have produced in support of the Camp -- and they love it!,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

I have attended this camp for 10 years. I was a camper for 7 years and now I've been a counselor to help change the life of the kids who attend. Camp always made me feel normal as a child. It's a horrible thing to have to see your family go through the experiences of childhood cancer. What I loved about this camp was I reassured you that you weren't alone. I was amazed when I first realized how many children have cancer. And when I attended sibs camp I was able to talk to other children who were in a similar situation like mine. I look forward to camp so much, that has always been my favorite part of my summer. The staff here are amazing and are so caring. I wouldn't be the same person I am today without this amazing place!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

Just amazing! Happiest place on earth for campers and staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Perfection! Come check it out!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

I have been both a camper and a counselor at Oncology camp and a counselor at Family and SIBS camps. Okizu has made a tremendous impact on my life. As a teenager on chemo with no hair and scars most other teen girls don't have, it's hard to find a place to fit in and be comfortable in your own skin, but Okizu was able to provide that place for me. I was diagnosed with leukemia in 1990 at age 13. I attended camp for the first time the following summer. I am now a registered nurse, wife, and mother of three beautiful children. When they're older I am definitely gong back to camp. It is truly the best place in the world for families dealing with childhood cancers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

My mother has been greatly involved with Camp Okizu since it has opened. I visited a few times as a child but never really was able to fully understand the beauty and magic of camp. Neither my brothers nor I have gone through childhood cancer, but I still know people, children and adults affected. This summer I decided to finally volunteer (much overdue) and little did I know how grateful I would be at the end of my first volunteer week. Being a counselor has given me a new outlook not only on my own life, but on the lives of those around me. What a wonderful, wonderful family Okizu is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

When I first came to Okizu, it was with the idea that I would give week to volunteer, because it was the right thing to do. But after only a few hours my life was transformed. The spirit that drives this organization leaves a physical mark, and begins a literal transformation on all those who participate.
Under the Leadersip of Suzie Randall, volunteers and campers alike are given the gift of a week of pure joy. The campers lives become our life force during camp, and we grow through their strength.
The laughter, tears, jokes, friendships and love are so pure, they can only be the best medicine. Camp Okizu is amazing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 12, 2013

more

August 12, 2013

Being a counselor at an Okizu summer camp session is by far the greatest part of my summer and has been for the past 7 years. Seeing the kids get off the bus nervous, anxious, and excited the first day and getting back on the bus the last day full of smiles, loaded with friend's phone numbers, and exploding with memories makes my year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more camp opportunities for Teens and Twenties (it is the smallest of their 4 camp programs).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

Okizu is indescribable. It's life changing. As a volunteer you will take away more from your experience than you can even put in. A week at this magical place with campers affected by childhood cancer is actually the place people go to forget cancer. It's based on peer-support and respite in the most beautiful place possible. To be surrounded by so much potential sadness, I have never seen so many smiles in one place. Go! Experience the magic! It's worth every second.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Okizu is the most wonderful organization I've ever volunteered with. Between the siblings program, the oncology program, and the family weekends, there is something there to help every person in a family that is affected by childhood cancer. It is absolute magic how sometimes tired, run down families arrive and within a day they are happy and refreshed. The kids find support in each other at summer camp because they are surrounded by peers that have shared their experience and actually know the hardships they've lived through. Everyone at Okizu is so accepting, people are truly free to be themselves and not worry about being judged for their feelings or appearances. The counselors all truly care about the campers and making sure they have an amazing time while they are with us. Unlike many other summer camps, Okizu's counselors are all volunteers; we keep returning every year because we love it and can't wait to come back again. I've never worked with an organization where everyone felt like family after one week. Some of my closest friends are other counselors I have met through Okizu.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers