Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
12345
| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review
August 12, 2013

more

August 12, 2013

Being a counselor at an Okizu summer camp session is by far the greatest part of my summer and has been for the past 7 years. Seeing the kids get off the bus nervous, anxious, and excited the first day and getting back on the bus the last day full of smiles, loaded with friend's phone numbers, and exploding with memories makes my year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more camp opportunities for Teens and Twenties (it is the smallest of their 4 camp programs).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013

more

August 12, 2013

Camp Okizu is the best that could happen to our family. Both of my boys have had the best experiences and for us as parents it gives us the time to spend with each of them individually. I can see my son coming back from Oncology Camp more independent, possitive actitud, more confident, And its the best feeling as a mother. We might struggle throughout the year but for sure the week my kids spend at Camp Okizu it gives my family a fresh start.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

more

June 12, 2013

Camp Okizu was a lifeline for me, my son with cancer and his brother. Dr. Mike Avalon and director John Bell gave of themselves wholeheartedly to help educate and support each and every one of us. Groups for parents to share and listen were invaluable. The camp and the counselors was the one place my son felt saw him as a person, not his cancer. He felt free and happy with everyone there. Please give generously to support this much needed and valuable service which benefits so many in so many profound ways.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

April 6, 2013

more

April 6, 2013

Okizu is indescribable. It's life changing. As a volunteer you will take away more from your experience than you can even put in. A week at this magical place with campers affected by childhood cancer is actually the place people go to forget cancer. It's based on peer-support and respite in the most beautiful place possible. To be surrounded by so much potential sadness, I have never seen so many smiles in one place. Go! Experience the magic! It's worth every second.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Okizu is the most wonderful organization I've ever volunteered with. Between the siblings program, the oncology program, and the family weekends, there is something there to help every person in a family that is affected by childhood cancer. It is absolute magic how sometimes tired, run down families arrive and within a day they are happy and refreshed. The kids find support in each other at summer camp because they are surrounded by peers that have shared their experience and actually know the hardships they've lived through. Everyone at Okizu is so accepting, people are truly free to be themselves and not worry about being judged for their feelings or appearances. The counselors all truly care about the campers and making sure they have an amazing time while they are with us. Unlike many other summer camps, Okizu's counselors are all volunteers; we keep returning every year because we love it and can't wait to come back again. I've never worked with an organization where everyone felt like family after one week. Some of my closest friends are other counselors I have met through Okizu.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

Camp Okizu ranks up there with Disneyland and Yosemite for our family. It's something our family looks forward to every summer for both family camp as well as Oncology and Sibling camps for the kids. As parents, there is no other place where we can connect with families who we have a shared experience with...people who truly understand what it's like to have a child who has/had cancer. Even though our son is well now, he lives with long term effects from his treatment. We still live with the few of the cancer coming back. My kids both feel totally at ease when they are at camp for similar reasons. People who have not "walked in our shoes" just cannot fully understand. The volunteers who work at the camp are amazing, selfless human beings. My kids would stay at camp all summer if they could :)

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Camp Okizu is truly an amazing place. We were lucky enough to attend Family camp with our 3 year old twins this past summer. Our daughter was diagnosed with leukemia 11 months prior and it was the first time in almost a year that we all went somewhere together. The staff is truly amazing, and my kids are constantly asking when they get to return to camp and to see their favorite counselors again. We were able to connect with other parents and families that truly understand what we are going through. It is a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Camp Okizu is a miracle in itself. The camp is full of love and support, and the volunteers and campers are inspirational. Having a safe place to escape to where people understand exactly what you went/are going through is an irreplaceable resource for families battling with cancer.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

As a sibling of a child with cancer Okizu was my "safe" place and full of people who understood what I was going through without me having to say or explain anything. After 2 years of going to Okizu my sibling lost his battle with cancer and Okizu is where I found the most comfort as it was a place full of support, laughter, and unconditional understanding! Thank you Okizu for providing me with some of my best friends, fondest memories, and support I couldn't get anywhere else!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 11, 2012

more

November 11, 2012

Though our son passed away before he could get to know Okizu, our other children have greatly benefited from Okizu through SIBS Camp and the whole family has cherished Family Camp every year. Being able to be with other families that truly know and understand what our family is/has been going through. They are all very wonderful people that truly care about all the kids and parents they come into contact with. I can't even begin to put into words how Okizu has impacted our family in a positive manner. I mean after losing a child to cancer, who really understands? No one in my immediate circle of family and friends really understand and so I was actually a bit skeptical about going to Family Camp. But after going there and hearing the other families' stories and telling my story, you get that connection of true understanding. The staff are similar, they truly empathize and many know what it's like to have cancer. I can't say enough good things about Okizu.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

| 1 ... 3 4 5...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers