Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

I was a camper and a counselor for Okizu.... When my brother passed away while I was at SIBS camp, I had the most amazing support EVER!
I was then able to return that love and support as a counselor....
Camp Okizu rocks socks and I would, to this day, recommend it to families going through
the battle....

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1997

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

Our family has been a part of the Okizu family since 2008. Our son was diagnosed with cancer in November of 2007 as a baby, and our daughter has been going to sibling camp ever since. I can't even begin to say what this place has done for her. Amazing. Love this camp!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NA

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

We went to family camp for the first time in May, and it was such a positive experience that our 7 year old is going back in July for oncology camp! And this after thinking "well, maybe next year, after chemo ends." Everything about the place is healing and loving. The thought that we have Okizu in our lives is so comforting; what a precious place of grace and fellowship. Standout moments: nature hike with Dr. Mike to the farthest western boundary, zip lining, talking with other families around cereal and archery, and feeling like a healthy family in nature again.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nametags-i have a hard time with new names.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

After our daughter's cancer diagnosis this past fall numerous medical personnel suggested we look into Camp Okizu. We attended our first family camp and knew instantly that this was a place of healing and support. I cannot express adequately how much I appreciate knowing that Camp Okizu is available to our family.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

suggest a corporation like Whole Foods partner with Okizu.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

My niece and nephews attended camp this summer. Their little brother has been battling cancer for the past year. It was so wonderful for them to have a happy place to go, where the focus is 100% on them. There have been challenges this year with finances due to Dad having to take time off work to help with hospital coverage. We are most grateful for this wonderful organization that makes it all possible and not a burden on the pocketbook.

Thank you Camp Okizu for everything. Thank you.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

I have attended this camp for 10 years. I was a camper for 7 years and now I've been a counselor to help change the life of the kids who attend. Camp always made me feel normal as a child. It's a horrible thing to have to see your family go through the experiences of childhood cancer. What I loved about this camp was I reassured you that you weren't alone. I was amazed when I first realized how many children have cancer. And when I attended sibs camp I was able to talk to other children who were in a similar situation like mine. I look forward to camp so much, that has always been my favorite part of my summer. The staff here are amazing and are so caring. I wouldn't be the same person I am today without this amazing place!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

This is an amazing place and organization! My son attended camp for 14 years and then became a counselor. It helped save his life!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

I was a camper & counseler for okizu . I used to be so shy and embarrassed about having cancer till I came here, met my best friend here and we are still besties over 20 years later. I've learned so much and gained a ton of confidence from camp Okizu. It definitly has changed my life ❤️

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

Just amazing! Happiest place on earth for campers and staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Perfection! Come check it out!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

I have been both a camper and a counselor at Oncology camp and a counselor at Family and SIBS camps. Okizu has made a tremendous impact on my life. As a teenager on chemo with no hair and scars most other teen girls don't have, it's hard to find a place to fit in and be comfortable in your own skin, but Okizu was able to provide that place for me. I was diagnosed with leukemia in 1990 at age 13. I attended camp for the first time the following summer. I am now a registered nurse, wife, and mother of three beautiful children. When they're older I am definitely gong back to camp. It is truly the best place in the world for families dealing with childhood cancers.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

1999

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers