Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
46 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 8, 2013

more

September 8, 2013

My granddaughter is a cancer patient in remission. She attends Camp Okizu every year. She and her family also attend family camp. Her sister, my other granddaughter who also has medical problems is in the Teen and Twenties club at Camp Okizu . This is a wonderful nonprofit organization. My husband and I have gone to pick the girls up from camp, nothing but SMILES, how wonderful this is to see. When you look around you see a lot of little bald heads, but it doesn’t matter there, they are not embarrassed they can be their selves and nothing but FUN. Thank You Camp Okizu for doing such a wonderful job!
Patricia Johnson

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let more people know what you do, and how the kids enjoy such a wonderful camp. More fund raising.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

My son was diagnosed with Leukemia as a young boy. It is difficult to take a trip as a family with a sick child who needs medications, is bald and acting up because of all the medications. We were able to attend several family weekends at Camp Okizu where all those things are normal, everyone has been there, nobody notices the loss of hair and other families have advice on how to deal with things. He is now in remission and a camper in the summer oncology camp...he turned down a trip to Europe because he'd rather spent a week at Camp Okizu. His older brother was under lots of stress when his brother got sick and was finally able to talk about it with other kids at siblings camp. My husband and I have donated a car, helped with fundraisers and are planning to do much more for this amazing organization that brings so much joy to families living through the nightmare of childhood cancer.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Camp Okizu has been a place my kids have longed to be every summer. My middle daughter was diagnosed with a brain tumor at the age of 18 months old. She started going to camp Okizu when she was 7 years old. She has been fighting cancer relapse her whole life. She is now 20 years old and is a 13 year veteran camper, never missed a year. The past two years she has gone back as an adult and volunteered her time at Camp Okizu's family camp. Her older sister also attended camp her entire childhood and also went back to volunteer as an adult for two years in a row. Her younger brother, now 15, has also been going since he was a baby (family camp with us), and to siblings camp since he was 7 years old. He loves it so much, he cant wait to volunteer at Camp Okizu like his sisters when he grows up. The kids have always felt loved, safe, supported, understood and carefree at camp. Its a place to belong, let go, have fun. The zip-lining, archery, crafts, boating, hiking, swimming, fishing, camp songs, dances, sharing time, friendships made, awesome fun counselors, fart contests, sleeping under the stars, and Tajar sightings, are just a few of the amazing memories that will last a life time. Camp Okizu is part of the fabric of our lives. Its whats made the most scary thing ever(cancer) into not so scary. We are forever grateful. Its an experience that makes you want to give back & a beautiful blessing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

My mother has been greatly involved with Camp Okizu since it has opened. I visited a few times as a child but never really was able to fully understand the beauty and magic of camp. Neither my brothers nor I have gone through childhood cancer, but I still know people, children and adults affected. This summer I decided to finally volunteer (much overdue) and little did I know how grateful I would be at the end of my first volunteer week. Being a counselor has given me a new outlook not only on my own life, but on the lives of those around me. What a wonderful, wonderful family Okizu is.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

When I first came to Okizu, it was with the idea that I would give week to volunteer, because it was the right thing to do. But after only a few hours my life was transformed. The spirit that drives this organization leaves a physical mark, and begins a literal transformation on all those who participate.
Under the Leadersip of Suzie Randall, volunteers and campers alike are given the gift of a week of pure joy. The campers lives become our life force during camp, and we grow through their strength.
The laughter, tears, jokes, friendships and love are so pure, they can only be the best medicine. Camp Okizu is amazing.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wouldn't .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

My daughter is a recent survivor of Acute Promyelocytic Leukemia. Camp Okizu helped us by connecting with other families and getting to feel normal somewhere. Our daughter had so much fun at camp and came home more confident. Sibling camp helped her sister understand more about what our family has gone through while at the same time letting her be a kid.
The wonderful staff at Okizu really care for the kids and make them all feel so loved and special.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

We just returned from our first Family Camp. I was so moved by the kindness of the staff, counselors, volunteers and other families. It was the first time my sons were able to have real camp experiences. I felt totally comfortable letting my kids go with the counselors because I know that they know how worried I can be (without having to say anything) and could deal with however my son would react - having been sick and next to me for the last 3+ years. I cannot wait to go again as I see it as a wonderful and unique opportunity for my kids to grow tremendously and to form lasting friendships over the years. Grateful!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have camps all year long!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 13, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 12, 2013

Looking forward for this year camp!!! Life changing experience for my son ALL survivor, 8 months after finishing with his treatment, he can hardly wait to share a week out of a year with his friends... more

August 13, 2013

Okizu has been there for my Child after he was diagnose with high risk ALL Leukemia by providing him with the opportunity to attend camp even though he was under chemotherapy treatment. Okizu gave him a sense of independence, the opportunity to make friends and the chance to be able to share his feelings after a devastating diagnosis with kids just like him that knows what he is going thru. The doctors, nurses, staff and volunteers are fantastic, for the Children they are family, I still remembered his first time attending... He so was scare... When he came back the first thing he said to me " I can hardly wait for next year!!! Ever since ,my son looks forward to attend and join his new found friends. I have seen my child come back from camp more confident, independent, and mature. The last time he came from camp he said to me " Okizu has been the best thing that ever happen to me". Thank you Okizu!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Excellent job no changes!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 12, 2013

Looking forward for this year camp!!!
Life changing experience for my son ALL survivor, 8 months after finishing with his treatment, he can hardly wait to share a week out of a year with his friends, doctors, nurses, volunteers. Okizu has provided him with independence, motivation and a
sense of normalcy during his chemotherapy treatment, be able to reconnect with life long friendships and share feelings, bring hope as a survivor to other campers on treatment. Best therapy!!! Camp Okizu is amazing!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 12, 2013

more

August 12, 2013

I am the Grandmother of a child with Metachromatic Leukodystrophy who attends Camp Okizu every summer. Her siblings attend during sibling weeks. They are so excited to go and the experience has helped them all cope with illness in their family.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 12, 2013

more

August 12, 2013

Being a counselor at an Okizu summer camp session is by far the greatest part of my summer and has been for the past 7 years. Seeing the kids get off the bus nervous, anxious, and excited the first day and getting back on the bus the last day full of smiles, loaded with friend's phone numbers, and exploding with memories makes my year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide more camp opportunities for Teens and Twenties (it is the smallest of their 4 camp programs).

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers