Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
67 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

I volunteered as a counselor for Camp Okizu two summers in a row. It is an incredible, life-changing, and inspirational organization. Through volunteering with Camp Okizu, I have met some of the best people I have ever known - people who truly care about making a positive difference in the lives of children and teens coping with cancer. It is wonderful to see the campers simply being kids and having fun (and camp truly is, the MOST FUN place I have ever been). There were moments at camp when I'd pause and think, "This is the best day of my life," so needless to say, each day at camp was a "best day." I cannot express enough how much this organization means to me. I am forever grateful to have served the campers so that they too think, "This is the best day of my life," each day of camp.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

I am a SIBS camper at Okizu. This year was my tenth year as a camper. Okizu is an amazing place where no one judges you, you can be yourself, you feel special and important, and everyone there can relate. Okizu to me is my second home ,my peace, my happiness, my world. If i could go anywhere in the world i would go to Okizu; not Paris, not Rome, not anywhere else. Okizu is beautiful, you are surrounded by nature, caring people, and excitement. I LOVE OKIZU!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it a school. Imagine learning like you do in a classroom but surrounded by fun, happiness, nature, etc. But that's just an unrealistic dream. Other than unrealistic dreams Okizu is perfect!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014

more

June 29, 2014

Okizu is a beautiful place for those of us families dealing with childhood cancers. Both of my daughters have used the summer camps (sibs and oncology) and we have been to the family camps for 5 years. This place is perfectly run and they never stray from their mission. Beautiful organization with impeccable taste and caring souls.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Offer more opportunities per year.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014

more

June 29, 2014

Okizu has made such a profound impact on my life. I have been a SIBS camper for six years and a 'bereaved' camper for two of those years. The wonderful, empathetic, loving, huge-hearted, down-to-earth humans who make Okizu happen have helped me relax, heal, understand my family's situation, and feel less alone. Okizu provides a wonderful place AT ABSOLUTLEY NO COST for kids and families affected by childhood cancer when they most desperately need it. While Okizu is surrounded by beautiful nature, it is also clean, comfortable, and handicap accessible. It is the perfect escape. Okizu is so very close to my heart and the hearts of many, many others.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help them build more cabins/buildings as needed to accommodate more families; get the word out more so nobody eligible misses out on this amazing life opportunity.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014

more

June 29, 2014

I can still remember that first day I got on that bus. I was 6 years old and had no idea that Okizu would have such a impact on my life. 27 years later Okizu is still one of the best memories of my life. It's the one place where people like me can be normal or feel normal. A safe place to talk about our scars or the fact we have no hair. A place to make lasting friendships that I still have today. Okizu made my cancer ok. Gave me strength, wisdom, and humbled my soul. I am so thankful I got to spend my summers there. I take those memories with me always . If I haven't said this before I'll say it now! Thank you Mr. john Bell and family I love you all dearly

Jenny Clement-Mansfield

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2004

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

As the mother of a Leukemia patient and survivor, I have seen first had what an amazing place Camp Okizu is. We have had the pleasure of attending family camp with other wonderful families that have travelled down similar roads and common journeys. It is really important to have the time to meet other families who have or are currently going through similar situations. My daughter will be going to her last year of oncology camp this year and she is really looking forward to attending. After this year, she hopes to be a counselor to help other kids that are fighting their own battles. Thank You Okizu!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

As a volunteer, I saw the good Camp Okizu does for the kids as well as for their parents (siblings too). The children were simply having a wonderful time having fun and being treated as children and not patients. Hard to imagine it could get any better. I've also seen many of the letters and videos the children have produced in support of the Camp -- and they love it!,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

Camp Okizu is amazing. We have gone to the family camp and it just is nice to have people who understand what childhood cancer dose to a family. The Oncology and Sibs camp not only gave my girls a break from cancer but I think it has changed their life. What they learn and the healing that takes place at camp just can't happen anyplace else for some of these kids. Their is no words to describe how thankful I am for this place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 28, 2014

more

June 28, 2014

This is the best experience that my kids have ever had! My four children had lost their sibling from cancer and this camp allowed my kids to connect with other kids with siblings who have lost their sibling or have had siblings who had gone through cancer. This camp allowed my children to have a week of pure fun but to also talk about their feelings and experiences while they suffered their loss. The staff are all so nice! After they get home from camp, I know that they have made life long friends and they already look forward to the following year. I am so thankful for Camp Okizu and appreciate all they have done and given to my children!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Our first trip to Okizu was in May for Family Camp...it was the first time since our Daughter's diagnosis of leukemia last year that she was able to really experience being a "normal" kid again. Her brother seemed to laugh more than I've seen in a long time. Who would have thought that someone who mainly was in a wheelchair to get around would be zip-lining?! Absolutely incredible Organization and Volunteers! We'll be back.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers