Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.826095
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

OFFCenter is a great place. Walking in for the first time I was welcomed immediately by staff and volunteers. Everyone was busy making art, all kinds. The level of activity was staggering and the art on display all over the studio took me by surprise. Friends had recommended the OFFCenter classes on jewelry making and bead making but nothing could prepare me for the range of activities. This is truly a place where anyone, regardless of their age or income status can come make art for free. In addition it offers artists a place to display and sell their art. You can be a first time artist or struggling artist, no one cares and no one judges. OFFCenter is all about serving the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I first discovered OFFCenter in 2004, shortly after I moved to Albuquerque. My first five years here were very rough; I was assaulted shortly after moving here and could'nt find steady employment. OFFCenter gave me a job as a maintenance person and a place to sell my jewelry creations. I've met many fine people there who have become like family to me. OFFCenter gave me hope during hard times and kept me going. I know there are many others with similar stories. There are many disadvantaged people with true artistic talent and great character. OFFCenter provides these individuals with an outlet for expression and the opportunity to sell their creations. In addition, the organization is a true community where people can learn, teach, collaborate, network, and just plain make friends. There's even a little food for those who are hungry. I am now employed full-time as a veterinary technician and make a little money selling my jewelry on the side. I am an OFFCenter success story, and I know there are many others. I believe in OFFCenter so much that I joined the Board of Directors! OFFCenter is truly one of Albuquerque's bright spots!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

When I first moved to Albuquerque, I needed to meet and be around fellow artists. I never anticipated finding a studio where I be part of the community. This community is made up of handicapped, elderly, children, homeless, along side of career artists. There is a networking amongst everyone that encourages and supports new artists. This is a unique situation for people who do not have the means to purchase art supplies or a place to work. Something constructive for some people who want to improve their lives in a positive way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I am fortunate to have OFFCenter in my neighborhood and to be involved in such a a positive endeavor. I was taken to OFFCenter by a friend to explore the open studio space. She thought the studio with its varied materials and people making art would help my creative process. She also pushed/encouraged me to put a piece in one of the OFFCenter shows. I did. It sold. For me, it offered a save place to begin showing my work to others and offered me resources and information helpful to new artists and those looking to sell more of their work. The open studio is a wonderful welcoming space for everyone in the community. It is a truly inclusive community space and that is its magic. Making art together truly builds bridges.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers