Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.826095
Write A Review
November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

My initial interaction with OFF Center was hearing great things about it from friends. When my artist friend Teddy decided to donate her extensive art supplies, I suggested that she donate them to OFF Center. We packed my car to the ceiling and for the first time, I saw OFF Center. I was quite impressed but for some undefined reason waited another three or so years before I decided to volunteer there. Mostly what I have done since that day is talk to people. I love chatting, but more so I enjoy seeing individuals grow. The environment for producing all types of artwork, the freedom for individuals to direct their work and interacting with artists of all ages to create casual camaraderie is like magic. I love it all and know I receive far more than I give.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

OFFCenter provides an open studio for all to come and explore their creativity. Although I don't have a creative bone in my body, everytime I have been to OFFCenter or participated in any of their events, everyone is very friendly and welcoming. This type of atmosphere makes you want to keep coming back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

An amazing open art studio, OFFCenter Community Arts Project welcomes all comers who want to make art in a welcoming, safe and creative atmosphere! Free art materials, work space and peer mentors as we learn from one another in various art media: drawing and painting, print-making, knitting/crocheting, jewelry and metal creating- a special theme throughout the 11 year history is "recycled" art - an art piece from odds and ends! Now this widespread theme is called "re-purposing", but I feel certain OFFCenter in a small way has led the way for many artists, new and experienced, to create from "just stuff". For myself, I am grateful for the many friendships enjoyed over the years with folks from all parts of our community and all levels of economic position, including homeless and near-homeless. The only boundaries in this hospitable community are those of respect for others. As a volunteer and participant, I know OFFCenter keeps going on a very tight budget with only 3 parttime staff - almost miraculous!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more


1 previous review
July 8, 2011

I've been a volunteer for different events at OFFCenter for several years. Particularly one of their biggest and most fun annual events is the We Art The People Folk Fest in Robinson Park in Septembe... more

November 27, 2012

I am lucky enough to be a regular volunteer at different OFFCenter events or in the open studio . There is no other place where I see the mix of people interacting together in one place as I do in OFFCenter. The urge to create and to appreciate creativity draws people to OFFCenter. It is a comfortable place for anyone who goes there that makes you want to return and meet more people or explore some new kind of creative expression. It's also a wonderful place to find beautiful and one of a kind treasures that are affordable, and sometimes you can meet the person who made it too!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 8, 2011

I've been a volunteer for different events at OFFCenter for several years. Particularly one of their biggest and most fun annual events is the We Art The People Folk Fest in Robinson Park in September. I volunteer all day, starting with getting people ready for the giant puppet parade. It's great because anyone from the community can come to participate and wear or carry a puppet and people who do have lots of fun. Other people just enjoy watching the parade in the park. During the day I have volunteered in the 'kids' art tent (sometimes old people are kids too) where there are several projects that kids can do and take away during the day long art festival. Some years I have volunteered in the Board tent telling people about all the other great art making, learning and sharing opportunities available at OFFCenter (which is located just across the street from where the festival is) and selling items to benefit OFFCenter. During the festival there are different local music and entertainment acts and about 100 local art vendors all selling their own handmade work. The idea of OFFCenter is to make art very accessible, both from the artist side - so the fee for vendors to participate in this event are a fraction of the cost for most festivals like this one - and also the participant side, so there are things sold for a whole range of prices. I have also volunteered in the food booths and also as general set up for the whole park prior to the festival (which is much more work than one would expect). This is a great annual event in Albuquerque and it's lots of fun to see so many (about 3,000) people come and enjoy it and for lots of them to learn about OFFCenter and then come back to the center at another time. Volunteering at OFFCenter can take some patience because there are so many things happening, but it has helped me to be more tolerant of a little chaos, and the results are worth it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

witnessing a place where people really from all different walks of life are in one place with a common interest and feel comfortable because of their shared creative goals (even though they are working on individual projects)

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a huge financial contributor for them so they could buy their own building and hire more people to do even more great things at their center

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

OFFCenter's 10 year history is inspiring and I am proud to have been there to see it grow all the way. Starting first in a small storefront, it is now housed in a large storefront that includes exhibits of art made by participants which are for sale and an art space for exhibits created by all and any of us who wish to participate. It's a lift of spirit to be there whatever your choice and level of skill.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers