Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.826095
Write A Review
July 18, 2013

more


1 previous review
December 15, 2012

Off Center is fantastic. They do so much to help those less fortunate. I think the fact that people of all ages and economic backgrounds come together and share in their knowledge is rare. I like that... more

July 18, 2013

Off Center is still my favorite NP. I've made life long friends there and like an old friend it is there for all who need it!! Volunteered there for several years and was also a client served. Both were wonderfully enriching experiences.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Wouldn't change a thing. Its been working well for many years and

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 15, 2012

Off Center is fantastic. They do so much to help those less fortunate. I think the fact that people of all ages and economic backgrounds come together and share in their knowledge is rare. I like that!! I have meet some of the most wonderful artisans there.Learned to knit from a woman in the hands on workshop and now make scarves for people as gifts ( family and the homeless). Also was able to sell a few paintings which was a real boost. Everyone gives of themselves to help other people and this is a real service to the whole community. I volunteered there for several years doing things like cleaning, setting out snacks & sorting. it made me feel like an important part of something bigger than myself. I like to buy things from the shop to support the center and the artists .Now days I see a new group of people growing.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

I love Off Center! The staff is always around to help me out and support others in finding materials and guiding them towards new and fun classses and workshops. I always feel at home whenever I walk in the door and so uplifted for coming and reuniting with my creative self. Definitely a 'you must go to Off Center' if you haven't already- one of the best places ABQ has to offer!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

OFFCenter is a great place. Walking in for the first time I was welcomed immediately by staff and volunteers. Everyone was busy making art, all kinds. The level of activity was staggering and the art on display all over the studio took me by surprise. Friends had recommended the OFFCenter classes on jewelry making and bead making but nothing could prepare me for the range of activities. This is truly a place where anyone, regardless of their age or income status can come make art for free. In addition it offers artists a place to display and sell their art. You can be a first time artist or struggling artist, no one cares and no one judges. OFFCenter is all about serving the community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

OffCenter has given me the confidence to allow myself to be creatively expressive. I have found such encouragement and support for my art work. I credit OffCenter for many new friendships, opportunities for volunteering and connecting me to our community in a unique way. I remember the first time I came to OffCenter, Marcia asked me if I wanted to create something. I remember feeling shy - but surprised at how being asked really opened me up.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012

more

November 30, 2012

This non-profit offers a creative home to people of all strata. The classes are excellent. This non-profit offers the kind of healing community so much needed in this particular time.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

My initial interaction with OFF Center was hearing great things about it from friends. When my artist friend Teddy decided to donate her extensive art supplies, I suggested that she donate them to OFF Center. We packed my car to the ceiling and for the first time, I saw OFF Center. I was quite impressed but for some undefined reason waited another three or so years before I decided to volunteer there. Mostly what I have done since that day is talk to people. I love chatting, but more so I enjoy seeing individuals grow. The environment for producing all types of artwork, the freedom for individuals to direct their work and interacting with artists of all ages to create casual camaraderie is like magic. I love it all and know I receive far more than I give.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I first discovered OFFCenter in 2004, shortly after I moved to Albuquerque. My first five years here were very rough; I was assaulted shortly after moving here and could'nt find steady employment. OFFCenter gave me a job as a maintenance person and a place to sell my jewelry creations. I've met many fine people there who have become like family to me. OFFCenter gave me hope during hard times and kept me going. I know there are many others with similar stories. There are many disadvantaged people with true artistic talent and great character. OFFCenter provides these individuals with an outlet for expression and the opportunity to sell their creations. In addition, the organization is a true community where people can learn, teach, collaborate, network, and just plain make friends. There's even a little food for those who are hungry. I am now employed full-time as a veterinary technician and make a little money selling my jewelry on the side. I am an OFFCenter success story, and I know there are many others. I believe in OFFCenter so much that I joined the Board of Directors! OFFCenter is truly one of Albuquerque's bright spots!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

I first discovered OffCenter 8 years ago when I met several people who worked there as employees and others as clients. I quickly became a client myself as I found a very warm and welcoming staff and visitors. I was mentored by several people and it helped me through some tough times. Sharing our different views and techniques of art and what it means to us individually was, and is, the most enlightening experience I have had. I continue to this day to be encouraged by the visitors who come by to get lost for a few moments in their personal art making. I have participated in many open juried shows that are always fun and colorful offering all who participate a new experience of exhibiting and the possibility of selling that work. There is also a gallery shop where artist may offer their works for sale creating another level of opportunity. Between the shop and the shows there is such a variety of art to examine, encourage and inspire any visitor, budding or seasoned artist. There are also workshops offered--low-cost or no-cost!--with many different mediums and techniques including sewing, printmaking (my favorite), painting, puppet/mask making, found object sculpture making including metal, bottles, wire, bottle tops, etc.... I volunteer often offering my time to assist others who would like to learn a new form of art making which has opened up the opportunity to actually teach organized workshops (and get paid a small stipend--greatly appreciated). The organization is run with a small, yet dedicated staff, but there is always tasks to be done to help the day-to-day operation. Setting up shows, openings, neatening the materials is something I assist with as well. There are some student/service individuals who get credit, pay or both for their work at the center and this always adds additional liveliness with their smiles, infinite energy and helpfulness that is so essential to the atmosphere. The center is open to all who want to make art--families, individuals, all abilities, socioeconomic status and several social workers bring their clients--all are welcome to make art, interact, participate in shows enriching everyone's experience at the center. Almost all materials, equipment and supplies--even furniture-- is donated to the center. This type of service oriented center is one of several that dot the map of the States and Canada and I am so thankful that such a place as OffCenter is in my community.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

OFFCenter provides an open studio for all to come and explore their creativity. Although I don't have a creative bone in my body, everytime I have been to OFFCenter or participated in any of their events, everyone is very friendly and welcoming. This type of atmosphere makes you want to keep coming back.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

When I first moved to Albuquerque, I needed to meet and be around fellow artists. I never anticipated finding a studio where I be part of the community. This community is made up of handicapped, elderly, children, homeless, along side of career artists. There is a networking amongst everyone that encourages and supports new artists. This is a unique situation for people who do not have the means to purchase art supplies or a place to work. Something constructive for some people who want to improve their lives in a positive way.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers