Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
12 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
May 10, 2012

more

May 10, 2012

Exceptional organisation I have been involved with since 2007. OceansWatch is founded on and driven by a genuine passion for conservation and humanitarian values and promoting living in balance with our planet. Like myself, OceansWatch advocates the need for better protection of our oceans in order to maintain it as a sustainable resource for many generations to come. With skilled organisation and contacts, the organisation is able to deliver this message to island communities in a way that really makes a difference. I am proud to be associated with OceansWatch and hope to be so for many years to come.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 6, 2012

more

May 6, 2012

As a volunteer I am always impressed with the organisation and effectivness of OceansWatch. The team work really hard together, working towards a common goal of creating a sustailable future for islanders in need and helping to raise the awarness of our environment and what it should meen to us. As a volunteer you are made to feel very welcome and as one with the OceansWatch family. A great experience and a great way to help our earth.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 27, 2012

more

April 27, 2012

As a contributor to Oceanswatch I have been constantly impressed by the professionalism that Chris Bone has brought to all aspects of the project. We share a vision to engage with the world's yachting community in order to undertake projects that help the marine environment and remote coastal and island communities. The potential of this organisation to make a real difference is huge and Chris has never lost sight of the need to engage with local communities and offer real value through establishing mutually respectful partnerships. I cannot recommend this organisation too strongly to potential donors. Join us and share in the excitement of watching small ripples spread across the oceans of the world, becoming larger and larger...helping to create sustainable lives in some of the most remote communities on Planet Ocean!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 23, 2012

more

April 23, 2012

Oceanswatch works from a great community development model, with a focus on upskilling and empowering communities, so that they are able to eventually manage their own marine and other resources in a sustainable way.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 21, 2012

more

April 21, 2012

We are a small nonprofit with very few overheads and therefore the projects that we do are very efficient and this means people donating money to OceansWatch can be sure that the money goes to making a difference to the communities where we are working. We have strong values and stick closely to our vision, mission and objectives while insuring that the people involved with us feel job satisfaction and also have a great experience.

Photos

Videos

OceansWatch 2008 pt 1

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

See this video on youtube to listen to a community member talk about his experience with OceansWatch: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cygRxdz1L_0

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is its top priority in the long run?

Healthy Oceans and Sustainable Island Communities

April 20, 2012

more

April 20, 2012

Oceanswatch is a fantastic organisation making a real positive impact on the environment. Chris Bone keeps us at Eradicating Ecocide informed on a number of environmentally destructive projects happening and Oceans watch is key in standing up against these.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 20, 2012

more

April 20, 2012

OcenasWatch is a grass roots organisation that is actually achieving practical results in ocean conservation, sustainable resource use and environmental remediation. Their work with island coastal communities is inspiring because hey truly work in partnership with those communities and assist them in responding to enormous challenges that are mainly not of their own making, eg. climate change and global warming, over fishing by industrial fishing industries and coastal land use changes. By being member based they keep their feet firmly on the ground nd their energy focused on practical solutions. I have been involved with OceansWatch in a number of capacities, marine mammal protoclos, Reef check training, and dive training and I am hugely impressed by their commitment and professionalism. What they have achieved with so little funding is amazing. But they do need more support so I strongly urge anyone who is looking for ways to support Ocean conservation to consider OceansWatch as a worthy organisation to support. I am so impressed with them that I have donated the use of my catamaran for their projects. Glenn Edney

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

he setting up of marine protected areas and yacht owner education

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get their efforts more widely known

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

Grass roots, member based non profit working in remote areas that other organizations don't get to.

April 20, 2012

more

April 20, 2012

OceansWatch http://oceanswatch.org is the organisation that is linking cruising yachts with training in a worldwide reef monitoring project (Reef Check) and cultural awareness and education about cruising among and visiting coastal communities in the South and West Pacific. I have been following their projects over the past 4 years, and they have succeeded in establishing lasting relationships with their project communities, and through trust and commitment, have helped them declare and secure Marine Protected Areas where the fish stocks are returning. As the relationship strengthens, other areas present themselves - helping families pay school fees by selling their craft to developed country markets and returning the profits to the artists themselves, and instituting sister schools in Australia and New Zealand to procure books and school materials. OceansWatch has helped connect the community on Rennell Island with legal advice to prevent large commercial forestry projects on their island and limit the damage to their reef . OceansWatch is doing the work we know needs doing.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

awareness raising of the problems faced by Pacific Island coastal communities

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find a full-time media and marketing person, and an independently wealthy donor with an open pocket

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What one change could this group make that would improve your volunteer experience?

remember to keep photo journals of every event

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

lots of wonderful new friends

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

useful

April 18, 2012

more

April 18, 2012

Oceanswatch is an inspiring Ocean Conservation organization that works with small island communities around the world to help them adapt to changing oceans and protect vital fish and habitat resources on which they depend. Oceanswatch is one of the best organizations that are working with Oceans as they employ the use of passionate volunteers and yatchs to get to remote islands and complete their work.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2012

more

April 18, 2012

I find the work OceansWatch is doing very inspiring. Preventing the destruction of the reefs and coastal communities is so worthwhile and much better than trying to "fix" the damage later on.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers