Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
1234.913045
Write A Review
November 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

My daughter has been volunteering since she was 12 yrs old, and she loves ODA. Kurt and his crew do wonderful and amazing things for our ocean. I love my time helping clean up as often as we can! Thanks ODA!!!
September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

ODA is the best. I am so impressed with the work Ocean Defenders Alliance is doing . ODA is cleaning up our ocean and saving the lives of countless marine wildlife . In bringing awareness and education to the public ODA is providing all with food for thought in how we can play a role in helping to improve our environment.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

September 28, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

ODA - Ocean Defenders Alliance work amazes me - hands on team of divers literally pulling debris, rope, nets, trash, traps from the ocean which kills or traps 100's of marine animals an HOUR! Given that 70% of our oxygen comes from the ocean, their work is critical to protect all of us.
September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Ocean Defenders Alliance has a logical and focused approach to cleaning the ocean, which will help future generations of sea life and humans.
Tony
September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
March 25, 2014

ODA routinely exceeds my expectations with their drive to remove debris from the ocen wherever they find it. They will take reports from divers, follow up on rumors from fisherman, investigate reporte... more

September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

ODA is dedicated and hands on when it comes to removing ghost fishing gear from our local waters. They also do harbor clean ups with middle school kids--passing on the passion to the next generation. I really do enjoy volunteering with Captain Kurt and the rest of the ODA crew. We get dirty, work hard, and have a great time.
March 25, 2014

ODA routinely exceeds my expectations with their drive to remove debris from the ocen wherever they find it. They will take reports from divers, follow up on rumors from fisherman, investigate reported debris from the local authorities and ALWAYS get that trash out of the ocean.

Something
else they do that I appreciate is involve a lot of young people in the process. Middle schoolers helped with two recent cleanup operations. It may seem like a drop in the ocean (teaching some kids) but it has a ripple effect.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We wrote a whole book with the top ocean experts from around the world called Sea Voices, and we can honestly say that Ocean Defenders Alliance is one of the most incredible organizations we have come across. They do their important work like removing debris from the ocean for one reason only ~ because they care! They do not do it to get attention from the media like some organizations, and they don't do it to line their own pockets! They are the real deal and the ocean is a better place because of ODA and they are also supportive of other organizations that help the ocean, they are non-competitive when it comes to who helps. Elizabeth & Duffy Healey
September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have worked for many different volunteer orangizations. Ocean Defenders Alliance (ODA) has been, by far, the most rewarding and positive experience I have had. Not only is the volunteer work worthwhile, you can see the results of your efforts first hand, knowing that you have helped the oceans, living things of every make and model, and our world as a whole. Add to that the enthusiasm and passion of its founder Kurt Lieber and you have a recipe for something greater than its parts. There is not enough time or money to immediately undo all of the damage mankind has contributed to our planet. But, every little bit helps and we all have to start somewhere if we are going to make a difference. ODA makes a difference and is part of the change for the better.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would donate more time and funds.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 25, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

From everything I have seen, this organization has passion and integrity, two essential ingredients for every non-profit organization.

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I needed to volunteer with a non profit group as a "check off box" for my volunteer commitment to achieve my black belt in karate. Once I started working with Kurt Lieber and his organization I saw how committed they were to defending our ocean resources, and I became a life-long fan. It is a professional organization and is the epitome of what my instructor says about thinking globally but acting locally. Recovering the abandoned nets have made a significant impact on the ocean wildlife.
September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

ODA is my all time favorite org., and I given to a lot of different groups. The work that the founder, Kurt Lieber, and his volunteer crew does is amazing. The creatures in our Southern California ocean are lucky to have ODA around. If possible please sign-up for a monthly donation to ODA. Thank you.
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help us on boat (hauling in nets), on our boat at dock, or help with office tasks! Volunteer