Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
10 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
May 28, 2013

more


1 previous review
June 15, 2012

What a wonderful organization to be involved in. My daughter is currently volunteering for the next two years at the school in Tanzania. I hope to visit and help out next year. I am amazed at the lo... more

May 28, 2013

Just returned from my first visit to the O'Brien School. What a beautiful oasis in this Maasai Village. The children, women, elders and entire community are benefitting from this much needed school in the small village of Sanya Station, Tanzania. The children are happy, healthy and thriving on their love of learning. The school is a true beacon of hope with clean running water, electricity, Internet and a library. After 6 short years and a very small budget this school is now rated 2nd in the District! The women's group is thriving too, making jewelry and clothing. I know big non profits justify paying their board members huge salaries, but somehow seeing what this unpaid American Board and volunteer staff along with the paid Tanzanian teachers and the village can accomplish, my donations dollars are better spent at The O'Brien School for the Maasai. I was truly humbled by their enthusiastic love of life and how grateful they were for things we take for granted. Visit them on Facebook, O'Brien School for the Maasai or www.obrienschool.com and see all the pictures of this amazing school .

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 15, 2012

What a wonderful organization to be involved in. My daughter is currently volunteering for the next two years at the school in Tanzania. I hope to visit and help out next year. I am amazed at the love, respect and gratitude that the Maasai Tribe has shown her. They are a people who have so little but are joyful, kind and very appreciative. The eagerness to learn among the students is amazing. This school was built on land donated by the Maasai tribe and donations from Kellie O'Brien and her friends and family. After reviewing the finances for Guidestar, (my committee work) it is amazing that every penny raised goes directly to benefit the school and it's programs!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am currently a long-term volunteer at the O'Brien School for the Maasai. I've been here for about 8 months already and am even more excited about the months ahead. I've established amazing relationships with the American Board, committee, and supporters in addition to the Tanzanian teachers, staff, and students.
The greatest part of the O'Brien School is the undying dedication to the whole community. The students are performing top in the district, the teachers are constantly looking for ways to improve and enrich their lessons, the women are making their first income with the jewelry projects.
I couldn't imagine a better way to spend my years after college than working with a superb American team and living with the most welcoming people I've ever met.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 15, 2013

more

January 15, 2013

I am honored to be affiliated with the O'Brien School for the Maasai! Kellie O'Brien is an inspiration to all that come in contact with her. Kellie and her daughter traveled to Tanzania Africa and discovered and impoverished village of Maasai people. They desperately wanted a school for their children. With the help of family and friends a school, access to well water, a womens' center and so much more have now become apart of their lives. I am in awe of all the wonderful work that has been done. This is a wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 22, 2012

more

October 22, 2012

The success that the school has realized is in direct correlation to the dedication of the founders, the support of generous donors and the commitment to education by the village. It has been an absolute privilege to provide my time, talent and resources to this worthy organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 19, 2012

more

October 19, 2012

I thoroughly enjoy helping this fantastic organization. I had the privilege of visiting this amazing school and it was a joy to see the happy children learning and enjoying life. Kellie is truly changing lives in the Maasai students and their families. Helping this organization is definitely time well spent!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

I am one of the first long-term volunteers here at the O'Brien School for the Maasai -- I will be here for at least one year. I have already been here for almost 2 months, and the experience has been truly unforgettable. The school is a beautiful green oasis in the middle of a dry, dusty Maasai village. Without this school, the children of Sanya Station, Tanzania would not have any access to quality education. By teaching these Maasai children valuable skills in English, mathematics, reading, character building, and other important subjects, we are working to empower a future generation of leaders -- not just of Tanzania, but of the world. Not only does the school educate the boys and girls of the village, but we also have a women's center which teaches the women of the village valuable skills. Volunteering here and seeing how welcoming and beautiful all of these people are, inside and out, has already made a huge impact on my life. The O'Brien School is doing so much for the Maasai of Sanya Station; it is a great organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 29, 2012

more

April 29, 2012

This is a charity that is bringing hope to a village where there had been little hope. Their dream was to have their children educated. Five years ago the O'Brien school accepted this challenge and through the help of family and friends built a school for 400 children. A well was dug, electricity was brought to the village. The children are being educated, they are being fed two healthy meals a day, they have fresh drinking water and are practicing personal hygiene. A vocatonal center, for the women was started and the women are sewing and making jewelry to earn money for their families. A garden and trees have been planted to provide fresh produce. Food is being sent from America and the women are learning how to make healthy meals from what they have. All of this is life changing for this village, but especially for the young girls. The girls are married at an early age if they are not in school. If they are in school and doing well they are allowed to continue their education. This education is allowing for the possibility of a bright future for these girls and their village. One hundred percent of the funds collected and donations made go directly to the school. This is a grass roots organization, made up of caring generous people who want to make a positive difference in this world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think it is being run extremely well. I would love to see a more steady stream of donations so that we would know how much money we had to work with. I would like to see a dormitory for volunteers and teachers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

My dear friend cmae back from the village and told me about their request for a school. She asked me if I would help and after hearing the story I said aboslutely!

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

education of the children

What is its top priority in the long run?

education of the children so they will be able to continue on to secondary school. and a successful vocational center for the women that is run by the women.

April 19, 2012

more

April 19, 2012

I have been to the school three times and the progress each time is exponential. From the physical structures to the education of the children it is amazing to see the continued momentum. Unlike some other organizations 100% of every dollar goes directly to the school.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
April 18, 2012

It's not often that you see a grassroots organization make as large as an impact as the The O'Brien School for the Maasai has, not only in Tanzania but also right in Hinsdale and the surrounding communities where the volunteers live. To know that you can change the life course of a child is an amazing thing. In a few short years we have transformed a village into a learning meca for children and their parents. We have brought in water and electricity to a school with 320 children. Our library has over 3,000 books and our women's center is empowering our women to help provide for their families. Our volunteers have gone back again and again and again to help because they understand the impact they are having on these children and their families. This is an organization with a lot of heart and passion.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers