Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
27 Reviews
1234.740745
Write A Review
January 27, 2014

more

January 27, 2014

I visited the OBAT English school in Dhaka and was incredibly impressed by the work being carried out. The staff were well trained, the students were bright and intelligent and the experience was extremely positive. In fact, I'm not sure I've visited a non-profit before where I felt so much good work was being done. The organisation doesn't just run schools but also training centers, health clinics, and infrastructure projects in the camps. It is well run, efficient, cost-effective and makes a practical, tangible difference to the lives of those living in the camps on a daily basis. I only hope it can continue to do such good work, without which the residents of the camps in Bangladesh would suffer terribly.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 22, 2014

more

July 22, 2014

Since 2009 I have been working in Bangladesh with members of the camp-dwelling Urdu-speaking community, who OBAT Helpers serve. My encounters since that time with OBAT have been consistently positive, observing strong leadership and vision, enthusiastic and invested community-based staff, and youth who are just as enthused to get involved in activities and be empowered to become change makers in their community. Understanding the current needs of the camp residents and being in tune with global develop best-practices, OBAT has created the ''OBAT Think Tank" as a vehicle of youth activism and their "Clean and Green" campaign which emphasizes the role of the built environment in public health and safety. Well done OBAT Helpers and keep up the good work!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NGO politics is a complicated issue in the camps (as it is anywhere), and I see OBAT as a leader in coordinating with other NGOs so each could provide a unique set of services and in this way be more effective in addressing the variety of needs had by the camp residents.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2014

more

June 10, 2014

When I first started working with OBAT Helpers I thought it would help out, make my stamp and move on to the next project. A few years later I am still trying to make to make a simple footprint. The president of the organization Anwar Khan is one of the hardest working people I have ever met. His vision for the forgotten people grows ever year. This organization is dedicated to making the world a better place, by building the people in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 29, 2014

more

May 29, 2014

OBAT helpers is focused to bring change in the lives of people forgotten by others. OBAT has taken an initiative to improve the quality of life for the stateless forgotten people.
I am impressed by the self empowerment projects lead by the organization. The organizational goals and objectives
are aligned with its mission. The transparency gives confidence to its donors for their contribution of resources, time, and effort.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help create more chapters to expand its work locally and/or globally.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014


OBAT Helpers has a very practical and specific goal with powerful approach towards helping stranded Pakistani in various camps in Bangladesh. This organization is moving forward and bringing hope and changes in the lives of most forgetable people. One of the goal is to return a sense of
dignity and self empowerment to these victims of history who live in these camps without hope for the last 40 plus years.

OBAT works in the areas of education, health, and micro-finance. With the help of Obat helpers, I believe that these people who are in camps will get back soon their identity and pride.



Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would open more centers

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 28, 2014

more

May 28, 2014

I am really proud to be a volunteer and member of this great organization for the past 2 years. Based on my experiences in working with different non-profit organizations, so far OBAT is one of the great community organization that I have been part of. It is an honor for me to be a part of OBATwho are working with stranded Pakistanis known as Biharis in Bangladeshi camps. The projects that OBAT is working on such as the Education, Micro-financing, family assistance and healthcare is just phenomenal. May Allah grant OBAT more success in the upcoming years :).

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

OBAT is just working great, I don't think any changes are required at this time.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 23, 2014

more

May 23, 2014

I have worked with this organization in a variety of ways for the last 7 years. They have a committed and passionate staff. They are doing amazing work that is really making a difference in people's lives. And, they are good community partners. OBAT is an inspiring organization!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 22, 2014

more

May 22, 2014

I have seen this beautiful organization grow from its inception to what it is today, watching on the sidelines as a donor and I have to say, I'm amazed at the integrity, growth and difference this organization has made in the last 10+ years. I have witnessed and seen the lives changed, empowered and inspired by the programs this organization runs. I will continue to support as a donor and one-day as a volunteer to the best of my ability. Until then, i continue to watch on the sidelines and become inspired and awed at the wonderful work OBAT has enabled.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 20, 2014

more

May 20, 2014

OBAT Helpers' story, remains the most inspiring story for me. It is a story of taking action to make the world a better place, for people who have known nothing but hard life. The dedication and selflesness of the people in OBAT, the mission they take to heart, the hard work and their energy to live true to the organization's mission, does indeed far exceeds my expectations and by far, of all the people of have heard of the organization and its mission. OBAT is not merely a non-profit organization, it doesn't take donations and buy "stuff" for the displaced Pakistanis (Biharis) who live in the camps in Bangladesh, OBAT empowers, educates and builds foundation to improve the lives of the Biharis. I consider myself lucky and honored to be part of OBAT and to know the people who work for OBAT.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 10, 2014

more

May 10, 2014

When I first leaned of OBAT Helpers I was not familiar with the story of the stranded Pakistani people they serve. As I became more involved, my heart was overwhelmed by the enormity of the challenge OBAT has taken on in addressing the needs and helping the lives of these people. They have built schools, provided medical help, sanitary bathing facilities, opportunities for small business ownership to bring income into the community and much more. Thanks to OBAT, the children of these communities have hope of a better life outside the camps. They are able to achieve academically and even have opportunity to gain college education. Something which would have been far from a goal for previous generations.
OBAT Helpers is the only organization in the world that focuses on this area of the world and these people who have lived in abject poverty for generations. It is an honor to participate in events with OBAT to bring awareness to people of the wonderful work they do. I hope to travel with them in the near future to visit the people who from a far have touched my heart with their vibrancy despite unthinkably difficult living conditions.
Anyone who is looking for an outlet to serve and give has a gem in OBAT Helpers. Visit their website for more information on local ways to get involved. https://www.obathelpers.org/

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers