Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
1234.97795
| 1 ... 8 9 1011 |
Write A Review
November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Do you love animals? Imagine that you are older or ill and that your companion animal will live another 20-50 years. What would you do? If no friends or family want to care for the pet, chances are he will end up euthanzied or neglected in a shelter or shuffled from home to home. Sadly, many parrot owners face this fate. That's why it is crucial that we have places like The Oasis. "Orphaned", abused, neglected and abandoned parrots have the chance to feel what it is like to strech their wings and fly, live in a flock, and eat a wide variety of exotic fruits. Elderly parrot owners can rest assured that they have a home for their beloved companion after they pass. This place is tight on funds, with alomst 1,000 exotic birds needing a constant supply of food, toys, and water. Factor in paying employees, fundraising, construction, water, electricity... no wonder they run on a shoestring! Please donate!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

A wonderful organization. It is well run with taking care of abused and abandoned parrots as their main goal.one of the few sanctuaries for parrots in the nation.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When I became a parrot owner, I learned that many parrots outlive their owners or suffer neglect and begin mutilating themselves out of boredom and depression. The Oasis takes in these birds and gives them someplace to live out their days and heal in the presence of others of their species with the help of their human caretakers. By helping these intelligent birds, the Oasis Sanctuary does a great service that otherwise would not be done on such a scale.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

A few years ago I found myself retired after working and devoting 28 years of my life to our local animal shelter. So many dogs and cats without homes . During those years I tried to save all I could and it included 2 parrots. After the first couple months I fell in love with my blue fronted amazon. I never knew how much love they can give back! When I learned parrots have the same unfortunate demise that dogs and cats have. Indiscriminate breeding, parrot mills, and uninformed ownership I knew these unwanted, over bred, and wild caught parrots need a "shelter" to go to. They needed a place where they would receive the love they so deserved. My Internet search brought me to the Oasis. I read everything I could about Sybil and the parrots. She had only 200 parrots back then. Although I have never been there nor have I met Sybil or any of her staff I feel at home. I would want all parrots to go to a place like my shelter was. Somewhere the parrots get the love and hang out with their own kind. And partner up for the many years they will live. I can't imagine anyone knowing how truly you love the animals you are saving unless you've worked at a shelter. The Oasis has grown in the years I have been donating. I wish I was fortunate enough to have lots of money to help them continue their growth but I am on disability and it limits me but every dollar does count! I will never know what it would be like to hang out with 600 parrots but I think about it with a smile on my face. Thank you Oasis for the love you give to the birds. They need a voice too!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I'm 70 years old, and I have 6 parrots, most for more than 20 years. Parrots, unlike dogs and cats, live as long as people. My African Greys and Amazon are sure to outlive me, barring accidents, even if I live into my nineties, like my mom. You can't exactly will your parrots to your younger relatives and best friends -- I am trying to imagine any of them opening a box with a parrot in it and instructions for care! So part of my estate planning is to arrange for the care of these fine, innocent companions. The Oasis Sanctuary cares for birds throughout their lives. Many of them do not come with funds sufficient to support them, but no bird is turned away. The selfless dedication of the staff keeps these birds happy and healthy. I support their efforts, and I hope many others will also. There are hundreds of dog and cat organizations out there, but Oasis Sanctuary is unique.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have a friend who owns a very funny and clever African gray parrot. The friend is 65 (her husband is 75) and the parrot is about 15. Parrots can live to be between 40 and 70 years themselves . . . what will happen to him when his owners are both gone? This is why the Oasis Sanctuary is such a wonderful and amazing place. I began to donate several years ago but last year, on a trip to Arizona, I visited the Oasis and was even more impressed by what they have accomplished with very little money and the dedicated work of volunteers. I wrote to AIP (the American Institute of Philanthropy) and suggested they include the Oasis in their rating system, and they wrote me back that the outfit was too small to qualify! And that's when I realized that perhaps the money I send to big 'animal' charities such as WWF or the Humane Society might be better sent to small places like the Oasis, which has a great and immediate use for funds. And, no, they don't dun people three or four times a year, send unwanted address labels, or spend much money fund-raising. This is a bootstrap organization devoted to saving and caring for pet birds.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I had a double yellow head Amazon parrot for 35 years. When my Asthma got worse the Pulmonologist said I need to find a home for my parrot. I was heartbroken as I had this parrot for such a long time. I searched everywhere and found the OASIS SANCTUARY in Arizona.It's a wonderful place. The birds are well taken care of. They have large flight cages, some the size of my house. They group the species together. My parrot found a girlfriend and is leading a "birdy" life...Sigrit...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

There is a huge population across the nation of birds that have been neglected and abandoned or were used as breeders and abandoned and in poor shape which no one would want as a pet. Many of these medium and larger birds have many decades left to live. Every town has some place for abandoned cats and dogs. There is almost nothing nationwide done for these birds. The Oasis Sanctuary does it in great fashion. Takes them in, commits to care for their decades to come. Provides huge, barn sized, mesh walled aviaries for them to fly in and socialize. Careful attention to any veterinary needs. Daily hand prepared food. For many of these birds it is like going from hell to heaven.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Being the "parent" of a parrot, I understand how difficult they can be. The Oasis provides a safe and caring home for birds that are no longer able to continue living with their "parents" for a variety of reasons. It is clear from the newsletter and other information that the staff is very caring.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

A place dedicate to caring for companion birds that cannot be rehomed. The folks there are committed to the cause.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers