Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
1234.97795
Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
September 9, 2014

more

September 9, 2014

I have been a member since the Oasis first began in the 1990's and I am both amazed and deeply moved by their love and commitment to the birds there. Some of the birds are well enough to go into their appropriate aviary after a quarantine period. But some of these dear bird souls arrive in an unbelievably painful condition. There seems sadly to be no limit to what some humans are willing to inflict on these intelligent and sensitive souls. There is a Foster mom named Ruth Ann that takes these battered souls and breathes life, love and happiness back into their lives. The Oasis spends a fortune on medical bills. And Ruth Ann spends a fortune from her generous heart to give them 24/7 love and attention. I have been lucky enough to hear some of their stories which have been painful in a way and yet uplifting in another. Through the Oasis I have seen the highest and best that people have to offer. I ask anyone who reads this to please consider giving whatever you are able to help. No donation is too small. They are grateful for everything. Thank you. Barbara Greenman , Chicago, IL.
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

I have been supporting the Oasis for ten years. I have watched it grow (albeit, from afar) as a safe refuge for homeless parrots from its initial 300 birds to the current 750. I visited the Oasis and met Sybil Erden. She is a tireless champion and a voice for those who cannot speak (excuse the unintentional joke). Sybil is truly an extraordinary human being, a phenomenal woman, as I like to call her.
September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

I've been a supporter of the Oasis Sanctuary for many years. They do a wonderful job of taking care of the birds and giving them a full life. I have been down to visit several times and see how my donations are being used. If you love birds, you should support them. They deserve it!
September 4, 2014

more


1 previous review
October 15, 2012

I am pleased to share my heartfelt gratitude and admiration to the staff of the Oasis Sanctuary for all the hard work, and love provided to the most incredible creatures in the world...the parrots of ... more

September 4, 2014

The Oasis Sanctuary is one of the best run non-profits that I have been involved with. Their facilities, logistics, and volunteer programs are exceptional. I have had parrots for over 25 years, and I have not found a rescue site as unique as the Oasis. On business travel to Tucson, I made it a point to swing by the Oasis in Benson. They were very accommodating, and gave me a personal tour. I was amazed at the amount of birds they were caring for, and it just reinforced my belief that my money is going to the right place. I care very deeply about these wonderful creatures, and it is heartwarming that there is a place that truly cares for these creatures for the remainder of their lives.
October 15, 2012

I am pleased to share my heartfelt gratitude and admiration to the staff of the Oasis Sanctuary for all the hard work, and love provided to the most incredible creatures in the world...the parrots of the Oasis. I have been a strong supporter of the Oasis for years, and recently had the pleasure of a visit. The staff took time out to walk me through every aviary, where I got "up close and personal" with so many wonderful birds, along with the stories of how they came to the Oasis. Some stories were heart wrenching; some amazing, but all the stories painted a picture of how desperately this facility is needed. The Oasis is my only charity, and will continue to be for as long as there are parrots who need love and care.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 7, 2013

Wo many people buy parrots not knowing about their habits or how long they live. When they are noisy or messy, the owners want to get rid of them. They also have them for years and when the people ar... more

September 3, 2014

There are so many parrots that are abandoned or need a home for many other reasons. The Oasis has been there for these birds no matter what their personality or condition. The care for sick birds, handicapped birds and those too noisy for their owners. Rain or shine, they are always there. I admire their efforts to give a good life to these bright animals. They are sorely needed.

If my birds outlive me, I hope they can go there to live out their lives.
May 7, 2013

Wo many people buy parrots not knowing about their habits or how long they live. When they are noisy or messy, the owners want to get rid of them. They also have them for years and when the people are too old or incapacitated to care for them the Oasis is there to help. Some have put them in basements and closets or abused the birds. since the education isn't there at the pet shops etc. what is to happen to these intelligent creatures. I am so proud of the Oasis for continuing to grow and help these birds. I hope to send my birds there when I am too old to care for them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

This sanctuary provides shelter for many unwanted birds. Every day people buy parrots thinking they are beautiful and interesting. Every day people find out that they are noisy, wild, messy and take lots of care. People discard these bright beautiful animals anyway they can. They put them in closets, let them fly, give them to anyone who will take them and just let them die. This is a crime. The Oasis provides love and sanctuary for them. I have three parrots and when I die, I want to know that they will live out their lives in a place like this. They are angels.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2014

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

It is so nice to know that there is a place that takes care of birds since they have such a long life if they are well cared for that they often outive their owners or live longer than a caretaker can... more

September 3, 2014

We have two rescue birds that share our home and when we heard about the Oasis Sanctuary we were so excited to know that if our birds outlived us since we are not youngsters anymore that we knew they could have a good home if our one relative that enjoys birds was unable to take them if there comes a time we can no longer care for them or pass away before them. We have visited twice and it is just amazing the care that these birds receive. It is also heartbreaking to realize that so many people have no idea what is involved in caring for these birds and then they have problems and no one wants them anymore. They are loved and cared for in the most amazing setting out in the beautiful high country of Arizona. We try to donate what we can in the way of monies and just love the letters and emails they send out telling about the birds and their needs. It is too bad that all birds are not wild and free but once they are used to people caring for them or far from their native homes they must be cared for by someone. The Oasis Sanctuary is a wonderful place for these amazing creatures to live out their lives in peace and
November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

It is so nice to know that there is a place that takes care of birds since they have such a long life if they are well cared for that they often outive their owners or live longer than a caretaker can care for them. I like knowing there is somewhere that will take our "girls" if and when we can no longer care for them or both pass away.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

We love parrots and were excited to find a parrot sanctuary in our own state of Arizona. We visited Oasis in the east Tucson area one Saturday. They take homeless or poorly cared for birds and place them in a safe clean permanent home. They keep bird buddies together and they do their best to insure the happiest possible life for each parrot. Even grumpy unsocial birds get large single cages with birds nearby incase they change their minds. They have large uncrowded aviarys for each different species. Food bowls and cages are cleaned each morning by a very cheerful group of hardworking volunteers. We loved those goodhearted people and enjoyed seeing these intelligent birds getting the great care they deserve.
I would love to see this group have enough budget to staff well and there may be a need for better cooling systems for birds in summer months. We intend to continue to donate and our goal is to join the volunteer staff. Let's keep this wonderful organization going. Rose Shoppach
April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

I live in Texas and have never been able to visit the Oasis, but I did a lot of research. I have been burned before in trusting parrot sanctuaries, only to be disappointed; in one case, shockingly so. But the Oasis is top-notch in every way. My wife and I are owned by a flock of 13 rescue birds, from a budgie up to two cockatoos. Some have physical disabilities, others were severely abused before they came here. So we know how much work, love, patience and dedication it takes to care for and win the trust of these sensitive, beautiful and scary-intelligent creatures. That the Oasis does so for over 700 of them is something of a miracle. I am far from rich, but I support them financially in any way I can, and I hope you will, too.
April 23, 2014

more

April 23, 2014

My husband and I have donated to the Oasis Sanctuary for many years, but when I lost my job four years ago we decided to take a close look at the charities we had been supporting. So before deciding to continue supporting the Oasis, we did two things: (1) we got a copy of their Form 990 (available on the Oasis website) and compared their data with the recommendations on Charity Navigator (charitynavigator.org) and (2) we decided to visit the Oasis, even though we live in the Midwest. Charity Navigator doesn't have the personnel to investigate every charity (including the Oasis), but the Charity Navigator recommendations are very specific, and we were pleased to see that the Oasis financials conformed to the Charity Navigator recommendations. Also, we were impressed when we visited the Oasis. In the past 20 years we've owned six little parrots, so we know how to assess the happiness and condition of other parrots -- and we were happy to see that the Oasis parrots seemed happy and well cared for. The staff and volunteers seem very committed. We're also impressed that they're thinking not only of the day-to-day care of the birds but are also looking ahead, trying to anticipate what the future holds in terms of the number of birds they'll be asked to care for in the years to come and the financial resources that will be necessary to meet those needs. We decided that the Oasis deserves our continued financial support and we urge others to support this very efficient, worthwhile, compassionate organization.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

They take great care of the birds. They communicate well with the community

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers