Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
166 Reviews
1234.97595
Previous | Next
Write A Review
April 15, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
May 6, 2013

The Oasis Sanctuary remains one of the most highly regarded life-care facilities for parrots in the US. With 750 birds in permanent residence, the facility is located in Southern Arizona on 73 acres o... more

April 15, 2014

The Oasis has come so far since its inception in 1997. Today we are permanent home to 750 birds who are provided with life-care, love and all the support needed for a healthy and emotionally contented life. I am proud to be the Founder and a Board member of this standard setting Sanctuary!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

....be able to bring in more infrastructure and operational funds to expand so that we can help the ever increasing number of birds needing our unique care

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Oasis Sanctuary remains one of the most highly regarded life-care facilities for parrots in the US. With 750 birds in permanent residence, the facility is located in Southern Arizona on 73 acres owned by the birds.
When I founded the facility in 1997, there were no other places in this
country anything like The Oasis. I decided that my birds would live at the facility because if it was not good enough for them, why would it be good enough for anyone else's birds?
Today, the sanctuary is in the second generation of administration and will continue into the future, strong and growing, to care for an ever growing number of needy birds.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Oasis Sanctuary started in my backyard in Phoenix and became the first avian life-care sanctuary in the US to obtain an IRS 501c3. In 1999 we became the first avian sanctuary to become accredited by the American Sanctuary Association and in 2002 were accredited by The Association of Sanctuaries (now Global Federation of Animal Sanctuaries.) I created the sanctuary to provide care for parrots who otherwise would have no placement options and have provided homes for over 1000 birds over the past 15 years. My attitude has always been "If this is not good enough for MY birds how can it be suitable for anyone else's birds?" In keeping with this ethical belief, all my personal parrots live with the 750 birds, at the sanctuary. While we are s till a way from where I would like the sanctuary to be...it has consistantly been moving in the directions of ideal growth and stability.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After over eleven years of supporting The Oasis, I still am awed each and every time I visit and meet the beautiful birds who call it home. In this sad, disposable world we live in, The Oasis takes the effort and commitment of the care of these beautiful, sentient beings very seriously, and provides a lifetime home for many who would otherwise face euthanasia at worst, or neglect and/or abuse at best. The birds take precedence in the lives of those involved and it is heartwarming to see the love that goes into running it. We started out as donors looking for a place for our four cockatoos in the sometime in the future, but ended up volunteering so often that we were invited to serve on the Board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I’ve proudly been associated with The Oasis Sanctuary since July 1999. I’ve seen tremendous growth and many changes, some small and some major, during the past 13 years. The one thing that has never changed is the commitment by everyone involved in the organization to keep the birds in our care our Number One Priority. Our compassionate caregivers know each bird by name, his/her history and likes and dislikes. They work hard every day to give each bird at The Oasis a healthy, happy and meaningful life. Each decision the Board of Directors makes is toward that end. As the Office Manager, I’ve come to know many of our donors personally… and we have the most wonderful supporters in the world! I’m often moved to tears by their thoughtfulness, generosity and loyalty to our organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers