Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
1234.97795
Write A Review
November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have had the privilege of visiting the Oasis facility. There is a tremendous and probably under-appreciated need for permanent rescue facilities for birds. Sybil knows and has dedicated herself to meeting this need. The many,diverse birds with their different backgrounds and needs are all cared for as individuals . Few shelters of any kind provide such care and offer such a well designed and maintained facility . This is a program worth supporting.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I visited the Oasis Sanctuary a couple of years ago and was more than impressed with the way they run the place. They take in parrots that no longer have a home and they commit to never re-homing or adopting them out because they truly understand that these birds have been through enough and they are committed to providing them with excellent care and stability for the rest of their lives! Their staff of volunteers are extremely knowledgeable and caring. What more can a parrot hope for?

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

This place is for the birds! In the very best way! The staff is friendly and knowledgable and birds are their passion. The love and dedication that has gone into making this truly a sanctuary shows through the people who make it happen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Parrots are among the longest lived members of the Animal Kingdom and are also among the most popular pets. They require a level of care that the ordinary person that obtains them as a pet is generally unaware of or unwilling to provide. Because of their nature, they often do not turn out to be the pet the owner expected. As a result, parrots are often neglected or mistreated. Because of their long life, those fortunate to survive often outlive their owners. The result is that there are many parrots that really need competent care for long periods of time. The Oasis Sanctuary provides such care. The people that operate the Sanctuary are caring competent people and the facilities that the Sanctuary provides for its birds are extraordinary. Once a parrot is taken in by the Sanctuary, it is there for the rest of its life and it is gradually acclimated to life as a parrot. The Sanctuary operates solely on donations. I have not seen a better solution to caring for a type of animal that should not be allowed to be kept as pets. The Sanctuary deserves the best help they can get and the appreciation of all of us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2012

more

Review from Guidestar
October 14, 2012

My visit and tour of the Oasis was such a wonderful experience. The staff were friendly and informative, and they obviously care so much about all the birds there. The Director Janet was able to tell me the name of every bird, and their story of how they came to be there.

The place was
super clean and the birds all looked so healthy, happy and well cared for. The birds were delightful to see and spend time with. The large aviaries were so nice for the birds. I fell in love with a Black Lory named Ophelia who wouldn't leave my shoulder. I also got to meet Gulliver, the shipwrecked macaw whom I had bought the story book about for my niece and nephew. So glad I got to visit and hope to again soon. Thank you for all that you guys do there.

I also had the opportunity to help organize and implement a carpool effort; to get a cockatoo (from a homeless woman in a desperate situation) that was out of state, down to the Oasis to safety.

Michelle "Elle" Magnon

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers