Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
168 Reviews
1234.976195
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Oasis Sanctuary almost has to be seen to be believed! I'm not even a bird person but drove down from Phoenix when my girlfriend who has had birds nearly her whole life came to visit. I knew she would enjoy the tour but had no idea that I would come away with not only a huge admiration for the sanctuary but a love for these babies who have all been abused or had owners who could not keep them because of illness or inappropriate expectations of bird care and interaction. These people know every one of those birds' names, their idiosyncrisies, their favorite games and foods, and each one's social needs. It is just flat out incredible, and if I lived closer I would be down there all the time helping in any way I could.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have visited the Oasis and am really impressed on the cleanliness and care and work done by everyone there. My goodness, the birds eat better than me !!! Their lives are like living in a resort where they can scream as loud as they want with no neighbors around to complain. This is almost like back in the jungle where a lot of them originally are from. How lucky is that.? From Joanie C.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

It is so nice to know that there is a place that takes care of birds since they have such a long life if they are well cared for that they often outive their owners or live longer than a caretaker can care for them. I like knowing there is somewhere that will take our "girls" if and when we can no longer care for them or both pass away.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

My family and I visited the OASIS Sanctuary a few years ago and were truly impressed by the care that they give to their birds (over 600 of them). We have a single parrot so I understand the amount of work needed to care for these birds. Sybil Erden (currently on the board of directors) gave us the tour. She knew each of the birds by name and it was clear how much she cared for them. Since then, we have sponsored Rafiki - an African Grey like ours at home. We have monitored the progress at the OASIS as they have continued to improve conditions for the birds by building aviaries so that the birds can enjoy socializing with each other and a more natural life.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a long time animal/bird advocate I believe parrots are often overlooked. Though I support all animal rescues I find the plight of parrots most compelling. Often they are obtained on a whim without doing the necessary research which should be done before any animal is acquired. It is bad enough when a dog or cat is affected but parrots are long lived intelligent creatures who are high maintenance pets. With excessive breeding, thoughtless purchases and an aging generation of owners there are an abundance of parrots needing placement. The Oasis is a much needed facility.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

There are many great dog & cat rescue groups. The Oasis is the only sanctuary that exclusively cares for birds. As a bird lover and bird parent the work and care they give to the resident birds is unsurpassed.The Oasis is truly a Great Nonprofit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Anyone who has birds knows the great things Oasis does and provides for them. They are the best!!!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

If you are a bird or a person who appreciates the beauty of all nature, this is where you want to be. Both bird and man can be as free as possible at The Oasis. Sybil and the staff will take care of you for as long as they possibly can. Caroll

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I own 5 cockatoos, two of them rescued. My heart breaks when I see unloved, misunderstood birds. They are intelligent creatures and deserve to live a good life with people who understand them. I have not yet visited Oasis, but I know they care about their birds and give them the best care possible.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have had the privilege of visiting the Oasis facility. There is a tremendous and probably under-appreciated need for permanent rescue facilities for birds. Sybil knows and has dedicated herself to meeting this need. The many,diverse birds with their different backgrounds and needs are all cared for as individuals . Few shelters of any kind provide such care and offer such a well designed and maintained facility . This is a program worth supporting.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers