Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
166 Reviews
1234.97595
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 20, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

This organization is truly one of a kind and a blessing to all of us. My husband and I have visited the Oasis severel times and are always in amazed at the wonderful care and love everyone exihibits f... more

April 20, 2013

we have three aging amazons--as are we! Oasis Sanctuary is the only assisted living facility we know can take care of our precious companions if and when we need assisted living. There is not another facility that can compare with Oasis. Each, and I do mean each, and every little soul gets personalized attention every day. The volunteers are extraordinary. This is the most loving organization that I am aware of.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This organization is truly one of a kind and a blessing to all of us. My husband and I have visited the Oasis severel times and are always in amazed at the wonderful care and love everyone exihibits for all of the birds. The volunteers are truly committed to each of the of the birds and most of the birds have names and are known by the volunteers. It's remarkable!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 18, 2013

more

April 18, 2013

I met Janet Trumbule last spring at a Bird Conference in Houston, and after visiting with her, was very eager to visit the Oasis Sanctuary and see how it all works. My husband and I have our own little flock of 13, and our birds are our passion. In July we went to visit the Oasis, and were given a tour of the facility by Janet, who explained procedures and answered all of our questions. The 15 hour drive was definitely worth it! I cannot express enough how impressed I was with this operation. All of the 650+ birds were cared for with EACH ONE's particular needs met, and placed in the best environment suited to them. The team working there were happily doing the feeding, washing the food bowls, and taking care of endless other chores with caring devotion. The cleanliness, the happy birds, the dedication to care for each and every bird was evident. It is my hope that when, or if, we ever need a forever home for any of our birds, that the Oasis Sanctuary, or a sanctuary with equal dedication, will be available to give them the care they deserve. Sincerely, Connie Shelton

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 7, 2012

Oasis is a great organization that helps exotic birds survive in a safe and welcoming environment. So many people aren't aware of the demands of an exotic bird but the Oasis Sanctuary never fails to t... more

April 6, 2013

They are an amazing organization that caters to birds in need. As a fellow bird owner, some people don't understand the work and dedication that goes into taking care of these beautiful creatures. The Oasis Sanctuary is wonderful and hold themselves to a higher standard than most nonprofits.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Oasis is a great organization that helps exotic birds survive in a safe and welcoming environment. So many people aren't aware of the demands of an exotic bird but the Oasis Sanctuary never fails to turn their back on a bird in need. It's a huge problem that people need to be aware of. I have been sending donations to them on a regular basis for years now and they are wonderful...please support the Oasis Sanctuary!!! Your money and donations always go to the parrots in need!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I support this incredible organization because of my interest and experience with parrots. I am not an expert in any way - I learn from my Severe Macaw - now 22 years old - everyday. Parrots are, to me, the most facinating of animals. In the past I had 5 birds. After becoming ill I decided to give them each a new good home. This was probably one of the most difficult decisions I was forced to make. They were each so special and getting the right home was not only difficult - but i still feel guilty because I really do not know how they are today. After 2 year without birds - the person who I gave Pepper to - the severe macaw - had to give her up and I got her back. That was 5 years ago. The most amazing thing about this event was that she did not speak in her new home. When she was brought into our home, she immediatly began to speak words that I always heard her speak. She call my name, asks for UP, and many other words. It took her about 3 minutes to reconize where she was and react ...almost as though she was here for those 2 years away. I find that amazing and the our birds need our respect because they clearly remember and know what is going on around. The Oasis Sanctuary is amazing. The importance cannot be emphasized. Parrots do have memory and I believe the deserve our love and respect. Oasis seems to do just that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Oasis Sanctuary needs our help and support they are truley one of a kind. Bless them for all they do for our feathered friends

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I visited Oasis and was impressed with the care and devotion these people show in taking care of these parrots. I knew little about parrots until our daughter bought one and then we learned how very selective these creatures are. It is indeed sad when they lose the person to whom they have given their affection because they are so long lived. Having baby sat my daughter's parrot, I know how much care they take and the Oasis does an outstanding job. It was a pleasure to visit, see the beauty of these birds and watch the care with which they are attended.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

A visit here will change you! Being inside the enclosures with the birds, seeing how they interact with each other - and humans - is amazing. They are doing superb work and need help!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Unsure

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

May 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

While travelling around the USA in my motorhome, I came across the Oasis Sanctuary Foundation, and was immediately impressed with the caring attitude of Sybil Erden and the volunteers towards all the... more

May 21, 2013

I am a retired Canadian zookeeper who travelled in a motorhome around the U.S. & Canada for two years in 2006 & 2007, stopping along the way to visit various animal sanctuaries. I was greatly impressed with the care and compassion shown to the birds that I met at The Oasis Sanctuary. Many people do not understand what it takes to care properly for birds that often outlive their owners and Sybil Erden has gone to great measures to make their lives comfortable, especially for the birds that have behavioural problems (feather plucking, etc.).
I have no hesitation in recommending the Oasis Sanctuary as a worthy recipient of donations.

Marilyn Cole

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If funds were available, expand the kitchen and medical area

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

While travelling around the USA in my motorhome, I came across the Oasis Sanctuary Foundation, and was immediately impressed with the caring attitude of Sybil Erden and the volunteers towards all the birds, especially the ones that had suffered in the past . As a former zookeeper I could appreciate the amount of work needed to care for all the various birds, and the attention paid to their individual needs. These abandoned and neglected birds were taken in, with the full knowledge that they have a long lifespan and that there would be many years of dedication ahead to care for them. I have no hesitation in recommending the Oasis Sanctuary Foundation Ltd. as a great non-profit organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Five years ago, my husband informed me that we were going to be owners of a macaw...in just a few hours. My only prior experience with birds was when I was younger I owned a parakeet that my cat ate a few months later. I knew nothing about owning a parrot or the extent of the care they would need for many, many years. People always think it would be great to have a bird that talks but don't understand their special needs or their history of living for 100+ years. Our bird "Boo" arrived and was very sad and very afraid of us. She had been neglected and later on we learned she had been beaten with a stick. Over time and with lots of patience, we learned how to trust each other. Unfortunately, she will always be a bird with serious trust issues. Boo is fine as long as me or my husband is home to take care of her, but becomes depressed if we are both gone. Leaving Boo in the care of a family member or even with our son is still not enough to make Boo feel safe and secure...Boo becomes depressed and won't eat when we are gone for a few days or a few weeks. We realized that we had to develop a plan for her long term care in the event something happened to both me and my husband....this is how we learned about Oasis Sanctuary. We have had the time to educate ourselves about long term bird care and the options available to us. We believe the Oasis Sanctuary is the perfect place to send Boo in the event we are unable or unavailable to care for Boo. Boo could never be re-homed due to her trust issues but now we know that she will have a safe place to live out the remainder of her natural life. I would like to visit the sanctuary and maybe even turn a vacation into a volunteer opportunity. All that I have read about the sanctuary is positive.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 9, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Oasis Sanctuary Foundation Ltd. is one of the very few organizations where you can place your beloved, feathered family member and know positively that your bird will be well cared for for the rest of his/her life. The people at The Oasis are loving caretakers of birds from all circumstances - be it someone's pet, an abused bird, an unwanted bird, a confiscated bird (or birds), etc. They have their own veterinarian on the premises and people who work one on one with sick or injured parrots, in their own homes and around the clock. Sybil Erden has, almost singlehandedly, built this fabulous sanctuary for parrots that no one else will take or ever care about. If they are very lucky, I hope that, some day, my birds will end up at the Oasis Sanctuary, when I can no longer care for them or am no longer here to do so. I can't imagine a better haven for my "children" than The Oasis Sanctuary.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers