Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
1234.97795
Write A Review
September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

My life had a dramatic change and I couldn't give my two parrots the home they needed. After researching options, I found the Oasis Sanctuary. Not only did everyone at the Oasis open their arms and hearts to my parrots, Janet Trumbule, Executive Director of Administration, did the same for me. It's hard to put into words how wonderful this Sanctuary is. Every person who works there is 100% dedicated and filled with kindness, compassion, and love for the birds. I miss my two parrots so much, but I know they are in the best place they could be. Janet always takes time from her unbelievably busy days to answer my "how are my girls?" emails. I haven't always been able to donate money, but I have always been treated like the greatest of donors. I've had an experience with another sanctuary where, unless I was giving money, they would hardly communicate with me. The Oasis helped me through an incredibly difficult time by accepting and loving my birds. They are absolutely the best sanctuary.
May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

About 5 years ago it was necessary for my sister to move cross country to live with me in Southern California. She had two cockatiels, the first she received as a hatchling and hand raised him. The second she saved from a bird mill breeder at a bird show. These two, Huey and Mel were her life. Unfortunately, I have severe allergies to birds. She was devastated to have to give up her babies. We searched high and low and the Oasis was the only place that guaranteed the birds would remain there for the rest of their lives. I still felt terrible but it's what had to be. The day we arrived at the Oasis we could not believe the facility. We received a tour and my sister was able to bond with many of the birds in the infirmary/feeding area. Well it came time to introduce the birds to their new home. Neither bird was a good flier to start but they were welcomed by their new feathered friends. My sister cried for at least two months. But a newsletter showed a picture of one of her birds and she's been content since then.Oasis thanks for all you did and still do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

I volunteered here about 10 yrs. ago;I've also donated needed items to the Oasis Sanctuary;since I live nearby,I try to get there during 'open house'.usu.the 1st wknd.in Dec.This is the place where my... more

April 5, 2013

As a bird lover,I highly recommend the Oasis Sanctuary as the Best avian rescue org.in the S.W.-the ppl.who work there are capable,compassionate,&knowledgable;I consider myself Very Fortunate to live near this wonderful 'place of safety&refuge' for all feathered friends that need such a place.I could extol the Oasis for a few more paragraphs,but since this is cyberspace,I'll keep my accolades short&sweet.Bravo,Sybil&everyone out there;BRAVO!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered here about 10 yrs. ago;I've also donated needed items to the Oasis Sanctuary;since I live nearby,I try to get there during 'open house'.usu.the 1st wknd.in Dec.This is the place where my beloved birds will go if something happens to me-I can't think of a better place around here to place my'feathered children'.The Staff& the former Director,Sybil Erden,are all wonderful,helpful ppl. who Really care about birds&know their many needs,since birds require special knowledge&living conditions.A-#1 Place!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

About ten years ago I needed to give up my Amazon parrot of 20 years, I wanted a no kill, no breed, Forever home for my Lottie and was in fear of never finding one. I searched for months until someone suggested Sybil and the Oasis. Lottie and I flew from San Francisco to the Oasis and the minute I met Sybil and saw the new beginnings (at the time) of the Oasis I knew I had a safe Forever home for my beloved companion of 20 years. Lotties personality had changed drastically and she need to be in an safe environment as much away from humans as possible. Giving her to a new home where I did not know what would happen to her over the years was not an option for me. The Oasis was my dream come true. God bless Sybil and The Oasis.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After 17 years, when we could no longer take care of our African Grey that we had rescued, we were so afraid that we would never find a home for her that would give her the love and kindness she needed. We searched for almost a year and found the Oasis Sanctuary in Benson AZ. We took a tour of the place and felt so comfortable that our bird would be safe and cared for. All of the staff, including the founder, made us feel welcome and were so tuned into caring for the birds. If you ever need to place a wayward bird and want to know that it will be cared for and not abused or sold, this is the place. We are indebted to Sybil, the founder, and her staff. They have given us true peace of mind. We visited our parrot a few years later when we were passing through AZ and she was doing just fine. She was the king of the roost so to speak, in her little world, which gave us great comfort. We continue yearly to support the organization and donate funds to care for our bird. Thank you so much, Oasis Sanctuary, we love all of you who devote your lives to taking care of so many birds. God Bless You All.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 13, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Thank you for such a wonderful organization. Several years ago as a result of my father's illness, my mother could no longer care for her beloved parrots including one she had hand raised. At a very sad time, it gave her amazing comfort to know that they would be able live out their lives at the sanctuary, flying and enjoying their days with other African Greys. Thank you for all the good work you do for so many birds and animals.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 6, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Oasis Foundation takes in parrots and other exotic birds that are in dire need of a home because either they don't have one at all, or the people who cared for them can no longer do so for one reason or another. This is a very unique charity, whose founder and team members are extremely dedicated. Parrots can easily live for a hundred years or so, and they are not necessarily 'cute, cuddly and friendly' like dogs and cats. They don't necessarily take well to humans and confinement, or domestication in general. Not having realized this, I had a parrot who was hard to handle and had bitten me several times. The Oasis took him in and has provided a wonderful home for him for many years now. They provide an amazingly wonderful and unique service, which poses many challenges, for these beautiful and amazing animals. I am now proud to be a supporter of the Oasis, and think they deserve every honor and all the support they can get. Gratefully, Many Ann Crysler

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This organization rates tops in caring for the birds and other animals. Several years ago they helped us out by taking in a number of cockatiels and parakeets that I could not properly care for. They went to live in a beautiful aviary and I can't express my gratitude enough. A bird could not do better than to live at the Oasis.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2007

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When my Goffins Cockatoo started mutilating himself I was crushed by the emotional stress. The vets from my local avian vet to the AMC (Animal Medial Ctr.) in NYC told me to put him down. He was less than 2 years old! How could anyone say that about a baby bird? I made an emotional plea to every bird group and forum for help as I had spent upwards of $2500 for unsuccessful medical care for the bird. I was emotionally and monetarily drained! One day, out of the blue, I got an email from The Oasis Sanctuary telling me to call the founder Sybil Erden. I called and we discussed my situation. She said she would take him after some necessary blood work to protect her flock and that I bring him there myself. I flew by plane with my Goffins to Tucson, rented a car and drove to Benson Arizona! Another 45 minutes drive through the Arizona desert roads to Cascabel where the Oasis Sanctuary is appropriately located. I spent 3 days there in a small cabin where they gladly put me up. I saw a small group of dedicated avian caretakers that were committed to feeding, watering and loving the birds in residence. I saw amazing human sacrifice just to care for emergency situations where they had to bring an injured bird to their vet in Tucson and sometimes Phoenix! I have just returned from The Oasis Sanctary and my bird, Goofy LaRue, has long lost his Elizabethan tube collar and is now just another feather plucker. He always recognizes me and flies to my shoulder & dances wildly to show his happiness! Talking up a storm and mumbling sweet nothings in my ears! Tears always come to my eyes when I visit. I see some birds that I thought would never get better but one bird in particular, a pink Mulucan Cockatoo wearing a tube collar and sweater, was so improved on this trip that I am convinced that the Oasis is the best Avian Rescue Sanctuary because their wonderful staff has their hearts invested in each and every bird, now 700+! It shows as some birds recover from horrendous abuse and neglect. Of course not every bird makes a full recovery and some remain totally plucked and affected! They appear happy when the staff feeds them and every one has their favorites! I've seen all this with my own eyes and would tell anyone with a problem bird or caretaker situation to give them a call for advice and possibly placement. I am forever grateful to the Oasis Sanctuary for their help in my situation and the fact I can visit Goofy whenever I want usually. Just calling a month or two ahead to make sure they are free to accommodate my birdie visit. I vote them number 1!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

When I got my first African grey I began to research sanctuaries that would be suitable for him in the event that I could no longer care for him. I reviewed sanctuaries all over the country and finally decided that the Oasis came closest to my ideal. That was in 1997 and I cannot begin to describe the incredible care and devotion that Sybil and her staff have continued to lavish on the birds. I have visited twice and remain in awe of the outstanding dedication of the staff and their love for these beautiful creatures. When I moved 3 years ago it was not possible to take my entire flock of 7 with me. Four of them now reside at the Oasis and the care and attention they receive is unbelievable. Although they are half way accross the country I feel as if they are still my flock. I receive pictures and emails re them on a regular basis and am always informed if there is any change in their care. I cannot imagine having them anywhere else and I am forever grateful to Sybil and her staff for the wonderful work they are doing.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers