Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
1234.97795
Write A Review
September 6, 2014

more


1 previous review
May 6, 2013

I have been volunteering at The Oasis for 4 years, and each visit deepens my appreciation and respect for what they do for the parrots in their care. The full-time staff know the name of each of the ... more

September 6, 2014

I have been a volunteer at The Oasis for 4 years and have enjoyed watching them grow and continuously improve the living conditions for their birdie residents. The Oasis is a leader in flight design and has developed multiple solutions to cage-free housing. It is so exciting to see the large macaws hanging from the rafters of their 2-story flight, and to hear the Star Wars beeps of the African greys in their own dedicated building! They are truly a model for the parrot rescue community.
May 6, 2013

I have been volunteering at The Oasis for 4 years, and each visit deepens my appreciation and respect for what they do for the parrots in their care. The full-time staff know the name of each of the 700 (yes, 700!) feathered residents, and they are constantly looking for ways to make their lives happier and more comfortable. I have seen dramatic changes in birds that appeared to be hopelessly damaged, physically and psychologically - birds that stopped self-mutilating, birds that now allow touch. The Oasis is tops!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2014

more

September 5, 2014

The Oasis Sanctuary in Benson, Arizona, is a wonderful foundation. It is a true sanctuary, in that it provides lifelong care for these beautiful birds, and does not attempt to adopt any of them out. They don't have regular business/visiting hours because they're not a zoo. Having spent a week there volunteering, I saw firsthand the level of care and devotion the birds get from all of the staff and volunteers. I simply have not seen anything else quite like it. It warms my heart to know that such a place exists.
September 3, 2014

more

September 3, 2014

I traveled from upstate New York to the Oasis in Arizona to volunteer in 2013 and 2014. I hope to be able to be there again in 2015. The Oasis Sanctuary is a perfect haven for so many damaged parrots that have been so fortunate to find this forever home. The birds rule! The staff is oh so hard working, knowledgeable, caring and so very thoughtful on the details of housing 700+ birds and keeping them safe, while accommodating their needs and even their personalities. Parrots have become the new disposable pet and it's so gratifying to know that the Oasis exists to help some of them. They make a difference! I continue to donate and sponsor a bird at the Oasis, I cannot think of any place better deserving for your donations. If you can volunteer, prepare yourself for a wonderful, heart tugging, hard working experience.
October 10, 2013

more


1 previous review
April 17, 2013

My tenure of 15 years full time volunteer/foster care stems from the forward thinking of not only the board of directors but the beyond dedicated staff. Having in place a swift removal of birds and th... more

October 10, 2013

Giving loving care to long-lived parrots is the mission of The Oasis Sanctuary.
When our child left home my wife said, "I want to hear 'I love you' everyday from now on." So, I bought her a parrot. That is the joke, but no joke is that we both fell in love with our Amazon Parrot when he came
home to live with us. That was in 1998 and I was well into my fifties with a baby parrot that would live at least 50 years. My wife and I looked around for a place to be our parrot's forever home when we were gone. We explored The Oasis Sanctuary and began to volunteer. That, again, was 1998. And we still volunteer for this wonderful organization. Love abounds in this place.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone it and the people who staff it so that more parrots could find a forever home.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My tenure of 15 years full time volunteer/foster care stems from the forward thinking of not only the board of directors but the beyond dedicated staff. Having in place a swift removal of birds and the transportation to do so in the event of a fire or other emergency. Staff with the responsibility of "eyes on" every bird in the section where you are assigned that day. After working hours staff puts in time caring for the stimulation of special kneed birds. Planting of trees that will be fruit barring to be utilized in the future. The weekly staff meetings to discuss any and all birds that might be having a problem so everyone can review and make suggestions. The list simply goes on and on. Every aspect of these employees lives are "for the birds"

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 10, 2013

more

June 10, 2013

I came to volunteer at The Oasis because I love all parrots, and have a cockatoo at home. It was one of the best weeks I've ever spent. Each day, I knew I was doing something helpful. Even when I pulled 50 lbs. of grapes off their stems for the fruit and vegetable mix, I knew it helped. Even when I scraped bird poop off cages and floors, I knew it helped. And I got to meet all the birds, including species I'd never seen before. The staff, in addition to caring for the birds, LOVES them all. They know each bird's personality, what it likes and doesn't, what special things each one wants or needs. The Oasis is an extraordinary place for parrots.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I wish they were closer to my home, so I could volunteer more often!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

I have volunteered for and with The Oasis Sanctuary since fall of 1998. My participation grew in time and scope over the years because of the way parrots are treated at this life care sanctuary. In th... more

April 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Upon purchasing our companion parrot in 1998 I was inspired to find a Sanctuary that would be the bird's forever home. Enter The Oasis Sanctuary. The resident parrots are so inspiring I became a mainstay of the Sanctuary's volunteer community. Nearly 15 years later and I'm still here volunteering my home as the foster home. Hubby, Tom, also volunteers full time to provide the loving home a few of the extra-needs parrots flourish in.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have volunteered for and with The Oasis Sanctuary since fall of 1998. My participation grew in time and scope over the years because of the way parrots are treated at this life care sanctuary. In the past 14 years I have seen nothing but the very best care given to the parrots. When I started volunteering there was only the Founder and 2 other volunteers caring for about 100 parrots. Our Sanctuary now has 8 full time care givers on site, my help as a Foster Care provider and scores of other volunteers who give varying amounts of time to further the good work of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 30, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Having two birds myself, I fell in love with the Oasis Sanctuary through their wonderful newsletters. For several years my husband and I supported the Oasis financially and dreamed of one day visiting. Finally, in May 2012 I was fortunate enough to visit the Oasis for a day. I felt like I had "come home" and quickly fell in love with all the birds and was so impressed with the care and dedication of the staff. The Oasis is truly a wonderful place and all the staff are top-notch. Since that time, I have become a "long-distance ambassador" for the Sanctuary (I live in Florida). I have given a talk to one organiization about the Oasis and have approached others about giving a program. My husband and I continue to support the Oasis financially and I dream of finding an avenue to let others know about this wonderful place where parrots find a loving home to live out the rest of their lives. Raising funds for the birds of the Oasis is very important to me. I hope to let everyone know that this is one place where every dollar given is spent for the benefit of the seven hundred and fifty birds in their care. I would not hesitate to place my birds with the Oasis if the time comes when we are no longer able to care for our two "loves" , knowing that the staff will do every thing in their power to keep our birds safe and happy. I feel very "blessed" to have discovered this wonderful place and have had a chance to visit and see their sanctuary, look forward to visiting again very soon.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 10, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

This amazing "OASIS" on the San Pedro River(with water when it rains),in the High Desert of Arizona is always a surprise. The birds are amazing, healthy, & receive loving care. The cages & surroundings are clean and well maintained- this is no small challenge in this desert environment. The staff are kind & gentle with these often fragile birds. They know them personally and call them by name even though there is over 700 individuals. Big birds are a rare challenge as they live as long as humans. Many of us, including myself, took a young bird, not realizing the really long term commitment required for their care. God bless these people for the long term care they give for so many beautiful and special creatures.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 7, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Volunteering at the Oasis Sanctuary had been one of the best experiences of my life. All those wonderful little lives are being taken care of by the most giving and loving people I ever met. I hope when it's time that my birds will be able to go there.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 5, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

While I love animals, I never embraced birds...until I read coverage about The Oasis Sanctuary in The New York Times several years ago. Before I read about them it never occured to me what happens to these smart and loving pets after their families pass on. While we as a society admire longevity, most of us don't even give a second thought to what becomes of these loving creatures of habit who essentially lose their home and the only family they knew; The Oasis Sanctuary took bold steps to create and fill a much needed niche; balancing their professionalism with a deep and continuing care that makes every supporter utterly grateful to be part of this compassionate group. I have been the proud adopted parent of Gizmo , a Cockatoo, ever since. And as long as they keep plugging away, I will continue to contribute my share. It is the very least I can do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers