Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
166 Reviews
1234.97595
| 1 ... 3 4 5...15 |
Write A Review
November 25, 2012

more

November 25, 2012

The Oasis cares for birds that otherwise would not have a home . I have been a donor for several years and I have no doubt that every dime is spent carefully and for the needs of a huge flock of the most beautiful animals on this earth . Each bird has his or her own personality and many have medical and emotional needs that the Oasis deals with everyday because of past abuse. I personally have 13 birds,all adopted or taken in from someone that for whatever reason could no longer care for them but thankfully none of mine have come with abuse or medical issues Because many of the larger birds live longer than a human in years , it is a blessing that the Oasis is a forever home for them. Bless all the caretakers that give their time to watch over our feathered friends at The Oasis and allow them to live out the rest of their life in safety, comfort and peace. I am sure that each bird is loved.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 24, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Over the last number of years, in my two site visits to The Oasis Sanctuary in Benson, AZ, and in my dealings with them, I absolutely fell in love with the birds and the whole concept and meaning of The Oasis Sanctuary. It is a very special and inspiring place for "forgotten and abandoned" birds attended to by very special humans. The amount of selfless time, love, and care-giving provided by the staff and volunteers to give these birds a second chance, sometimes even a first chance, at a fulfilling and happy life is remarkable. As the owner of a beautiful young parrot who will greatly outlive me, I can think of no finer hands in which to leave him. The spirit, the meaning, and the work of The Oasis Sanctuary serve as an exemplery example of what we should all be about.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 19, 2012

more

November 19, 2012

I discovered the Oasis Sanctuary many years ago after doing research on my parrots. I was so happy to find an organization that took in and cared for so many parrots for various reasons. The compassion and interaction the Oasis gives all of its residents is something very special and necessary for the welfare of these beautiful birds. We need many more organizations like the Oasis.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

After I got my first bird about 25 years ago (I now have 6) I have realized how these wonderful and loving birds are. I soon found the Oasis Sanctuary and immediately understoon the need for this organization and the magnificent work they do. I try muy best to help them financially as often as I can and I certainly wish I could do much more. Their annual Discover the Oasis is a great way to see what they do and how compassionate they are towards their work and their many birds they care for. I think I will send them a donation right now.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

What a wonderful organization, full of compassion for these lovely creatures in their time of need.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Most places are about cats and dogs. The Oasis Sanctuary helps parrots that need a place to live out their lives in peace. The Oasis is run by dedicated hard working people. I donate money to them when I am able. I wish I could help them more. This is a wonderful organization hands down.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 15, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I support this incredible organization because of my interest and experience with parrots. I am not an expert in any way - I learn from my Severe Macaw - now 22 years old - everyday. Parrots are, to me, the most facinating of animals. In the past I had 5 birds. After becoming ill I decided to give them each a new good home. This was probably one of the most difficult decisions I was forced to make. They were each so special and getting the right home was not only difficult - but i still feel guilty because I really do not know how they are today. After 2 year without birds - the person who I gave Pepper to - the severe macaw - had to give her up and I got her back. That was 5 years ago. The most amazing thing about this event was that she did not speak in her new home. When she was brought into our home, she immediatly began to speak words that I always heard her speak. She call my name, asks for UP, and many other words. It took her about 3 minutes to reconize where she was and react ...almost as though she was here for those 2 years away. I find that amazing and the our birds need our respect because they clearly remember and know what is going on around. The Oasis Sanctuary is amazing. The importance cannot be emphasized. Parrots do have memory and I believe the deserve our love and respect. Oasis seems to do just that.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Oasis Sanctuary in Benson, Arizona is the largest life-care sanctuary for parrots in the US. We have been financial supporters of The Oasis Sanctuary since 2008. We have made several visits to the sanctuary and were impressed by the scope of the operation and the dedication of the staff and director. The Oasis Sanctuary, like many similar organizations, is coping with rising costs of animal care combined with uncertainty of donor support. This sanctuary is quite worthy of your financial support. I would encourage anyone who cares about exotic birds to support The Oasis Sanctuary via their website: www.the-oasis.org

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have donated to the Oasis Sanctuary periodically because I live with 2 parrots that are 19 and 17 years old and greatly appreciate the dedication of the volunteers that work there. I wish I lived closer and could help as well. There are so many birds needing a place to go since their caregivers are in the "boomer" generation and becoming unable to continue caring for them. I am grateful for the Oasis and will continue being a donor but they need more help as there are so many parrots on the waiting list. Thanks for all you do!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Several years ago, I was able to rescue 2 yellow napes and an african grey from a person who was hoarding animals. They were taken to The Oasis and lovingly taken in. Now their lives are spent in clean housing, with plenty of fresh food, sunlight and love. I am forever grateful to the wonderful staff at The Oasis for their dedication to our feathered friends.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers