Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
181 Reviews
1234.97795
| 1 2 3 4...16 |
Write A Review
June 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

I first learned about the Oasis Sanctuary from my dear friends Lynn and Rick Woerpel. The work the Oasis does is exceptional. Caring for so many displaced parrots, due to their owners death, serious... more

June 9, 2013

Wonderful care for our feathered friends. It's heartwarming to know that there are passionate caregivers for displaced birds. Oasis Sanctuary shows how kindness, compassion, love, and quality care can make a difference for so many precious birds that would otherwise suffer.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 4, 2012

I first learned about the Oasis Sanctuary from my dear friends Lynn and Rick Woerpel. The work the Oasis does is exceptional. Caring for so many displaced parrots, due to their owners death, serious illness, loss of home or livelihood. I've read and heard so many heartwarming stories of how the Oasis has helped another precious parrot in an unfortunate situation. I myself have a wonderful little girl (umbrella cockatoo) that will be 23 years old on the 19th of this month. It's great to know that if something happened to me, she would have a place where she would be cared for and loved by the many wonderful caregivers at the Oasis. Thanks Oasis, for being there for so many in need!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 9, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 5, 2012

This is the only one of it's kind in size and scope to give parrots who cannot be rehomed a permanent place to live out their long lives. They have a wonderful aviary environment where the birds are h... more

June 9, 2013

I am a foster parent to an abused 16 year old cockatoo who has been in five previous homes, so I know the issues and time I have struggled with having this bird in our life. I cannot imagine the ongoing support that the Oasis gives to over 700 birds to never have to go through being placed in another home and learn to trust all over again. They are an amazing facility who endeavor to give these parrots an enriched lifestyle including the food, shelter and companionship parrots need.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I really wish they were not so far away as I would love to be able to visit them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 5, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is the only one of it's kind in size and scope to give parrots who cannot be rehomed a permanent place to live out their long lives. They have a wonderful aviary environment where the birds are housed with like species of the same sex, given enrichment items, medical care, fresh air and room to fly. They also accept birds that are rescued from bad situations and go out of their way to help get them rehoused. They welcome volunteers to their facility and hold an annual open house/education event. They are run by a board and have staff members who live on site. I have been a donor for many years and cannot say enough good things about this organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 26, 2013

more

May 26, 2013

I have yet to see this wonderful place, it is so close and yet so far. I know that if my children ever need to go live with someone other than myself ,the oasis sanctuary is where I want them to go.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 23, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 4, 2012

I had to relinquish my beloved African Grey after 14 years due to health. I had my dear friend since she was 12 weeks old. I spent 9 months doing extensive research to find a "forever" home for my ... more

May 23, 2013

The Oasis represents excellence in the care and love given to displaced birds. The staff is dedicated to giving the birds the best care and diet. I was fortunate that The Oasis agreed to give my beloved gray a forever home when I could no longer care for her. They are so good about providing up-dates on her giving me peace of mind that she is cared for.
Laker

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Only that they have the funding necessary for their operations.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012

I had to relinquish my beloved African Grey after 14 years due to health. I had my dear friend since she was 12 weeks old. I spent 9 months doing extensive research to find a "forever" home for my Angel. I spoke with pet psychologists, vetrinarians, breeders, state governing groups, other sanctuaries and many more. Never did I hear anything but praise for the Oasis. Once they were chosen, we went through their processes. Believe me, the Oasis has standards and they adhere to them. Their love and commitment to birds is exlempary. Diet and care for the birds (and other strays that come along) is excellent. My Angel is well cared for. They are so good about keeping me informed with anecdotes and pictures. I see that her life is good. They need help! Care and dedicated staffing doesn't come without a price tag. Donations are used wisely - for the good of the birds. Donations to The Oasis Sanctuary Foundation are needed and beneficial.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2013

more


1 previous review
November 13, 2012

While travelling around the USA in my motorhome, I came across the Oasis Sanctuary Foundation, and was immediately impressed with the caring attitude of Sybil Erden and the volunteers towards all the... more

May 21, 2013

I am a retired Canadian zookeeper who travelled in a motorhome around the U.S. & Canada for two years in 2006 & 2007, stopping along the way to visit various animal sanctuaries. I was greatly impressed with the care and compassion shown to the birds that I met at The Oasis Sanctuary. Many people do not understand what it takes to care properly for birds that often outlive their owners and Sybil Erden has gone to great measures to make their lives comfortable, especially for the birds that have behavioural problems (feather plucking, etc.).
I have no hesitation in recommending the Oasis Sanctuary as a worthy recipient of donations.

Marilyn Cole

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If funds were available, expand the kitchen and medical area

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

November 13, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

While travelling around the USA in my motorhome, I came across the Oasis Sanctuary Foundation, and was immediately impressed with the caring attitude of Sybil Erden and the volunteers towards all the birds, especially the ones that had suffered in the past . As a former zookeeper I could appreciate the amount of work needed to care for all the various birds, and the attention paid to their individual needs. These abandoned and neglected birds were taken in, with the full knowledge that they have a long lifespan and that there would be many years of dedication ahead to care for them. I have no hesitation in recommending the Oasis Sanctuary Foundation Ltd. as a great non-profit organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I was drawn to the Oasis Sanctuary in May of 2012, when I visited with my sister. My husband and I had been sending donations to the Sanctuary for several years before that, and I wanted to see where my money was going. That first visit was so inspiring and I was thrilled with all the birds and could not help but notice the obvious love and caring of the staff. I came home, made a speech to my bird club about the Oasis, and just generally have been "on fire" about this wonderful organization. This year, my husband and I again visited the Oasis Sanctuary in May of 2013, and now he is inspired and ready to return next year. This place is addictive -- the birds are so beautiful, even the ones that are feather-plucked and tattered-looking, and the staff are wonderful to be around. We got a chance to see the birds in the Pumpkin Trailer and the Hospital Trailer -- some of them had had it pretty rough, but seemed happy and content, knowing they were loved and adored by all the staff. We urge everyone to support this wonderful place, as they use every dollar sent for care of the birdies. I continue to seek out speaking engagements so I can tell others about this deserving group and share some of my passion for the Oasis Sanctuary with others. If I could hop on a plane and visit again tomorrow, I would be out there, the caring and love the staff gives to the birds is contagious! Also, every donation sent, no matter how small, is honoured and welcomed by a wonderful thank-you letter, it makes me want to donate more! ...................written by "Ruffles"

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase their funding, as they are hoping to enlarge ther present Sanctuary to care for 1500 birds in the future. Their "staging facility", where they wash all the food and water bowls and prepare daily food for the birds, is very small and each dish is hand-washed (that's about 1500 bowls each day that need to be washed). They are hoping to raise funds to purchase a dishwasher.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 17, 2013

more

May 17, 2013

These folks are passionate about saving the birds and allowing them to live in (as close to a) natural environment as you can get. They don't attempt to rehome the birds (how many adopted birds, due to noise, life span or other factors, end up back in shelters?), and they certainly don't breed them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

strongly encourage increased use of social media such as Facebook. Keep the posts short and frequent - lots of bird pictures - keep Oasis in the forefront of everyone's minds!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

We have visited twice and I always go away knowing that the birds have the best life they can thanks to all the workers who give 110%. What a great place for birds without a home to live out their life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

I have donated to The Oasis Sanctuary for several years. I know that my funds are being well spent on care for very needy parrots (and other animals they house). I have two parrots at the sanctuary whom I sponsor. Every year, these stunning creatures look healthier and happier. They have benefits appropriate for their condition. They are allowed interactions with their own kind, free flight, fresh food, and veterinary care as needed. Thank you Oasis for giving them forever homes.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 6, 2013

more

May 6, 2013

About 5 years ago it was necessary for my sister to move cross country to live with me in Southern California. She had two cockatiels, the first she received as a hatchling and hand raised him. The second she saved from a bird mill breeder at a bird show. These two, Huey and Mel were her life. Unfortunately, I have severe allergies to birds. She was devastated to have to give up her babies. We searched high and low and the Oasis was the only place that guaranteed the birds would remain there for the rest of their lives. I still felt terrible but it's what had to be. The day we arrived at the Oasis we could not believe the facility. We received a tour and my sister was able to bond with many of the birds in the infirmary/feeding area. Well it came time to introduce the birds to their new home. Neither bird was a good flier to start but they were welcomed by their new feathered friends. My sister cried for at least two months. But a newsletter showed a picture of one of her birds and she's been content since then.Oasis thanks for all you did and still do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers