Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
168 Reviews
1234.976195
| 1 ... 14 15 16 |
Write A Review
November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have a new lovebird, Henry, who is such a loving, wonderful pet. I lost my first lovebird, Corky, when he passed away in April of this year. I t gives me a sense of peace, knowing that the Oasis Sanctuary exists, and if something should happen to me, that there would be a place where Henry could be placed to live out his remaining days in a loving, comfortable environment -- The Oasis Sanctuary. What an incredible feeling that is. Thank you, Oasis Foundation!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

A wonderful sanctuary that provides a safe and loving environment for parrots whose owners can no longer care for them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

It's widely known and unfortunate that many parrots start off with a family only to be given away because the home wasn't prepared to care for such an intelligent and demanding creature. Their long life spans and learned behaviors often means these birds go through many owners until there is no one left who wants them. The Oasis Sanctuary provides a home for parrots that no longer can live with their human companions. Parrots belong in flocks (human or parrot) and at the sanctuary they find this. The organization is a caring place where you can be certain that the birds are receiving the best care they deserve.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Just an amazing sanctuary for parrots. A caring & loving staff that care for the birds & take care of all their needs, very large avairies & cages make the birds lives better & kinder, fresh vegies & friuts as well as a seed & pellet diet gives them a well rounded diet daily. I wish all parrots could end up in their care. The only accredited parrot resque santuary in the USA. When my friends & I can donate...Oasis is where we send it...

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

My husband and I have donated to Oasis for over ten years. They consistantly use this money solely for supporting over 700 parrots who would otherwise be abandoned, neglected or abused. They have a terrific volunteer network which keeps costs down. I like the fact that they send periodic newsletters to donors showing how the money is well spent and detailing the success stories of some of the birds at their facility. Oasis has been a leader in advocating better care for these beautiful creatures.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

This place is for the birds! In the very best way! The staff is friendly and knowledgable and birds are their passion. The love and dedication that has gone into making this truly a sanctuary shows through the people who make it happen.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

My husband and I have volunteered twice working on small construction projects; first was a misting shed and the second was a four room doghouse for their nightly patrol dogs. While my husband works I spend my days learning what the Oasis staff does everyday twenty-four hours nonstop; taking care of parrots. I have witnessed first-hand the dedication, sensitivity and delicate care that is administered and it is unbelievable. When I started my week of volunteering after the first day I was exhausted from this physically demanding job, but each day improved as I learned from the staff to fall in love with certain birds. This is the Oasis secret; it is the parrots and their caregivers that make you come back again. There is so much love exhibited by both and the constant interaction that makes a volunteer want to be part of this wonderful giving facility. We only wish that it was not so far away from our home. The Oasis needs to be acknowledged for the sanctuary they provide for helping parrots in need.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

The Oasis is the ONLY life care facility for parrots in the U.S.. They have been expanding over the years, in hope to provide a place for birds left behind as we "baby boomers" age and pass on. I have read that parrots are the third most popular pet in American homes (one estimate I read was approximately 1.7 million). Many species are very long lived, 50 to 80 years or more, so many will outlive their secure homes with loving caregivers. Re-homing a parrot can be very difficult as these sentient beings are bonded to their caregivers and the birds, indeed, experience grief upon losing them and their homes. Parrots are difficult to care for and messy, most families have no one willing to make the lifetime commitment to the challenge of keeping a parrot healthy and happy so, often, a bird can become repeatedly re-homed which is devastating to their mental health. That is why The Oasis does NOT adopt out any of their charges. Their residents live out their lives with others of their own kind. I wouldn't want anything less for my beloved bird. Maintaining this sanctuary is NOT enough, IT MUST GROW!!! Otherwise we may wind up with so many homeless birds that these long-lived, sentient creatures will suffer the fate of our surplus dogs and cats. Personally, I have prepared a trust that provides for my Grey Parrot to go to The Oasis and to support her long after I'm gone. Visit their website and/or make an appointment to visit the facility in Arizona to see the INCREDIBLE job they are doing and the sacrifices that many of the caregivers there make to care for approximately 700 birds (currently). I appeal to all nature and animal lovers to help! I am a small donor, though disabled and unemployed, and have also sent supplies like towels for the handicapped birds and selections of fresh nuts (see their "wishlist") but I know that every little bit helps. Every dollar supports the work ON SITE! Sponsor a bird! Use the shopping links on The Oasis' website, they will get a small percentage of what you spend. There are so many ways to help! Great people. Great Facility. Great Cause! Carolyn Washko, Pennsylvania

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

Parrots are among the longest lived members of the Animal Kingdom and are also among the most popular pets. They require a level of care that the ordinary person that obtains them as a pet is generally unaware of or unwilling to provide. Because of their nature, they often do not turn out to be the pet the owner expected. As a result, parrots are often neglected or mistreated. Because of their long life, those fortunate to survive often outlive their owners. The result is that there are many parrots that really need competent care for long periods of time. The Oasis Sanctuary provides such care. The people that operate the Sanctuary are caring competent people and the facilities that the Sanctuary provides for its birds are extraordinary. Once a parrot is taken in by the Sanctuary, it is there for the rest of its life and it is gradually acclimated to life as a parrot. The Sanctuary operates solely on donations. I have not seen a better solution to caring for a type of animal that should not be allowed to be kept as pets. The Sanctuary deserves the best help they can get and the appreciation of all of us.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 4, 2012

more

November 4, 2012

I have been supporting this most wonderful bird sanctuary for a number of years. I am very impressed with the dedication of the staff in caring for their flock. Any bird lucky enough to call the Oasis Sanctuary home, is very fortunate indeed!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers